25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Worth remembering that Billings would have been coming top 2 in our B&F until he ruptured his plantar fascia this year, and he was still coming 4th 3 weeks after he did it.

Maybe he wouldn’t have gone on with it had he not gotten injured, but it’s also entirely possible that he was going to have that breakout year that we’ve all been waiting for. Robbo had his at that age and Karl Amon was born one day apart from Jack and he had his this year.

His numbers were seriously elite prior to his injury.

24 disposals (elite)
1.5 goals (elite)
7.3 score involvements (elite)
7.3 marks (elite)
1.8 marks inside-50 (elite)
379m gained (elite)
100.3 AFL fantasy points (elite)
106 SuperCoach points (elite)

Looking forward to seeing how he goes next year if he’s back to full fitness.

Bit harsh. While he hasn't come near the heights we presumed he would hit, he is reliably vanilla and gets on with the job. He's not a match winner, but he's not bad with the ball in his hands which is more than could be said about a few others in the team.
I dont think that’s harsh. There would be easily 30 players across the league I’d have rolling through those positions before I struck Billings name

That looks pretty good to me when you consider how many 2nd rounders are gone within a few years.

Steele is our captain and best player

Higgins looks like he could be an AA quality half forward

Bytel looks promising

McKenzie and a Long are depth

Jury still out on Battle.

It's a hell of a lot sadder when you look at the first rounders IMO.

for mine:

2015: tick
2016: massive fail on freeman. Long and Battle more a beneficiary of the amazing Hawthorn trade, Long selection a shock.
2017: massive tick.
2018: fail on Austin.
2019: $$$ aside, rests on Bytel coming good.
2020: fail. i think we all accept we overpaid on Hill.
2021: tick. higgins looks good.

players we missed out on:

2015: Redman, Ryan Clarke, Sier, Hibberd, Schoenfield, Marcus Adams, Tom Cole, Riley Boner, Balic
2016: William Drew, Rotham, Sean Darcy, Tom Stewart, Brennan Cox
2017: Sam Taylor, Spargo, De Koning, Fritsch, Constable, Petty
2018: Sparrow, James Jordon, Tom Berry
2019: Worrell, Rivers
2020: late 2nd so bad there's no one of note yet.

the 2017 one is probably the best draft, but we got steele who surpasses anything we could have drafted. 2016 sucks big time though. if we kept that pick we could have got either Darcy or Stewart. then if we had gone with Bolton over Long as people wanted on here, we would have had another.

2016 is probably the draft that was the final nail in the Trout coffin TBH

All things fair we are going to need to find a spot for Patton and Gresh , does he take eithers spot ? I wouldn't think so
I think they can all fit

"Depth" as in not best 22 is fine.
Entrenched in the 22 at the cost of developing better kids is not "depth".
It’s hard to push out a guy who you can plug in on the inside, on a wing, across HB or half forward, or get to do a run-with role. Especially if he also brings experience and leadership to the table.

It's already mostly happened.

He had 6 or 7 games where he played as a genuine mid and the rest he was on the outer.

I think unless we get more injuries he'll continue on the flanks.
Yeah, that 6 or 7 needs to turn into 2 or 3.

There is a lot of talk about trading Coff and I think he is more valuable to us longer term than Webster.

Webster is contracted until 2022, so time to cash in.

IMO Coff has more class and much better skills with better development opportunity.
I think you're the only one talking about trading Webby. I can assure you it's not gonna happen. His phat contract is over now and with his age and injury history there'll be little to no interest or value in it. He's a Saint for life and a bloody good footballer when fit. We should want to be keeping him till retirement from here.

Hopefully Ratten has the guts to drop Seb when he is isn't performing. It's been tiring to see the same senior players get picked no matter how they play. That needs to change.
Been an issue for years. Until this changes we will continue to be medicore.

No one will convince me that Bolton would have been anything other than a complete disaster at St Kilda. Benefitted greatly from a great situation at Richmond, which started just as he arrived.

Those who rate Hunter Clark will be proven right.

Should move Seb to half back or half forward and let Bytel and others grow in the midfield.

Takes Long's spot for mine, more a "pinch" option when we lack intensity and med sub option.

for mine:

2015: tick
2016: massive fail on freeman. Long and Battle more a beneficiary of the amazing Hawthorn trade, Long selection a shock.
2017: massive tick.
2018: fail on Austin.
2019: $$$ aside, rests on Bytel coming good.
2020: fail. i think we all accept we overpaid on Hill.
2021: tick. higgins looks good.

players we missed out on:

2015: Redman, Ryan Clarke, Sier, Hibberd, Schoenfield, Marcus Adams, Tom Cole, Riley Boner, Balic
2016: William Drew, Rotham, Sean Darcy, Tom Stewart, Brennan Cox
2017: Sam Taylor, Spargo, De Koning, Fritsch, Constable, Petty
2018: Sparrow, James Jordon, Tom Berry
2019: Worrell, Rivers
2020: late 2nd so bad there's no one of note yet.

the 2017 one is probably the best draft, but we got steele who surpasses anything we could have drafted. 2016 sucks big time though. if we kept that pick we could have got either Darcy or Stewart. then if we had gone with Bolton over Long as people wanted on here, we would have had another.

2016 is probably the draft that was the final nail in the Trout coffin TBH
There will always be hits and misses in the 2nd round and whilst there are probably more missed than hits, the quality of the hits far out way the misses IMO.

Hopefully Ratten has the guts to drop Seb when he is isn't performing. It's been tiring to see the same senior players get picked no matter how they play. That needs to change.
Sebs a pretty consistent player - doesn't have many terrible games. Selection integrity needs to be followed 💯. Plenty kept getting games for very poor output this year

I reckon you're trying to spin it. I doubt Dunny or his manager are thinking we handled it well and he isn't going to be leaving with anything but bad blood. He 100% won't stay, I think he'd be more likely to play SANFL than turn up at Moorabin next year. Like it or not Dunstan was a solid servant of the club and we've managed to cause a really messy break up. That's not very professional, he'll have players that are his mates and others in the industry watch what's going on.

What has the club done that's unprofessional? He wasn't selected initially, got a lot of touches in the VFL, got selected in the AFL, had a very solid month but still couldn't kick over a jam tin. Are we meant to just keep re-signing all the players that have seen us through a decade of rubbish? I don't get this sentiment, mate. What's unprofessional? How else should we say we're offering him a year but he can look elsewhere?

Worth remembering that Billings would have been coming top 2 in our B&F until he ruptured his plantar fascia this year, and he was still coming 4th 3 weeks after he did it.

Maybe he wouldn’t have gone on with it had he not gotten injured, but it’s also entirely possible that he was going to have that breakout year that we’ve all been waiting for. Robbo had his at that age and Karl Amon was born one day apart from Jack and he had his this year.

His numbers were seriously elite prior to his injury.

24 disposals (elite)
1.5 goals (elite)
7.3 score involvements (elite)
7.3 marks (elite)
1.8 marks inside-50 (elite)
379m gained (elite)
100.3 AFL fantasy points (elite)
106 SuperCoach points (elite)

Looking forward to seeing how he goes next year if he’s back to full fitness.

i'm not a fan of billings, but we've finalised that decision and he's going to finish his career a saint, atleast the fruitful part of it.

hopefully he can come back fit and firing. number of players in that boat given the injury interrupted year for many.