Competitions Health and fitness

If there is an oval nearby or a park, see if running on grass helps, otherwise you might need to see a specialist.
There is a ‘footy’ oval which is the local primary school full of bumps lol otherwise I’ll go to the artificial turf one a bit further! Thanks!

I have asics gel kayano atm but I’ve ordered a pair of nikes. When we open up I’ll be sure to get down to one of those places!

Getting rid of the Kayano's is a great start! What type of Nike's are you getting? Ideally you want neutral running shoes - shoes with support aren't really the answer

Wait whyyyyyyy get rid of them???

Long story short - getting shoes with lots of support and/or orthotics has the shoe/support do the work your lower legs muscles should be doing. As a result your muscles atrophy.

The issue then doesn't become when you're wearing the shoes, but when you're wearing any other shoes without your support, as your body can't handle it.

I had leg/feet issues from when I got orthotics (12yo) till when I sacked them (at 20yo) and haven't had issues again.

I previously had pain under my knees which is my tight IT band but I don’t know how to describe it, it’s like my whole knee. I think if just ramped my load way too quickly
Increasing the load too quickly is the number one source of injuries**, outside of doing bike tricks while pissed. So many people go straight to looking for structural reasons but when I've had running injuries, 9 times out of 10 I've ramped up the mileage too quickly or added a crapload of high intensity.
Foot strike definitely the biggest player IMO, alongside just the generally tight quads and hip flexors, and short hamstrings that 99 per cent of the population has these days.
Disagree about foot strike. Very much overblown IMO. Heel strikers are meant to be prone to knee pain. I was a heavy heel striker until a few years ago but didn't get knee pain (unless I'd increased my running load too quickly). I went to a good podiatrist after an injury. He showed me footage of an olympic 10k where runners were striking all different parts of their feet. Also note that in long runs, some people will start off mid foot striking and move more to heel striking as they fatigue. Heel striking unlikely to be the culprit in a young runner.

** in my totally unscientific opinion.

Thanks to all who replied, much appreciated.

besides from a few niggles, I’m improving a few days ago I ran 7kms without stopping which I’d never thought I’d do. (I’ve done 7km footy sessions but never ran it all at once just to clear up any confusion)

Long story short - getting shoes with lots of support and/or orthotics has the shoe/support do the work your lower legs muscles should be doing. As a result your muscles atrophy.

The issue then doesn't become when you're wearing the shoes, but when you're wearing any other shoes without your support, as your body can't handle it.

I had leg/feet issues from when I got orthotics (12yo) till when I sacked them (at 20yo) and haven't had issues again.
Yeah, and everyone should run in huarache sandals to develop our feet muscles, etc. FMD. Ligma go to a decent running shoe store like The Running Company when we're out of lockdown. They'll get you to run barefoot on a treadmlll, have a look how your foot behaves and recommend you a type of running shoe. FWIW they did recommend I go with a neutral shoe. But in the meantime, just don't overdo the ks.

I'm no expert here, so this is only from personal experience.

For me, during playing days and particularly pre-seadon, I suffered from knee pain on the lateral/outside side of the knee when the itb was too tight, be which lead to inflammation. This meant as the knee was bending and the itb rolls over the end of the femur the inflammation made it painful. A tricky area to treat, but no need to work all the way up the leg, into hips/butt.

A more recent issue I had was when I started up Crossfit last year. I developed pain on the inside of the knee at the bottom of the knee cap, in the fleshy bit. It's wasn't a crazy intense pain, more the joint felt full and jammed. Could've been some bursitis involved too.

After a few treatments it was great only a little better. Then I had one treatment where we really got stuck into the inserts of the quads above knee. Nearly had me on tears, but seemed to have worked. I also did a lot of work strengthening my glutes to help keep good alignment.

Coincidentally, I also switched out from Haviana's to thongs with arch support the same day. Knee pain literally disappeared in 3-5 days.

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Why you such a flog and quasi expert on something you don't know what you're talking about at the same time?
Because you're making a podiatry diagnosis on someone you've never met, I guess. FWIW I'm a bit sus on orthotics too but I wouldn't be avoiding a newbie runner to ditch their shoes at the first sign of knee pain.

FWIW concrete is definitely worse than bitumen. My joints will ache if I spend too much time on concrete, and definitely like to mix it up with running on bitumen and trails as much as possible.

How do u run on roads without getting in cars way?

I steer well clear of roads, I listen to podcasts (highly recommend Inside Running) so roads are a no go. There is a Uni close by with bitumen roads and very little traffic at the moment, a nice 2km loop, so that is nice. Plus a lot of the local parks have a light stone surface, similar to what is around The Tan in Melbs.

Ahhh lucky you! I cant find a good surface near me so I have to run on concrete 😭

That's a pity, get some nice supportive shoes then! NB 1080's are quite comfortable and plush and a decent training shoe. If you're in Melbourne, and the 10km limit comes in soon, try to mix up the surface you run on, will help out for sure.

I run in 1080s as well. They're a nice shoe. I used to run long, short and trails in them but one thing a podiatrist suggested to help me get over some achilles problems was rotating between shoes so I replaced my clapped out old 1080s, got some trail shoes and made sure i use the go-fast shoes I already had for fast days. It's funny, as the trail shoes and go-fast shoes are both firmer than the 1080s (and the trail shoes have lower heel to toe drop), but it seems to have helped (along with doing a bunch of other stuff). The main factor in the achilles flaring up in the first place was increasing training load too quickly, as usual.

The old 1080...pretty good at killing mammals too!

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Did 7km today, felt amazing and I’ve noticed my heart rate has gotten lower over the past couple weeks, which I’m happy about.

but I s**t you not there was a literal car crash when I was running on the footpath.

Did 7km today, felt amazing and I’ve noticed my heart rate has gotten lower over the past couple weeks, which I’m happy about.

but I sh*t you not there was a literal car crash when I was running on the footpath.

Great work! Where'd you run?

I went and did another 5km TT this arvo and took another 22 seconds off my last time. Down to 20:28 now 👍

Great work! Where'd you run?

I went and did another 5km TT this arvo and took another 22 seconds off my last time. Down to 20:28 now 👍
I just run this path thingy and it goes around the local primary school, park and lake. I think it’s a mile long.

nice one! How do you pace yourself on a time trial?

I got inspiration off of Flawed Genius and I did a 2km time trial which I’ve only done once at the very start of the year alone which I got 6:30 minutes which is super slow.

I smashed my record out of the park!! I got a 10:16 which is still not my ultimate goal (I want to get down to 4:30/km) but I’m super happy with my progress. D8A919C9-7303-47D3-ACB4-4AD0B6A42184.jpeg

I feel like I can still break this record in a couple of months!!!! Thanks for all your the tips you guys have given me!!

I got inspiration off of Flawed Genius and I did a 2km time trial which I’ve only done once at the very start of the year alone which I got 6:30 minutes which is super slow.

I smashed my record out of the park!! I got a 10:16 which is still not my ultimate goal (I want to get down to 4:30/km) but I’m super happy with my progress. View attachment 1236194

I feel like I can still break this record in a couple of months!!!! Thanks for all your the tips you guys have given me!!

You're already very close to a sub 10 min 2K which is a terrific starting point. Only onwards and upwards from here

I like the within a few months goal, but if you go again next once you've done your rehab, you might be surprised at how quickly that time comes down