2021 NON AFL Thread - finance, ratings, participation etc.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
A lot of the NSW Southern Riverina up to Wagga Wagga is also Australian Football territory!

Plenty of sports have feasted on Wagga talent, the Wagga Effect:

The "Wagga Effect" is a phrase used by the Australian Institute of Sport to describe the disproportionately high number of elite sports men and women who come from regional cities. A study by researcher Dr Damien Farrow confirms the existence of the phenomenon, which concluded sports stars are more likely to be born and raised in a regional centre like Wagga Wagga than a big city.

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
What do you claim these numbers to indicate?

If you are referring to impact on ratings,

for regional:

-say the AFL averaged 100K regional viewers across Victoria, Tassie and WA ,
-sa regional and NT had similar viewing patterns to those areas
-the AFL would be losing an average 22 to 23K viewers a match,
-at 80 televised games a year that would translate to 1.8million viewers

-say the AFL averaged in 150K on foxtel in the metred heartland regions (Vic, Adelaide, Perth and Tassie)
-SA regional, NT and WA regional had similar fox box ownership and AFL viewing patterns to those areas
-the AFL would be losing about 15K per match
-over the season that would translate to about 3 million viewers

So in total it might be worth an accumulated ~5million on those assumptions

Jul 2, 2010
The Panthers are owned by the biggest pokie conglomerate in Australia, probably the biggest in the Southern Hemisphere, maybe even the world.

Just over 2500 machines. Not even close to ALH Group (80% Woolworths, now Endeavor Group - with 12,000 machines) and less pokies than Australian Venue Co. (ex Coles, now owned by 80% KKR with 3000 machines).

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
If you are referring to impact on ratings,

for regional:

-say the AFL averaged 100K regional viewers across Victoria, Tassie and WA ,
-sa regional and NT had similar viewing patterns to those areas
-the AFL would be losing an average 22 to 23K viewers a match,
-at 80 televised games a year that would translate to 1.8million viewers

-say the AFL averaged in 150K on foxtel in the metred heartland regions (Vic, Adelaide, Perth and Tassie)
-SA regional, NT and WA regional had similar fox box ownership and AFL viewing patterns to those areas
-the AFL would be losing about 15K per match
-over the season that would translate to about 3 million viewers

So in total it might be worth an accumulated ~5million on those assumptions

Your assumptions & it pumps up the AFL if you are true to form.

The Panthers are owned by the biggest pokie conglomerate in Australia, probably the biggest in the Southern Hemisphere, maybe even the world.
The $50 million they've spent in development over the past decade is a tiny fraction of the profits they've made in that time from pokies.

Thats a good result for pokies. :rolleyes:

Aussie in exile

Nov 21, 2013
The $50 million they've spent in development over the past decade is a tiny fraction of the profits they've made in that time from pokies.
Am i right in thinking that not so long ago the Panthers had the biggest assets of any sports club in Australia?
I don't want to get into a my dad is bigger than your dad debate

Jul 2, 2010
Am i right in thinking that not so long ago the Panthers had the biggest assets of any sports club in Australia?
I don't want to get into a my dad is bigger than your dad debate

AFL ClubCurrent AssetsNon Current Assets2020 Assets
Adelaide$4.22$22.28$26.50
Brisbane$36.06$25.58$57.65
Carlton$15.24$49.41$64.65
Collingwood$11.94$55.97$67.91
Essendon$3.54$54.66$58.19
Fremantle$7.37$20.74$28.11
Geelong$18.14$42.05$60.19
Gold Coast$3.56$17.36$20.92
G.Western Sydney$2.57$19.01$21.58
Hawthorn$29.79$68.84$98.64
Melbourne$3.20$24.99$28.19
North Melbourne$1.67$19.18$21.50
Port Adelaide$11.33$25.50$36.83
Richmond$30.78$29.02$59.80
St Kilda$1.77$35.87$37.64
Sydney$3.03$6.98$10.01
West Coast$69.10$61.57$130.67
Western Bulldogs$13.32$45.67$58.99

NRL ClubCurrent AssetsNon Current Assets2020 Assets
Brisbane$18.53$32.36$50.89
Canberra$18.74$79.63$98.37
Canterbury$21.69$218.65$240.35
Cronulla$25.32$31.14$56.47
Melbourne$7.34$4.87$12.21
Newcastle$18.38$289.71$308.09
North Queensland$8.30$51.25$29.55
Parramatta$23.58$106.88$130.46
Penrith$29.30$219.52$248.82
Sydney$36.13$129.50$165.63

AFL Club2020 Equity
Adelaide$5.75
Brisbane-$9.64
Carlton$19.47
Collingwood$42.92
Essendon$40.84
Fremantle$12.59
Geelong$10.96
Gold Coast-$1.23
G.Western Sydney$0.21
Hawthorn$54.46
Melbourne$21.24
North Melbourne$11.79
Port Adelaide$10.51
Richmond$35.69
St Kilda$16.26
Sydney-$3.90
West Coast$99.44
Western Bulldogs$50.57

NRL Club2020 Equity
Brisbane$34.72
Canberra$51.84
Canterbury$180.15
Cronulla$47.14
Melbourne$2.14
Newcastle$270.62
North Queensland$31.17
Parramatta$71.76
Penrith$157.65
Sydney$132.00

Aussie in exile

Nov 21, 2013
AFL ClubCurrent AssetsNon Current Assets2020 Assets
Adelaide$4.22$22.28$26.50
Brisbane$36.06$25.58$57.65
Carlton$15.24$49.41$64.65
Collingwood$11.94$55.97$67.91
Essendon$3.54$54.66$58.19
Fremantle$7.37$20.74$28.11
Geelong$18.14$42.05$60.19
Gold Coast$3.56$17.36$20.92
G.Western Sydney$2.57$19.01$21.58
Hawthorn$29.79$68.84$98.64
Melbourne$3.20$24.99$28.19
North Melbourne$1.67$19.18$21.50
Port Adelaide$11.33$25.50$36.83
Richmond$30.78$29.02$59.80
St Kilda$1.77$35.87$37.64
Sydney$3.03$6.98$10.01
West Coast$69.10$61.57$130.67
Western Bulldogs$13.32$45.67$58.99

NRL ClubCurrent AssetsNon Current Assets2020 Assets
Brisbane$18.53$32.36$50.89
Canberra$18.74$79.63$98.37
Canterbury$21.69$218.65$240.35
Cronulla$25.32$31.14$56.47
Melbourne$7.34$4.87$12.21
Newcastle$18.38$289.71$308.09
North Queensland$8.30$51.25$29.55
Parramatta$23.58$106.88$130.46
Penrith$29.30$219.52$248.82
Sydney$36.13$129.50$165.63

AFL Club2020 Equity
Adelaide$5.75
Brisbane-$9.64
Carlton$19.47
Collingwood$42.92
Essendon$40.84
Fremantle$12.59
Geelong$10.96
Gold Coast-$1.23
G.Western Sydney$0.21
Hawthorn$54.46
Melbourne$21.24
North Melbourne$11.79
Port Adelaide$10.51
Richmond$35.69
St Kilda$16.26
Sydney-$3.90
West Coast$99.44
Western Bulldogs$50.57

NRL Club2020 Equity
Brisbane$34.72
Canberra$51.84
Canterbury$180.15
Cronulla$47.14
Melbourne$2.14
Newcastle$270.62
North Queensland$31.17
Parramatta$71.76
Penrith$157.65
Sydney$132.00
This is the article i was referring to and it was in 2013. How time flies.I didn't realise it was that long ago

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Just to make a mockery of the profound stupidity of such comparisons, the Melbourne Cricket Club for one is considerably bigger than any of those mini casinos that have relatively (compared to the AFL) small football clubs attached

1633078978552.png

Melbourne Cricket Clubs revenues are overwhelmingly from sport, albeit not for the actual Melbourne Cricket Club itself. It's business model is, of course, overwhelming driven by a long term AFL contract

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Your assumptions & it pumps up the AFL if you are true to form.

Happy to address any further questions on the actual analysis. Or even come up with some numbers for you on your own assumptions

Bit rude though playing the man after I've laid out the analysis in two emails now and responding specifically to your requests?

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Happy to address any further questions on the actual analysis. Or even come up with some numbers for you on your own assumptions

Bit rude though playing the man after I've laid out the analysis in two emails now and responding specifically to your requests?

Your message is repetitive in this thread: 2021 NON AFL Thread - finance, ratings, participation etc.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Just to make a mockery of the profound stupidity of such comparisons, the Melbourne Cricket Club for one is considerably bigger than any of those mini casinos that have relatively (compared to the AFL) small football clubs attached

View attachment 1250834

Melbourne Cricket Clubs revenues are overwhelmingly from sport, albeit not for the actual Melbourne Cricket Club itself. It's business model is, of course, overwhelming driven by a long term AFL contract

Its the arrangement with the Victorian taxpayer that underwrites the Cricket Club.

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Your message is repetitive in this thread: 2021 NON AFL Thread - finance, ratings, participation etc.

You'd do well to trace back the conversation. Started by you and you've subsequently asked me to explain things twice.....and then played the man when you didn't like the answer

I think any where were NRL whining about regionals goeth, gaps in regional ratings can goeth too

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Its the arrangement with the Victorian taxpayer that underwrites the Cricket Club.

...well, far more than that, it is the long term contract with the AFL that underwrites the Cricket Club

I reckon decades of pokies rent courtesy of the NSW government are probably more pertinent though

Panthers Leagues Club's 2500 machines is almost 10% of all the machines in Victoria and three times all of the remaining poker machines operated by Vic AFL clubs

Interesting Penrith actually put out separate reports for their leagues club and the football club that forms a part of it

Jul 2, 2010
Have the AFL #s been finalised?

AFL (inc consolidated +7)

AFL Total 4.156m
AFL FTA 3.959m (consolidated +7 - added 36,000 viewers)
AFL Stream 197,000 (selected devices only)

NRL AU Total 3.596m
NRL AU FTA 3.233m (not yet consolidated, wont know til next week)
NRL AU Stream 363,000
NRL NZ Sky ?

Aussie in exile

Nov 21, 2013
AFL (inc consolidated +7)

AFL Total 4.156m
AFL FTA 3.959m (consolidated +7 - added 36,000 viewers)
AFL Stream 197,000 (selected devices only)

NRL AU Total 3.596m
NRL AU FTA 3.233m (not yet consolidated, wont know til next week)
NRL AU Stream 363,000
NRL NZ Sky ?

UK would have had large ratings as well i would have thought