Bluemour Melting Pot XXX - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

One does get the impression that Carlton Football Club has literally never held a job interview. All decisions appear to be an ex player or powerbroker saying “you know, we should get xxxxx yyyyyy”

MAY have something to do with why we’re so irredeemably shit.

You must not rate JL, as in 2 years he has only added 1 win and gone from 91.6% under RTB to 86.5%

Wow if RTB is so bad you’d think the media would be going after JL as backwards in % and only 1 more win after 2 years of development

how’s that for taking the wider view of how he left Freo?

IIRC, you were comparing to Clarkson.

Isnt one of the constant criticisms levelled at Liddle and Lloyd that they are mates, appointed without due process (Lloyd), too close etc?

How would that be any different if Lyon and SOS are appointed (mates), especially if there is a direct line of reporting there (admittedly speculating) and eventually being overseen by a premiership teammate in Williams?

Not to mention the fact we literally turfed one of them 12 months ago and now go back to that well again? I'd maybe get it if he was a standout List Manager / Department Head in the industry but he's not. He's been an integral part of the culture and performance of the football department that's under scrutiny and come to a head this year and giving him his job back with a mate coaching is just poor poor governance IMO.

For a start, nobody has said he is getting the same job back.

Secondly, there is a world of difference between a CEO having a power bloc at the club, and a coach and whatever role SOS is supposedly coming back for. The power dynamics are hugely different.

Then you are saying that SOS has been an integral part of the culture under scrutiny, but do we actually know when all of these rumblings started? He has been gone two years. He may or may not have been involved in the negative aspects of the footy department. You'd assume those in possession of the review report would know the answer to that.

Had 12 of his 17 10+ goals losses in that time. Not keen on this one to be honest. If you sack Teague then open it up for applications.

Lyon’s last few years at Freo are not that much different to Clarkson’ last few years at Hawthorn, which really shows the ability of these coaches to challenge for flags is a lot down to how good the list is.

Our list isn’t perfect but some of the key pieces are in place and I reckon Lyon can get better results with this list than Teague based solely on his ability to problem solve on match day, something Teague was seriously lacking in.

IIRC, you were comparing to Clarkson.
No I wasn’t someone else was, I just replied to your claim about how RTB left Fremantle & gave the stats of them then and them now, noting not much change despite their kids developing incredibly well. On paper, they where a worst list then they are now, yet now they are only 1 game better. Suggesting that the final year of RTB where they got as high as 5th before fading late (like lots of young teams) they actually over preformed

People saying it will be a boys club? With Diesel and a potential SOS re-recruitment? What’s it been for the last 20 ****ing years? Or even Teagues tenure alone? He had the chance to change assistants, said nah **** that, and also let’s get in Woosha who can be there in spirit to help me. and Liddle got some of his own crew in. People love creating narratives that are already existing in previous eras.

Just stop. These two will at least give a shit and stop my club from dying even further. I’m all for it. Not all new acquisitions and backroom staff will be ex-blues either. A mix is good.