Food for thought (or more accurately, food thoughts and inspirations)

Remove this Banner Ad

Aug 6, 2021
AFL Club
North Melbourne
B: M. Ling, J. Roughead, S. Stack
HB: D. Eggmolesse-Smith, J. Crisp, C. Ham
C: S. Powell-Pepper, O. Wines, J. Berry
HF: B. Ham, L. Baker, J. Waterman
F: T. Berry, N. Larkey, J. Honey
R: J. Sweet, C. Coleman-Jones, Z. Butters,
I/C: S. Giro, O. Baker, D. Tucker, S. Berry

h/t the trade thread and my 18 month old who refuses to sleep, causing me to do things like this to make the time pass.

soz all.

what I had a few nights ago
63BEE1EC-CE11-4F8B-B3B9-890AAE114F7C.jpeg

I feel kinda embarrassed but I’m not really good with food texture and I’m very hesitant trying new foods.

But recently I have been trying strawberries which I hated the texture of the seeds but I’m now slowly liking them.
I know what you mean. I never liked bananas as a kid for the same reason, love them now, and mushrooms still freak me out at times.

when i first had deep dried chicken feet i was a bit this way, wasn't really sure how the claws texture against the crispy skin would go. prawn heads at the teppenyaki were similar.
Yeah I went to a beer garden in Bangkok and they had deep fried chicken knuckles, it was just gristle I think the bits from the various joints. They were really chewy but quite tasty. Not something I particularly want to eat.

Aug 6, 2021
AFL Club
North Melbourne
I’ve made Beef Giouvetsi a couple of times recently. Followed this recipe but added some extra veggies and a little bit more wine, tomato and cinnamon. Pretty damn tasty.
View attachment 1261522

I liked the look of this, so I bought all the ingredients to cook tomorrow. Only substitute is Arborio rice instead of orzo, as the missus doesn’t eat gluten. Looking forward to it!

I liked the look of this, so I bought all the ingredients to cook tomorrow. Only substitute is Arborio rice instead of orzo, as the missus doesn’t eat gluten. Looking forward to it!