News Izak Rankine, Gold coast holding Rankine to Ransom- #FreeIzak

What will be the trade with the Suns? (Crows posters only, NO opposition supporters)

Agree. Sounds like the mob down the road are going hard for him anyway. Apparently trying to ship Dixon off to Gold Coast for him. He's not the type of player that will help us win a flag.

Jordan Dawson, Jacob Hopper are the type of player I would be offering 750-800k for 5 or 6 years. Elite ball users who can win their own ball. That's what stands up in finals.

Couldn’t agree more.

Agree. Sounds like the mob down the road are going hard for him anyway. Apparently trying to ship Dixon off to Gold Coast for him. He's not the type of player that will help us win a flag.

Jordan Dawson, Jacob Hopper are the type of player I would be offering 750-800k for 5 or 6 years. Elite ball users who can win their own ball. That's what stands up in finals.
Just can't see how Port could get a deal done for either Luko, or Rankine

Port supporters suggesting Dixon to GC is laughable for 3 reasons
1. Dixon won't go back to GC
2. GC would not have Dixon back
3. Dixon falls well short of the trade currency required to get any deal done.

To get in the conversation Port would need a too 10 draft pick which they don't currently have.

To get a top 10 draft pick they would need to trade out a young and high talent player, which I can't see them doing.

Trading out Dixon won't get them that player as the new club would need to take on his over paid contract which will be factored in to the trade transaction.

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

If we could get Luko and Rankine, would that be better than our 2017 GF forward line?

That forward line was scary, but I reckon the new one is close if not better on potential.

Rankine Thilthorpe McAdam
Lukosius Fogarty Cook

vs

Betts Jenkins Cameron
Lynch Walker Douglas

If we could get Luko and Rankine, would that be better than our 2017 GF forward line?

That forward line was scary, but I reckon the new one is close if not better on potential.

Lukosius Fogarty Cook

vs

Betts Jenkins Cameron
Lynch Walker Douglas

Good post.

Betts in 2017 >>> daylight >>> Rankine's potential form in 2022, IMO.

Otherwise yes I agree on potential in 2022 yes. Its also incredible to think it could literally happen too.

Lukosius Fogarty Cook

vs

Betts Jenkins Cameron
Lynch Walker Douglas
Id like to see Cook pushed up to a wing.. and have another small forward (newchurch type) in there.

Cook has elite skills.. need him delivering it in there.

Would have luko doing the lynch type role.

When people say now that Luko isn't playing a key position and he's not worth trading a top pick/s because he went be influential and not hard enough, what did people have in mind when he was touted as the best prospect in over a decade? Did they imagine he would bulk up and turn into Carey? Or pavlich? He was skin and bones being drafted and still is. He had that flair over toughness his whole junior years, why did people think he was going to be a magic CHF?

I don't understand how nothing had changed for him but people's value of him has changed. He's actually progressing well and arguably GCs best player, yet his value has dropped?

When people say now that Luko isn't playing a key position and he's not worth trading a top pick/s because he went be influential and not hard enough, what did people have in mind when he was touted as the best prospect in over a decade? Did they imagine he would bulk up and turn into Carey? Or pavlich? He was skin and bones being drafted and still is. He had that flair over toughness his whole junior years, why did people think he was going to be a magic CHF?

I don't understand how nothing had changed for him but people's value of him has changed. He's actually progressing well and arguably GCs best player, yet his value has dropped?
Jack was definitely considered a key forward prospect - no question. That was based very much on his SANFL form where he was playing finals in his bottom aged year and kicking goals - 3/4 from memory.

The very highest positions in a draft a reserved for potentially elite midfielders or key position players. If Jack was projecting as a tall wing or half back distributor he wasn’t going pick 2.

Look - I think the whole Izak/Jack situation is odd and hard to fathom out.

You’ve got Jack who probably costs more than Izak based on past performance ie Jack at least has some. But his ceiling is becoming evident and it’s not what you would spend high on. Low risk though - Will play 250 good games for someone

Izak is a mystery, based on past performance worth little BUT has a significantly higher ceiling than aJack in my opinion. His ceiling is a game changing mid/forward. Type that could win a Norm Smith with a 25 touch 3 goal GF - huge risk though - get what I mean?

Now where that all sits in terms of trades, well god only knows, not my field. I’ve noticed that since about 7pm Sunday this place has filled up with wheeler dealers and their footy card swaps and deals, so I’ll leave that To the specialists.

By whom do you mean "people touted" ? .....certain Draft Watchers in the Drafts & Trades forum did, then it tends to spread

I was on record as being very "meh" on an uncontested player, whose weapon was an elite kick .....and may I add that the knock on Lukosious this year has been his turnovers, from taking the wrong kick options
I was not convinced he matched the hype ....and I'm still convinced Rankine is the better option as a mercurial FWD and MID option

You’ve got Jack who probably costs more than Izak based on past performance ie Jack at least has some. But his ceiling is becoming evident and it’s not what you would spend high on. Low risk though - Will play 250 good games for someone

Izak is a mystery, based on past performance worth little BUT has a significantly higher ceiling than aJack in my opinion. His ceiling is a game changing mid/forward. Type that could win a Norm Smith with a 25 touch 3 goal GF - huge risk though - get what I mean?

Now where that all sits in terms of trades, well god only knows, not my field. I’ve noticed that since about 7pm Sunday this place has filled up with wheeler dealers and their footy card swaps and deals, so I’ll leave that To the specialists.
Mate, your opinion is as valuable as anyone else's here!

I'm more than happy to trade in a player who will play 250 good games. Really good solid prospect is Luko.
I say that we shouldn't use a super high pick on flashy potential if the option of reliable performance is available.
Think of this debate as Luko as your superannuation and Rankine is a flutter at the races. The later is indeed more fun but the former is where your head should provide your greatest resources to. IMO

Could we trade Keays, who is at maximum value right now, as a straight swap for Rankine? He is a Queenslander after all.

Keays you know what you’re going to get and Gold Coast have all the talent in the world to replace Rankine. The Crows are lacking that x-factor that Rankine could provide.

Maybe the Crows have more to lose in this trade, but perhaps more to gain as well.

PS. I am a fan of Keays, but we could probably break even by resigning Matt Crouch.

Could we trade Keays, who is at maximum value right now, as a straight swap for Rankine? He is a Queenslander after all.

Keays you know what you’re going to get and Gold Coast have all the talent in the world to replace Rankine. The Crows are lacking that x-factor that Rankine could provide.

Maybe the Crows have more to lose in this trade, but perhaps more to gain as well.

PS. I am a fan of Keays, but we could probably break even by resigning Matt Crouch.

To be honest I'd LOVE this, but it feels unlikely.

Keays for Rankine?… start the ******* car!.

Absolutely no chance suns do that though.

They’d be better off trading in mcrouch as a free agent, offer matt the $700k a year they now pay Rankine, pay nothing in picks for him, and then rip us off blind in a deal to trade Rankine to us.. which would involve our pick 4 becasue they hold all the cards with rankine being contrated.

They only way Rankine comes to us this year is if the Suns get a sniff that Rankine is gonna aske fir a trade at the end of his contract next year and they decide to trade him out this year instead to maximise their return whilst they have the power at the trade table.

To be honest I want to see what Keays can do in the next few years, I really like him, wouldn’t do it, the way rankine is going now I agree we could lose....I think Keays could get even better than what he already is with Burgess hopefully coming on board.

They’d be better off trading in mcrouch as a free agent, offer matt the $700k a year they now pay Rankine, pay nothing in picks for him, and then rip us off blind in a deal to trade Rankine to us.. which would involve our pick 4 becasue they hold all the cards with rankine being contrated.

They only way Rankine comes to us this year is if the Suns get a sniff that Rankine is gonna aske fir a trade at the end of his contract next year and they decide to trade him out this year instead to maximise their return whilst they have the power at the trade table.
Make it enough for band 1 and they can have pick 4, although that's more than Rankines currently worth.

How they * are they paying Crouch $700k if they've still got the millstone of Rankine's contract around their neck?

And why the * are WE paying pick 4 for a reserves player with a crippling contract?

I've posted some loopy s**t in my time, but nothing so obviously dumb as this.

Make it enough for band 1 and they can have pick 4, although that's more than Rankines currently worth.
I’m with you… but.. Rankines unfortunately currently “worth” whatever the suns ask for him..

Its why dealing for contracted players is such a hard task for the receiveing team.. you almost always have to pay more.

How they fu** are they paying Crouch $700k if they've still got the millstone of Rankine's contract around their neck?

And why the fu** are WE paying pick 4 for a reserves player with a crippling contract?

I've posted some loopy sh*t in my time, but nothing so obviously dumb as this.
Geez… you got your panties in a twist there didnt you.

If you engaged your brain you’d see I wrote in my comment that they’d find the $700k for crouch in the savings they’d get from moving Rankine on (who’s aparently on $700k).. not that they’d probably even need to use the entire $700k to get crouch.

And I never suggested that we should pay up pick 4 for Rankine or even that thats what he’s worth… just that this is what the suns will ask for and that they hold all the cards because he’s contracted.

So you can untwist your panties… and reply to my comments in future with less hysterics please.