Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II

Sep 12, 2007
Rubbish. If you are lifting heavy then naturally your forearms are going to fatigue if you are exerting them on every pull exercise. As soon as you are struggling to hold the bar then it makes no sense what so ever to not use straps because you're grip and forearms will be giving out before the muscle you're actually trying to exercise. All you are doing is holding yourself back from putting the muscle you are actually trying to grow under enough stress.

Nothing but gym bro stuff thinking you should lift without straps
Use straps cause your forearms are weak and also train forearms.

Got it.

Oct 6, 2005
on a journey through time and space
Rubbish. If you are lifting heavy then naturally your forearms are going to fatigue if you are exerting them on every pull exercise. As soon as you are struggling to hold the bar then it makes no sense what so ever to not use straps because you're grip and forearms will be giving out before the muscle you're actually trying to exercise. All you are doing is holding yourself back from putting the muscle you are actually trying to grow under enough stress.

Nothing but gym bro stuff thinking you should lift without straps
Settle pettle, I never said that they should never be used #gymbrocertified

However if a strength gap is identified between the forearms and other muscles the best course of action is to close that gap as opposed to becoming overly reliant on straps.

Started a new program as 12 weeks from comp, proceeded to start at a second gym that’s closer to home some days and didn’t realise that the new gym has 25kg, 20kg, 15kg and 10kg black plates - only saw the 20kg and 10kg ones and presumed that’s what they all are, proceeded to pull a 200kg rep PB of 6 all the while thinking I have turned weak as piss in a week as I couldn’t lift 162.5kg for 8’s!

Aug 11, 2006
Timberwolves, Crystal Palace
Started a new program as 12 weeks from comp, proceeded to start at a second gym that’s closer to home some days and didn’t realise that the new gym has 25kg, 20kg, 15kg and 10kg black plates - only saw the 20kg and 10kg ones and presumed that’s what they all are, proceeded to pull a 200kg rep PB of 6 all the while thinking I have turned weak as piss in a week as I couldn’t lift 162.5kg for 8’s!
Today I had a huge day at work and was struggling with some high reps of 110, thinking "I must be spent" last set went * it chuck on an extra 10

Turns out completely miscalculated and was going 120 kilo, thought I was at 110, ended on a set of 8 times 130 which explained something.

.. which I knew I still had a bit left in the tank
I try and read and understand my body, some sessions I can push a bit harder, more weight, more reps, other times I try and understand that today is not the day to push hard.

I try and look at the long term future, better train at less than your best consistently over a long period of time, then to get an injury or two from pushing too hard too regularly and lose weeks or months due to * injuries.

At the gym, I see regularly guys "push hard" but what they are really doing is not using proper form or short range of motion. Plenty of guys use their body or the body weight or momentum to get through a set. Sure for one set it can have some benefit, but not when you do it for every rep and set.

I bet you bench press with proper form and full range of motion? No need to show off, as your cheating yourself only. I see plenty of guys do mid air bench presses than add more weight! During the pandemic when I trained at home, it was the best as I just focused purely on form and technique with much less weight. Mind you I didnt have much weights to begin with.

Better to do less weight with full range of motion and good form, then heavy weight done like a dickhead.

OHP I have seen this happen guys will never go all the way up or down and also Lat pull down where guys use their body weight to bring the bar down. There is also the squat, no one ever breaks parallel lol. I dont mind it as it means they have little chance of properly developing and more chance of injury and not being there. I swear some times Im at the gym and its empty I think to myself I bet a few guys are injured lol. Im fairly consistent now, 6-7 days a week at a specific time so I get to see the regulars and who doesnt rock up. The guys that are built well are regulars.

Its funny because the moment I see a guy load up a machine I can tell inside 10seconds just by looking at him whats going to happen, I entertain myself and place bets on who will fcuk up the worst lol. The few guys that practice full range of motion, proper form etc etc, are the guys that ripped and in good shape.

Mind you there is the occasional steroid meat head with short range of motion and poor form that is ripped as hell. Which is probably the reason why many guys who dont take drugs lift heavy as they think this is the way.

Jun 27, 2013
Tottenham Hotspur, SSC Napoli, ESH
Gyms open on Monday for Sydney.

Are gyms open in Melbourne at all?
Lol no

November I'd imagine they might

Only finally since Moderna became available a few weeks ago that we've seemed to have had a solid supply to choose from (I only got first Pfizer dose 2 weeks ago and had to wait 3 weeks for it)

Jun 27, 2013
I try and read and understand my body, some sessions I can push a bit harder, more weight, more reps, other times I try and understand that today is not the day to push hard.

I try and look at the long term future, better train at less than your best consistently over a long period of time, then to get an injury or two from pushing too hard too regularly and lose weeks or months due to ****** injuries.
Yeah I cycle the weeks I go hard

Got my new power rack on Tuesday last week and with all the manual labour and crouching down/picking things up/tightening it down etc putting it together by myself over Tuesday night and Wednesday arvo, going hard and heavy on Thursday for leg day was not an option, so I front squatted just 30kg as a warm up and to get some ROM for the hips, then I only deadlifted 80kg for 3 sets of 4-5 focusing on technique and to make sure I had the hip hinge pattern going, was feeling a bit tight but come Sunday I loosened up. I'll go up to 110-115kg tomorrow for deadlifts, but I'll test myself out next week for that and drop back on benching to higher volume less weight (probably stay at 100-110kg for high reps there)

At the gym, I see regularly guys "push hard" but what they are really doing is not using proper form or short range of motion. Plenty of guys use their body or the body weight or momentum to get through a set. Sure for one set it can have some benefit, but not when you do it for every rep and set.

I bet you bench press with proper form and full range of motion? No need to show off, as your cheating yourself only. I see plenty of guys do mid air bench presses than add more weight! During the pandemic when I trained at home, it was the best as I just focused purely on form and technique with much less weight. Mind you I didnt have much weights to begin with.
Yeah full range, tap the chest and back up it goes

I set the pin pipe safeties below my chest, but high enough to protect my neck and head, so if I fail all I need to do is roll the bar up a little towards my neck/collarbone and I duck out

Better to do less weight with full range of motion and good form, then heavy weight done like a dickhead.

OHP I have seen this happen guys will never go all the way up or down and also Lat pull down where guys use their body weight to bring the bar down. There is also the squat, no one ever breaks parallel lol. I dont mind it as it means they have little chance of properly developing and more chance of injury and not being there. I swear some times Im at the gym and its empty I think to myself I bet a few guys are injured lol. Im fairly consistent now, 6-7 days a week at a specific time so I get to see the regulars and who doesnt rock up. The guys that are built well are regulars.

Its funny because the moment I see a guy load up a machine I can tell inside 10seconds just by looking at him whats going to happen, I entertain myself and place bets on who will fcuk up the worst lol. The few guys that practice full range of motion, proper form etc etc, are the guys that ripped and in good shape.

Mind you there is the occasional steroid meat head with short range of motion and poor form that is ripped as hell. Which is probably the reason why many guys who dont take drugs lift heavy as they think this is the way.
There are some body-building and powerlifting techniques that require partial range of motion, body-building mainly for time under tension/isolations and powerlifting to improve weak points/strengthen areas of the lift like lockout/eccentrics etc

I think one of the most useful partials are dumbbell OHPs for body-building purposes, I see you mention OHPs, if you're doing barbell OHPs, then absolutely no excuses not to do full range as it's a great exercise for shoulder health and tricep/trap strength too. But with dumbbell OHPs, doing partials keeps constant tension on the shoulders and largely takes the triceps out of it, so for that point of view it's ok. Partial squats are fine if it's a light/medium weight for quad time under tension, but yeah other than that, drop the ego and go ass to grass.

No excuses on the lat pulldowns and seated rows and stuff as we've discussed beforehand, rockabyebaby pulldowns and rows is one of the worst examples of technique

Jun 27, 2013
Think I've mentioned this before, but some of the best partials I did was when I was about 20 in 2008, quit playing footy that year, but my bench plateaued at a measly 80kgs for a few reps for about a year, I could bench 90-100kgs but it was close to a 1RM and I only really trained for hypertrophy/body image back then, so yeah, back then I cycled negatives in the Smith machine with a training mate and went hard on the rows when training back, think I did like 4 sets of 3 at 120kg with a spot focusing purely on the eccentric in the smith, boy the first 2 weeks I was sore the next day, however I was benching 100kgs for reps about a month after the cycle.

Whereas these days I primarily focus on building strength on push and leg days (I deadlift on leg day) and that helps me manage the back, while when I train back, shoulders and biceps I'll primarily focus on hypertrophy, though I'll try and look after the shoulders and lower back a bit, do alot of rear delt stuff like facepulls and prone flys, have experimented with all sorts of incline prone rows with barbells/dbs/kbs to hit lower traps/upper lats also, thus not overloading the back compared to say a standing barbell row.

Probably these days

Close to 100% of back days (Mondays) will be hypertrophy based now, depending on what I didn't train on Saturday I will train with back on the Monday (rear delts/biceps/triceps etc)

Chest/push I cycle my loads, but the end goal is strength and to bench the most I can.

For example my current cycle has been

*4 Wednesdays ago, 85-90% day, 110kgs for 3 sets of 4-5
*3 Wednesdays ago Incline focused day, 80-90lb dbs for reps at low incline, 75lb dbs for reps at a medium incline
*2 Wednesdays ago I needed a breather, so I went for a walk instead and had a good deadlift session the next day
*2 Saturdays ago felt good after 10 days rest, big old hypertrophy volume day, 90kg bench for 8-10-9-8, then some 80lb incline dbs and some landmine presses afterwards
*Last Wednesday I tested out my new rack and did 4 working bench sets at 110 and 115kgs, only did sets of doubles and triples as I was probably still a bit pooped from the Saturday and putting the rack together too, but going by today's session it was just what I needed
*Today, absolutely dominated, best workout in the garage so far I think in the 14-15 months I've trained in there for
*Next Wednesday will likely do something similar to what I did 2 Saturdays ago, though I'll target 100-110kg bench for 4 sets of 6-8, then I'll see where I'm at the following week

Thursdays, deadlift/mobility squat day, if I'm feeling good it'll be heavier deadlifts, if I'm a bit tight or fatigued like last week I'll back off, but do just enough to get through til the next week

Saturday, most weeks it'll be a shoulders and arms hypertrophy day and some core, however probably once every 4 weeks or so I'll train push on a Saturday also and mainly target triceps, or it'll be some sort of catchup day if I needed a few days off during the week, do enjoy a Saturday workout, consistently one of my higher intensity ones and a good way to finish the week.

Apr 28, 2021
Paddy's Pub
All Blacks
Gyms open on Monday for Sydney.

Are gyms open in Melbourne at all?

Expected to open from November 5th if they reach the vaccination rate numbers.

Same reason why I changed my second vaccine appointment to a week earlier, at least I won't miss out when it finally opens.

Just politely suggesting those heading to the gym, to just take it easy and really back off the weights, go light or go home. :drunk:

The chance of an injury is so high after a long layoff. Give your body a few weeks to be reconditioned again. The last thing you want is a soft tissue injury. Make October your warm up month and then hit it hard from November onwards.

I know there is smarter and better posters in here than me, I would love to hear their thoughts.

My membership is up for renewal in a few weeks time and I noticed that the contact I signed actually placed the expiry date as 2022 and not 2021. Though I knew well at the time it was only a 12month contract.

I was going to be a campaigner and challenged it, but lets be honest at the end of the day, they will likely win if I try to dispute it. Also in the current environment I dont think its too hard to ban someone.

Do I get occasionally lazy and forget to wipe down or sometimes not put the weights away? Rarely, but it happens. :$

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony

Agree with the rest of your post but have to pull you on machine work.

The gym I go is all Hammer Strength. They even have the awesome HS squat racks.

All machines have different strength curves and some manufacturers go to great lengths to give you nice constant tension. Most like Life Fitness give zero *s.

Pin loaded stuff is usually better because the cable can work over a 'Cam' oval shaped thingy which works on the same principle as the camshaft in your car engine, dictating where the strength curve gets harder or drops off.

Engineering good strength curves on plate loaded machines requires linkages and angles and a whole bunch of other stuff. Most have average to woeful biomechanics.

The Flex Fitness chest press is considered the best ever made.

svDf_Lk7aUi4n9ph7m0KJur3z8Lj68pXrpZ3wULzSrot0xPwAEznjQGqZzFEtXFBUvxjInPDvRqlJdFDHo1gnTdW_LteM8Y0hs8Q85nzpcRnQ5NGP1VQQWKLCWc-sxG3mg4nOwUM79GPO4GHKqClsMi-PojWeuHqoCdJ5xLTcXY6vA

As you can see there's a lot going on back there. All that s**t is done to give constant tension throughout the movement and you get maximum value from full range of motion.

Hammer plate loaded leverage chest machines, for example, have arse backwards strength curves. They are easier at the bottom and load right up as you hit the top.

Experienced bodybuilders learn the strength curves of the gym equipment and adjust accordingly.

TLDR: Sometimes you're stuck with mediocre equipment and the sweet spot is a 3/4 rep.

All machines have different strength curves and some manufacturers go to great lengths to give you nice constant tension. Most like Life Fitness give zero fu**s.

Pin loaded stuff is usually better because the cable can work over a 'Cam' oval shaped thingy which works on the same principle as the camshaft in your car engine, dictating where the strength curve gets harder or drops off.

Engineering good strength curves on plate loaded machines requires linkages and angles and a whole bunch of other stuff. Most have average to woeful biomechanics.

svDf_Lk7aUi4n9ph7m0KJur3z8Lj68pXrpZ3wULzSrot0xPwAEznjQGqZzFEtXFBUvxjInPDvRqlJdFDHo1gnTdW_LteM8Y0hs8Q85nzpcRnQ5NGP1VQQWKLCWc-sxG3mg4nOwUM79GPO4GHKqClsMi-PojWeuHqoCdJ5xLTcXY6vA

As you can see there's a lot going on back there. All that sh*t is done to give constant tension throughout the movement and you get maximum value from full range of motion.

Hammer plate loaded leverage chest machines, for example, have arse backwards strength curves. They are easier at the bottom and load right up as you hit the top.

Experienced bodybuilders learn the strength curves of the gym equipment and adjust accordingly.

TLDR: Sometimes you're stuck with mediocre equipment and the sweet spot is a 3/4 rep.
Sorry I was speaking specifically about free weight exercises. Though I didnt state that, its what I meant.

I do my best with machines and try to view as many youtube examples and demos for form and technique, but unfortunately because there is so much variation for some machines it can be challenging.

Machine exercises are generally my finishers or extra's that I add to my free weights.

Jun 27, 2013

All machines have different strength curves and some manufacturers go to great lengths to give you nice constant tension. Most like Life Fitness give zero fu**s.

As you can see there's a lot going on back there. All that sh*t is done to give constant tension throughout the movement and you get maximum value from full range of motion.

Hammerstrength is owned by Life Fitness brah :p Cybex also

Never had a problem with Cybex machines, imo they're among the better commercial grade machines, Hammerstrength is a bit hit and miss for me, for most of their back/row/pullover machines they're pretty good and effective but the only pressing machines that don't aggravate my shoulders are the upright seat slight incline press ones. The shoulder presses and flat press machines just don't agree with me, so if I'm not doing free weight presses I'll do most of my heavy accessories in the smith machine where I've never had a niggle with the straight up and down curve (works best for incline presses imo) or some pin loaded press

Life Fitness bikes stink, far too small, some pin loaded machines are ok, others are meh

Technogym is pretty good, one of the good things about Derrimut, the main flaw I see with them is they use far too many plastic parts on their cable/pin load machines, so once the flogs start trashing them for a while they'll eventually break, their leverage pulldown is elite but, was my go to if all the cable pulldowns were taken

Never had a problem with Body-Solid stuff either, one of the brands I've bought into with my home setup as they go all the way from home grade to commercial grade (though their commercial grade stuff is suited for smaller gyms, warehouse gyms or resort/apartment type gyms)

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
Hammerstrength is owned by Life Fitness brah :p Cybex also

Never had a problem with Cybex machines, imo they're among the better commercial grade machines, Hammerstrength is a bit hit and miss for me, for most of their back/row/pullover machines they're pretty good and effective but the only pressing machines that don't aggravate my shoulders are the upright seat slight incline press ones. The shoulder presses and flat press machines just don't agree with me, so if I'm not doing free weight presses I'll do most of my heavy accessories in the smith machine where I've never had a niggle with the straight up and down curve (works best for incline presses imo) or some pin loaded press

Life Fitness bikes stink, far too small, some pin loaded machines are ok, others are meh

Technogym is pretty good, one of the good things about Derrimut, the main flaw I see with them is they use far too many plastic parts on their cable/pin load machines, so once the flogs start trashing them for a while they'll eventually break, their leverage pulldown is elite but, was my go to if all the cable pulldowns were taken

Never had a problem with Body-Solid stuff either, one of the brands I've bought into with my home setup as they go all the way from home grade to commercial grade (though their commercial grade stuff is suited for smaller gyms, warehouse gyms or resort/apartment type gyms)

Yeah Cybex is the best of the bunch. OMG LifeFitness have bought them out too? Our Hammer stuff is 10 years old so a bit beefier than the new versions.

The best equipment is Panatta and Atlantis. I haven't seen any Atlantis in Melbourne yet but have trained at a Panatta gym.

When you're an old campaigner like me you tend to rely on a few machines to get you through the workout, unless you're like ol mate Grotto who has tendons made of steel.

Jun 27, 2013
Just politely suggesting those heading to the gym, to just take it easy and really back off the weights, go light or go home. :drunk:

The chance of an injury is so high after a long layoff. Give your body a few weeks to be reconditioned again. The last thing you want is a soft tissue injury. Make October your warm up month and then hit it hard from November onwards.

I know there is smarter and better posters in here than me, I would love to hear their thoughts.
Yeah normally need a few weeks to get back into the swing of things

Had my hip flexor problem over Xmas, was lucky it wasn't bad enough to completely sideline me unlike whenever disc/nerve lumbar issues have popped up, so I did light stuff over January and February, mainly bands, floor presses, prone rows etc to take my hips out of the equation while I did my 6 week bout of rehabilitation mobility sumo squats

Come March I was aching to get back into it, went hard pretty quickly, battled through April, but come May it absolutely stunk, really struggled to exercise twice a week in May, was a mental issue mainly, but I was tight and sore too, so figuring out how to build my training around the mobility squats and sumo deadlifts which were my primary rehab/maintenance exercises was paramount. Ended up breaking the plateau in June by doing 3 x 30 minute sessions for 2 weeks going upper lower every other day, then progressed to 3 x 45 minute sessions pull push legs for a few weeks, simple Mon-Wed-Fri stuff. The last 3 months has been a good progression block though once I figured out the right 4 day routine to stick by (I go by feel these days). I think I need to keep it up until Xmas, then make sure I have a deload period over Xmas/NY where I ease right off for probably 2 weeks, but still get some training in, maybe hit mainly bodyweight/band stuff etc.

Was pretty pooped from the last 3 days though, was going to train legs tonight, but will do them tomorrow now, went for a half hour walk, 5 minutes on the echo bike, had a stretch and got the foam roller out instead, so hopefully tomorrow will be worth it.

Jun 27, 2013
Yeah Cybex is the best of the bunch. OMG LifeFitness have bought them out too? Our Hammer stuff is 10 years old so a bit beefier than the new versions.

The best equipment is Panatta and Atlantis. I haven't seen any Atlantis in Melbourne yet but have trained at a Panatta gym.

When you're an old campaigner like me you tend to rely on a few machines to get you through the workout, unless you're like ol mate Grotto who has tendons made of steel.
I reckon when I'm an old campaigner, the pulldown/seated row, functional trainer, smith machine and seated calf raise will be my go toos.

Just working out how to keep the lower back strong for as long as possible though will be the thing

I reckon when I'm an old campaigner, the pulldown/seated row, functional trainer, smith machine and seated calf raise will be my go toos.

Just working out how to keep the lower back strong for as long as possible though will be the thing
When youre an old campaginer like myself those machines will be be obsolete and some health fitness nut will find all the issues with them.

For lower back, doing very light deadlift high reps is the key. I also do some back exercise on a machine and bent on it with weight. No idea what its called.

Jun 27, 2013
When youre an old campaginer like myself those machines will be be obsolete and some health fitness nut will find all the issues with them.

For lower back, doing very light deadlift high reps is the key. I also do some back exercise on a machine and bent on it with weight. No idea what its called.
Screenshot_20211008-144212_DuckDuckGo.jpg

Screenshot_20211008-144227_DuckDuckGo.jpg

These?

I'll probably squeeze in a hyperextension bench eventually, GHDs are too big

Jun 27, 2013
Is your new gym more accommodating for powerlifters?

Nice stuff by the way with those numbers, 200 at 6 surely means you have 250 in ya.

I benched 132.5 and 135kg singles on Wednesday after working my way up with quadruples at 110 and 120 and doubles at 125 and 127.5, heaviest I've gone in my garage set up (though having a new westside spacing rack helps bigtime). Was absolutely rapt with pumping out 4 at 120, 120 has historically been double or triple territory for me, though for some reason, my traps and rhomboids has gone full DOMS too with the pecs (did engage more of a tighter powerlifting type lift here driving through the legs and retracting the scapula, just without the huge lower back arch)