Australia tour of Bangladesh 2021

corbies

Jul 31, 2010
S'roos, New Jets, Cronulla
I think part of the problem with BBL was when they were to a full home and away fixture. For Cricket Australia it was about quantity over quality. Maybe is it time to revert back to the 7+1 =8 games. The double up being the game you play against your rival.

You don't want to oversaturate the market ...........there are some big decisions to be made for the national level and it starts with the domestic leagues.

I also reckon if Australia was to play a test series with out full strength squad in Bangladesh, we would be no certs after that series. As someone mentioned there seems to be a huge jump in class from our domestic T20 leagues to international level at the moment.
That's been the case for 10 years though. We played there 4 years ago and it was 1-1.

magpiemaniac44

Aug 19, 2020
San Antonio, Melbourne Stars
It might seem like Cricket in Australia is in a hole but we were only a slow over rate off playing in the inaugural test championship final, and we have 3 players in the top 10 ICC rankings for batting and bowling. I think a reason the team has been lost with the public in the last year or so was, due to the pandemic and cricket not being at the front of mind for casual cricket fans, as well as not playing an away test since the Ashes. It will be interesting to see what happens next year with 3 away Asian series, if the public will re gain interest or not.

BGman

Jun 20, 2018
Dragons, Blues, Tassie Tigers
They tried it against us last time and it cost them in Pune because our sub continental bowling actually isn't too bad
Yes and they have a decent pace bowling attack these days too so no need to prepare dust bowls and stack the lineup with slow bowlers. Ashwin and Jadeja can hold the fort with spin and will take wickets on whatever sub cont deck is prepared while their Bumrah led pace outfit can add hurt to our batting too..

Oct 6, 2011
Auckland, New Zealand
GWS
Patriots, Golden State, Wildcats
It might seem like Cricket in Australia is in a hole but we were only a slow over rate off playing in the inaugural test championship final, and we have 3 players in the top 10 ICC rankings for batting and bowling. I think a reason the team has been lost with the public in the last year or so was, due to the pandemic and cricket not being at the front of mind for casual cricket fans, as well as not playing an away test since the Ashes. It will be interesting to see what happens next year with 3 away Asian series, if the public will re gain interest or not.

To be fair an India v Australia series home or away will always generate interest.

Against the 3 asian nations , during this current epidemic - that will be a test.

magpiemaniac44

Aug 19, 2020
To be fair an India v Australia series home or away will always generate interest.

Against the 3 asian nations , during this current epidemic - that will be a test.
I wonder what the ratings would be IF they put an away India v Aus series FTA. Won't happen though unfortunately.

I think it would be a good way to boost the support for our national team, as the underdog trying to pull off an upset.

Santana

Feb 28, 2008
At this point it has to be money right? Langer is the bargain bin coach just happy to have the job as no other top side would touch him if we didnt want him while dizzy and punter would have to be be wooed by CA and given lot more money to take the role so they stick with the mediocre coach as its cheaper/easier for them.
Yep, CA are pretty well known for caring very little about the national team, unless they get some bad PR, then they are all over that.

Still not sure they could woo Dizzy though with his young family. Punter will probably be the coach 5+ years down the road. He lives for this stuff too much not to be no matter how cheap CA are.

You could bet everything you're got that McDonald will be the next coach after Langer anyways. Will probably be cheap as for CA and surely his PR game will be better than Langers of late. That's all that matters at the end of the day to them.

Santana

Feb 28, 2008

magpiemaniac44

Aug 19, 2020
This is not going to happen.

In an ideal world the tri-series goes ahead as well as the IPL, so we can have as many players playing as possible. What happens to members of our T20 squad without IPL contracts. Have we seen the last of Carey/Wade/Inglis before the World Cup?

rolling123

Sep 27, 2010
You may want to check up on Usman's record in Asia and his away record in general. It is not pretty. If you're worried about being flat track bullies there probably hasn't been a bigger flat track bully in recent Australian cricket then Khawaja and that includes David Warner.

Mate across formats hes got the best average in the uae and india at the international level of all current aussie players.