Certified Legendary Thread Sneaking in to the Grand Final............

mattpolo8

Red and white tragic
Sep 25, 2012
Arsenal, Miami Heat
I know one of the blokes who's in lock up now for a few months. He's easily the worst human being I've ever met. He's a self entitled ***** who's had everything handed to him on a platter, including his bar. And unless you're a D grade celebrity or higher, he treats you like crap.

Fraud was the big one and ultimately what landed them as convicted criminals and Christmas behind bars. Still yet to face court in NT as well which will be a fine. In terms of their businesses, financial planner awfully hard to get that career back. The bar? Current liquor laws in Victoria don't disallow convicted criminals to hold a liquor licence. But VCGLR will 100% review that licence now. In terms of the bar's success though? I have zero doubt that he has enough mates who are of the same kind, to fill that joint again.

Oh and the most recent article highlights what the lawyer for (bar owner) tried to use to get all 10 months suspended. Apparently the accused was diagnosed with ADHD and Bipolar in 2015 and the financial strains of his bar being shut for 240+ days led to him making some decisions that were not like him......

but he had no problem forking out $4.8m for a house in Toorak and inviting the entire Dees club over for a party.

Jail for crossing borders. Not sure if Australia or North Korea.
That's insulting
If you tried to sneak into North Korea they'd shower you in gifts and use you as propaganda 'we're a destination country, everyone wants to come here'

It's also harsher than China/Russia. If a North Korean crossed the border into either country they'd be sent back home. Here they're locked up.

Lip Gallagher

Nov 11, 2020
I enjoyed the video, as someone said earlier an extra camera would’ve made it so much better, as for breaking COVID restrictions they deserve what’s coming.

Jan 14, 2002
Seeing the Demons win the first grand of his lifetime? Probably
They still would've won it if he hadn't been there. And from someone who's been at the 2017/19 GF's but had to watch 2020 on the telly, yeah it's not as good as being there, but the gap is most certainly not worth a conviction, let alone a jail term and a lost job and/or business.

Louie the Lipinski

Oct 12, 2021
They still would've won it if he hadn't been there. And from someone who's been at the 2017/19 GF's but had to watch 2020 on the telly, yeah it's not as good as being there, but the gap is most certainly not worth a conviction, let alone a jail term and a lost job and/or business.

I agree. You should just be happy to see your team win the flag, regardless of where you watch it from.

Aug 14, 2001
I know one of the blokes who's in lock up now for a few months. He's easily the worst human being I've ever met. He's a self entitled ***** who's had everything handed to him on a platter, including his bar. And unless you're a D grade celebrity or higher, he treats you like crap.

Fraud was the big one and ultimately what landed them as convicted criminals and Christmas behind bars. Still yet to face court in NT as well which will be a fine. In terms of their businesses, financial planner awfully hard to get that career back. The bar? Current liquor laws in Victoria don't disallow convicted criminals to hold a liquor licence. But VCGLR will 100% review that licence now. In terms of the bar's success though? I have zero doubt that he has enough mates who are of the same kind, to fill that joint again.

Oh and the most recent article highlights what the lawyer for (bar owner) tried to use to get all 10 months suspended. Apparently the accused was diagnosed with ADHD and Bipolar in 2015 and the financial strains of his bar being shut for 240+ days led to him making some decisions that were not like him......

but he had no problem forking out $4.8m for a house in Toorak and inviting the entire Dees club over for a party.
Used to have a connection to one as well. Some mutual pals were trying to figure out who ratted them out before it became known but no one thought it was anything but hilarious that they got done.

It’s hysterically funny that they only got their cover blown by getting themselves into the post match celebration photos.

All they had to do is keep their heads down and go out for some celebratory beers in Perth after the game like everyone else and come back whenever they felt like it. No one would have been any the wiser and they would had had a great yarn.

Herne Hill Hammer

10k Posts
Jun 22, 2008
Wonder if anyone actually did this

There is an uncontrolled border crossing at the south-west of the NT, west of Uluru, near the Kata Tjuṯa.
Barring the occasional road wash out, it's a very well maintained wide gravel highway, suitable for 2WDs and trucks.

Would save days on the trip above... for next time....

I'm pretty sure it's been shut down due to COVID, it's the Great Central Road from Yulara to Laverton, the only real road access in has been via either of Eucla or Kununurra. The Gunbarrel Hwy goes that way too, from around Yulara to Wiluna.

Taylor Moss

Oct 1, 2021
GWS
If you showed up with a few slabs on a little hand trolley and an invoice to one of the bars you would 100% get in.
Were talking about this the other day. My mate moved up to Byron when he was 19 (25 years ago, or so)

He was working at a bar up there & on day shift these 2 blokes rocked up with Polo shirts & a clipboard. Introduced themselves as being from Phillip Morris & they were there to take out the smoke machine & replace it with a new one.

Tbey were only partly truthful. They were there to take the cigarette machine, but they weren’t from Phillip Morris.

It was the clipboard that made their story believable.

Mar 11, 2018
And didn’t even make it into the ground

“The 22-year-old arrived at the airport on September 24, telling authorities he had come from South Australia and producing a temporary driver's licence from that state, along with a false rental agreement.

The court heard that further investigations revealed he had travelled to South Australia from Victoria and had not spent 14 days in SA.

Jovanovski was arrested at a Perth hotel the day after he arrived, and he didn't get to see the grand final.”
'Incredibly stupid': AFL grand final border breacher gets $7,000 fine “

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-10...reacher-daniel-jovanovski-cops-fine/100548538

Pandemic would've been sufficient. No need to up the fear porn by calling it a "deadly" pandemic. I'm pretty sure pandemics by their very nature are deadly.
Did I scare you?

A pandemic is just a disease that is prevalent over a country or the world.

At 4.5 mil (conservatively) deaths, it’s safe to call it deadly.

deanc

Jun 13, 2014
Waverley
Tasmania
All they had to do is keep their heads down and go out for some celebratory beers in Perth after the game like everyone else and come back whenever they feel like it. No one would have been any the wiser and they would had had a great yarn.

Yep, but this is simply just another example of narcissism trumping common sense, no..?

Also, love the oxymoronic term used in recent media headlines of; 'Caught on social media!' - when it's unlawful to reproduce anyone's image on a public carriage service or platform without their prior knowledge or consent...?

Jan 14, 2002
Were talking about this the other day. My mate moved up to Byron when he was 19 (25 years ago, or so)

He was working at a bar up there & on day shift these 2 blokes rocked up with Polo shirts & a clipboard. Introduced themselves as being from Phillip Morris & they were there to take out the smoke machine & replace it with a new one.

Tbey were only partly truthful. They were there to take the cigarette machine, but they weren’t from Phillip Morris.

It was the clipboard that made their story believable.
I worked in a bar in the city in the late-80's that occasionally had A+ list celebs roll up to do "unannounced" gigs. One Friday arvo we had two American blokes supposedly from David Lee Roth's touring entourage drop in to eyeball the place for him to possibly do a set later that night. What gave them credibility was the paperwork and "ID's" they supplied from Paul Dainty or Michael Coppel, or whoever the tour promoter was, as well as the fact that we'd had another massive international artist perform a late-night secret gig about two weeks prior.

Our entertainment manager went for it hook, line and sinker, setting them up with open-ended drink cards, with which the yanks duly set about clocking up a new course record - top shelf, cocktails, bottles of Dom, the works, for themselves and any females that showed them any attention.

I reckon it was over three hours and about $1500 later that our bar manager decided that something was very fishy, in that they hadn't asked to use our phones to make contact with the tour company - this was the days before mobile phones. A quick call to the tour company by our manager revealed they knew nothing about the American blokes, and the DLR had no intention to play anywhere later on after his show at the National Tennis Centre. The jig was up and the now very pissed scoundrels were evicted about 8:30pm by a couple of our bouncers - no cops involved, just a bit of a clip behind the ear for each of them on the way out.

Personally, I thought the blokes were an inspiration.

Jun 19, 2011
MCG
Did I scare you?

A pandemic is just a disease that is prevalent over a country or the world.

At 4.5 mil (conservatively) deaths, it’s safe to call it deadly.
LOL, no. Nothing about covid scares me TBH. Again the fact that there's that many deaths related to covid confirms my original point. There's no need to call it a "deadly" pandemic unless you feel some need to make it sound "scary" 🤷‍♂️ We all know it can be deadly.