25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
I think Dunstan should have been depth and the worst of any of the mids should be pushed out. I keeps players like Crouch and Gresham etc honest as well with under performers pushed out. . The Dogs managed to keep Wallace around. It depends how keen we are on finals I guess. Cutting him and not having some ready made back up mids could be a real test of depth if we have another year like this one.

Our mids next year would be Steele, Jones, Crouch. Jones is very injury prone as was Crouch for much of his career. Gresham and Hanners may play but both have hardly played in the last 2 years.

Players like Clark, Higgins and Bytel might be able to transition in there and Byrnes may get into a starting midfield spot. Then who ever we recruit this year.

To me that's pretty thin and really leaves us vulnerable. If finals aren't a real issue cutting guys like Seb and Dunstan makes sense as you try to bring on kids and you cut the cord and don't give yourself the option of playing solid but limited players. I guess I hoped we'd stay up while playing finals and developing a youth brigade at the same time. By the time Dunny is ready to move on Bytel and Byrnes types are ready to step in.

I agree it does leave us thin, so there has to be more to it than we know.
IMO it’s an attitude problem and the club doesn’t want it, so they are cutting it out.

Dear Journalists,

Stop linking us to Mason Cox you bastards!

Screenshot_20211003_214326.jpg

Still feel the Pies will trade out a player that is on good coin - who that is I wouldn't have a clue but they need salary cap space still and even Diacos will be wanting more cash after his 2yr contract finishes and they would need to make it enticing - With Grundy , Moore , De Goey , Howe , Sidebottom , Adams taking a good % of the salary cap you never know who would be willing to move to a different club after the turmoil that the club has gone through.

I agree it does leave us thin, so there has to be more to it than we know.
IMO it’s an attitude problem and the club doesn’t want it, so they are cutting it out.
What happens with these gun recruits in this years draft - our pick 11 might hit the ground running , even one poster made a comment how Windhager was Bont like - even if the don't play they will be playing as midfielders at Sandy and having Bytel , Byrne , Hannerberry , Connolly surely one of them are going to step up and then you have Clark who has spent most of his time on a flank , the same with Coffield and what about Gresham are we just writing him off because he had a bad injury - then we have Paton , do you really think he wants to play as a back pocket his whole career - we also have Battle , he has good endurance and skills why could he play as a mid same as Cripps.

There is more ways to skin a cat - I like the way we are rejuvenating the list and losing a serviceable mid just makes the hunger greater for the guys who would love a midfield run role.

These guys we are losing a good players but no they are by no means not replaceable and I would rather get more games into the youth than play the older guys that have hit there peak and we know they are not game changing players.
Kids like Sharman , Connolly , Bytel and Byrne are.

And having Ross and Dunstan running around in the seniors just means the kids like Clark are forced out of the midfield again and they are going to fight for a spot anyway with Gresham , Bytel , Byrne and Hannerbery all wanting a game.

These older midfield guys that can only play one position hurt the development of kids in my opinion.

To me Id rather Goater , Windhager , Owens , Bytel , Byrne in the midfield at Sandy than Dunstan or Ross

What happens with these gun recruits in this years draft - our pick 11 might hit the ground running , even one poster made a comment how Windhager was Bont like - even if the don't play they will be playing as midfielders at Sandy and having Bytel , Byrne , Hannerberry , Connolly surely one of them are going to step up and then you have Clark who has spent most of his time on a flank , the same with Coffield and what about Gresham are we just writing him off because he had a bad injury - then we have Paton , do you really think he wants to play as a back pocket his whole career - we also have Battle , he has good endurance and skills why could he play as a mid same as Cripps.

There is more ways to skin a cat - I like the way we are rejuvenating the list and losing a serviceable mid just makes the hunger greater for the guys who would love a midfield run role.

These guys we are losing a good players but no they are by no means not replaceable and I would rather get more games into the youth than play the older guys that have hit there peak and we know they are not game changing players.
Kids like Sharman , Connolly , Bytel and Byrne are.

And having Ross and Dunstan running around in the seniors just means the kids like Clark are forced out of the midfield again and they are going to fight for a spot anyway with Gresham , Bytel , Byrne and Hannerbery all wanting a game.

These older midfield guys that can only play one position hurt the development of kids in my opinion.

To me Id rather Goater , Windhager , Owens , Bytel , Byrne in the midfield at Sandy than Dunstan or Ross
Goater, Windhager, Owens, Bytel/Byrnes with Heath rucking sounds like a midfield where we’ll go undefeated at Sandy

If we do go after BING next year then Webster will come into discussion to offload due to the salary cap but won't be this year. I was thinking about this yesterday when looking over who is out of contract next year. Hanners, Long, Battle and Webster are the main ones who would be on decent coin. No surprise to see them all gone by the start of 2023.
3 of those players are not regulars of the side now. Hannebery may play a full year in 2022 and would be close to 32 but slowing down big time.

Well dog, Mitch Cleary is supposed to be one of the "respected" footy gurus on this forum. So could he be right?

He'd be an upgrade on Hunter. He'd be cheap and he claims he wants to ruck. I'd take him for free. He's a serviceable ruck and average forward but can fill either role in an emergency.

Damn this Dunston situation is looking quite the debacle. Can’t imagine him coming back after what he’s said publicly though.

Really? I don't get that view of it. Am I the only one here who thinks the club has been generous to Dunstan?

They've literally offered a contract to a player they don't rate, sounds like the club being loyal and throwing him a lifeline if he wants it. But because of that opinion, Dunstan doesn't want to be there anymore, and that's fair enough. If he doesn't find any other offers I still doubt that he will stay with us, he'd rather be playing where he's valued.

It sounds like nothing more than two parties mutually moving on for the best for both. All the crap the club is getting for this seems misguided.

He'd be an upgrade on Hunter. He'd be cheap and he claims he wants to ruck. I'd take him for free. He's a serviceable ruck and average forward but can fill either role in an emergency.
I think he was on good cash at the pies so he would expect a reasonable salary one would think. Ratten would need to remodel him a bit and I think he would be handy. Better than Hunter by a fair bit IMO

Dear Journalists,

Stop linking us to Mason Cox you bastards!

View attachment 1252220
God hope not

That a fair point. But as our 2nd highest paid player for the last 4 yrs, if he’s not now on the bottom tier of our payments schedule, then he’s still being overpaid IMO
What he got paid before is irrelevant.

3+1 incentive based contract is perfect.

I reckon with guys like Cox, Ross and Dunstan (and even Billings), the reality check of having to cop a decent pay cut and few teams being interested could be the thing to bring out the best in them.

Help them to realise they haven’t been going as well as maybe they thought they were and that they need to pull their finger out if they want to make the most of, or extend their career.

He is a upgrade on Alabakis or McKernan - would not hurt us to have him on the list - doesn't matter who we get some one will bag him.

3yrs max. 2yrs with a trigger for 3rd would have been perfect. He just a player.

He’s basically a slightly better version of Tom Phillips… But I’d even say Phillips is harder than Jack

You’re usually on the $ Rors but that’s an absolute stinker of a call!

Phillips not only had the complexion of a ghost but played like one.

I just read a match report, they kicked 12.19 to our 11.7.

They kicked 19 behinds and 11 OOTF. 30 missed shots! Dougal had 28 disposals and 8 intercepts as well. I'd say we weren't in that match apart from them kicking themselves out of an easy kill.

Not true and how the full game unfolded

I recall the game well (didn’t get to many so easy to do) and midway through the second I was bewildered that we just stopped. Then went on an error riddled run of play that just needed Benny Hill music. Brad Hill’s supposed gifted foot skills deserted him and he looked atrocious. After that we were never in it.

This from the write up at the time

“Jack Viney kicked two first-quarter goals on return from a hamstring injury as the Demons had the better of the play early before Max King (two goals) helped spark a five-goal run for the Saints in a see-sawing start.”

I hope people have a good look at Connolly , the improvement in this kid is increadable - I remember when we recruited him - he looked like a skinny kid that would need a bunch of time to develop but he has certainly developed his body and he could easily play in many roles , he is one who has absolutely massive upside.
The best part about him is he is not afraid to take the game on and is fast and has great disposal.
He is another one to watch next year - if he has a unhindered preseason I don't think anyone will be moving him from our best 22.

The other guy is Sharman , we have all seen his exploits in a few games and who knows if he builds on that and if he does he takes anther spot in the best 22.

So next year if you pencil in Connolly , Sharman , Gresham and Paton into the 22 a few senior guys will need to perform.
As we saw this year when Butler , Hill were not getting a touch and we had no one to replace them due to injury , we now have multiple players who can fill there roles.

Who knows what our 22 next year

Webster - Howard - Paton
Highmore - Wilkie - Sinclair
Hill - Steele - Billings
Sharman - Membery - Butler
Higgins - King - Gresham

Marshall / Crouch / Jones

Connolly / Clark / Coffield / Ryder

---- McKenzie / Hannerbery / Ross / Bytel / Byrne / Battle
-- Joyce / Kent / Lonie / Long / Heath / Allison / Geary / Wood / WINDHAGER / OWENS / GOATER

yep--- 6 years ago---enthralling stuff

Seriously, it was an example, you very well know.

Premiership winning teams need to have some solid B+ players as well as the A graders or elite.
Billings would be as good as, if not better than, plenty of other players who have been in premiership teams.

I, for one, am very glad that one of our goal-scoring, better users of the ball, is signed up for more years. We’ve got such a great list after all that we can afford to see players like him leave over others who are far worse.🙄
I am far happier to see Dunstan or Ross and others go first.

Still feel the Pies will trade out a player that is on good coin - who that is I wouldn't have a clue but they need salary cap space still and even Diacos will be wanting more cash after his 2yr contract finishes and they would need to make it enticing - With Grundy , Moore , De Goey , Howe , Sidebottom , Adams taking a good % of the salary cap you never know who would be willing to move to a different club after the turmoil that the club has gone through.
Daicos is on a 4 year deal