25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Possibly, we signed them on potential.....which we are doing with Clark and Coffield as well. Trying to push their wages down is a good thing but you need to bring players along selling a dream not put fissures in the playing list. Hopefully they can bring a few around to a vision not make bad blood between the playing group, managers and the club.

I'd say there seems to be a few guys that aren't feeling very appreciated at the moment. I know on here the testosterone fuelled posters will say it's about time and that we should line them up for a kick in the nuts but culture and unification are important. It's hard won and easily lost.

The key difference being that we overpaid in the Richo era because we had to.

In JB’s case he re-signed after a fantastic year. Seb won B&Fs. Dunstan, Dmac, Bruce, etc all overpaid due to TPP rules.

The only bloke I reckon we’re currently paying on potential is Max. Is he a $750k player now? Probably not. Will that be an absolute bargain in 12 months time? All signs point to yes!

I don’t know what Hunts & Coff are getting but I wouldn’t think it’s overs for what they’ve produced thus far.

Don’t forget its Satan & The Banker running the show now, not GT paying his stars 80% of the cap until it explodes.

When was Webster on the chopping block?

I have never heard that on here or anywhere.
Was rumoured last year he was going to be traded to Adelaide with Dunstan for a late pick to offset them losing Crouch.

When asked during last years trade period, Lethlean shut down Webster being traded very quickly but didn't do the same when asked about Dunstan.

When did Trout ever go risky?

Maybe Dmac over Touk… can’t think of any others.

Paddy wasn’t an average player & despite what the short memory merchants will tell you, was showing very good signs when he was on the park…. And in a very very ordinary side mind you.

DeGoey was never in the mix so not sure why he’s even mentioned. May as well ask why Cripps was taken instead of Billings.

He chased quite a few that went away from the script. McCartin is the most obvious one. He went away from consensus quite a bit. I still remember us putting out videos of us speaking to Sam Mayes, Ploughman and Tom Cluery saying that we didn't have picks for them but Trout had a massive hard on for them and would keep track of their careers with the hope that they might be tempted over. Sometimes you just have to be happy about what didn't eventuate.

We should trade Coff, Clark and Pato for picks this year, then Batts and Long for future picks.
That way we can finish further down the ladder and get better draft picks to fix the hole in our list in the 21-23yo group.
Makes sense to me...
This place is one interesting test case in group behaviour psychology.
It’s funny how everyone starts defending people coming on with hypotheticals when they are criticised but then when it doesn’t suit some supporters fanboy delusions there’s a group pile on.
Long live pack mentality.

When did Trout ever go risky?

Maybe Dmac over Touk… can’t think of any others.

Paddy wasn’t an average player & despite what the short memory merchants will tell you, was showing very good signs when he was on the park…. And in a very very ordinary side mind you.

DeGoey was never in the mix so not sure why he’s even mentioned. May as well ask why Cripps was taken instead of Billings.

Hey dont bring me into it , i had nothing to do with it ;)

Was rumoured last year he was going to be traded to Adelaide with Dunstan for a late pick to offset them losing Crouch.

When asked during last years trade period, Lethlean shut down Webster being traded very quickly but didn't do the same when asked about Dunstan.
Ok, thanks, so never is the answer.

Gallagher has put in place a strategy where nobody is overpaid going forward.

Hanners dropped money, Billings got less but can get more on performance, Ross less but more on performance, that's why he hasn't signed.

The TPP is rigidly maintained, to the point that we will have the cap to hit FA next year as well as having a go at King if we want.

Possibly, we signed them on potential.....which we are doing with Clark and Coffield as well. Trying to push their wages down is a good thing but you need to bring players along selling a dream not put fissures in the playing list. Hopefully they can bring a few around to a vision not make bad blood between the playing group, managers and the club.

I'd say there seems to be a few guys that aren't feeling very appreciated at the moment. I know on here the testosterone fuelled posters will say it's about time and that we should line them up for a kick in the nuts but culture and unification are important. It's hard won and easily lost.
What else should we have done with Coff and Clark, delist them?

I don't really understand what you are getting at. Neither are on huge contracts are they?

When was Webster on the chopping block?

I have never heard that on here or anywhere.

Stavro was talking about it last year. Multiple times.

He chased quite a few that went away from the script. McCartin is the most obvious one. He went away from consensus quite a bit. I still remember us putting out videos of us speaking to Sam Mayes, Ploughman and Tom Cluery saying that we didn't have picks for them but Trout had a massive hard on for them and would keep track of their careers with the hope that they might be tempted over. Sometimes you just have to be happy about what didn't eventuate.

I remember those videos…where they offered exclusive insight into what was going on inside the drafting inner sanctum. I remember the one that identified Caleb Daniel.

Whatever fits the narrative they want to peddle. In the case of Dunstan, there's a good body of work there to realise he isn't at the level required for us to improve. Fortunately a handful of games doesn't hold more weight than 7 years.
I don't think anyone is trying to say Spook is an A grade mid. We will lose midfield depth, which is a fact and I think some are worried especially after the year we had this year.. he certainly helped turn our season around, which would have been catastrophic with a few more losses. It also makes no sense to not offer him a low ball contract unless we dont have list spots.

It's an exaggeration to say he has only played a handful of good games in 7 years - he has probably been mostly average with a very promising 1st year and an excellent back half to 2019 and 2021.

Personally I will back in our couching staff to have a good idea that Bytel and Clark are capable enough to pull their own weight in the midfield, but no need to dis Spook on his way out either.

I remember those videos…where they offered exclusive insight into what was going on inside the drafting inner sanctum. I remember the one that identified Caleb Daniel.

That was apparently the SA scout who was pushing for him. Reckoned he was a gun despite his size.

I don't think anyone is trying to say Spook is an A grade mid. We will lose midfield depth, which is a fact and I think some are worried especially after the year we had this year.. he certainly helped turn our season around, which would have been catastrophic with a few more losses. It also makes no sense to not offer him a low ball contract unless we dont have list spots.

It's an exaggeration to say he has only played a handful of good games in 7 years - he has probably been mostly average with a very promising 1st year and an excellent back half to 2019 and 2021.

Personally I will back in our couching staff to have a good idea that Bytel and Clark are capable enough to pull their own weight in the midfield, but no need to dis Spook on his way out either.
Who says we don't have an offer on the table for him?

A handful of good games, a season, whatever, the fact is that he wasn't taking us forward and there's players that show greater potential pushing up under him and on occasion keeping him out of the side. I used to like Dunstan as a player but he's worn out at St.Kilda, we aren't getting much else from him.

Who says we don't have an offer on the table for him?

A handful of good games, a season, whatever, the fact is that he wasn't taking us forward and there's players that show greater potential pushing up under him and on occasion keeping him out of the side. I used to like Dunstan as a player but he's worn out at St.Kilda, we aren't getting much else from him.

An offer for Dunstan? I thought our club had said that we wouldn't offer him a contract?

I think at this point they've agreed to part but we would've been silly not to offer him some cheap rag of a deal

Media are heavily linking us with Ladhams, bad idea I think. Port will want a good deal for a young ruckman, late first round. Silvagni and Rendell both said he wasn't that good but could if the club had time and patience so he wouldn't come into Saints as a quick fix and we have Heath that could be explored for free instead of taking Ladhams.
It just shows how bad the media are when it comes to the Saints.

I think at this point they've agreed to part but we would've been silly not to offer him some cheap rag of a deal

I thought that we'd already said that he won't be offered a contract?

My understanding is that we offered him a year. Same with Ross (in that they were offers to entice them to leave I think)

Media are heavily linking us with Ladhams, bad idea I think. Port will want a good deal for a young ruckman, late first round. Silvagni and Rendell both said he wasn't that good but could if the club had time and patience so he wouldn't come into Saints as a quick fix and we have Heath that could be explored for free instead of taking Ladhams.
It just shows how bad the media are when it comes to the Saints.

He's a good player with heaps of upside but if we are chasing Ben King then we are crazy to be chasing a second best 22 ruckman unless we are thinking of trading Marshall out. King, King, Marshall/Ladhams resting forward, Sharman, Membrey....with Allison and Battle as back up. That's way too many talls for six spots. Also have Heath developing for a ruck spot.

My understanding is that we offered him a year. Same with Ross (in that they were offers to entice them to leave I think)

I haven't seen anything about Dunny getting offered a contract. I thought that we'd said straight up that he's not going to get a contract.

Well, I don't know what else to tell you lol