Apple Isle Showdown: Tas Govt threatens to end Hawks, North deals if no plan for 19th side

The longest we've had odd teams (in the past 95 years anyway) has been four seasons, between the Crows and Fremantle. Correct me if I'm wrong Roylion, but I believe the keen-ness of the AFL to remain at an even number of teams was a big reason for the merger when Port Adelaide joined.

Yes, but the AFL were prepared to have 17 teams, if a merger couldn't be brought about. Port Adelaide's entry in 1997 wasn't contingent on removing another club.

I would say the AFL would like a 20th team no more than three to four seasons after Tasmania enters, so they would likely at least have a preferred candidate by the time the Tasmania timeline is decided.

Possibly. But why not just 19 and have a weekly bye for a few seasons? Of course it is the same amount of games per week.

Who do you think would be the most likely Candidate and have they already looked in to having a team there?

I'm a little biased, but I think Canberra makes the most sense.

We're the only market outside of Tasmania that's been tested with multiple games year after year. We consistently rock up to all five matches (three AFLM, one preseason and one AFLW match).

Our AFLM crowds are higher on average than Darwin or Hobart (or even the Gold Coast when they were testing that market before the Suns).

Three of the top four GWS AFLW crowds have all been in Canberra.

Canberra is the only unrepresented market outside of Tasmania to have proved itself.

Darwin is too small, and Perth can't handle a third team without undermining Fremantle. The Dockers have 210k empty seats every year and sit 50k members behind the Eagles.

I agree that a 3rd team in WA would be the best option on a financially level, but wouldn't a team based in ACT make more sense on improving the participation/viewership rates of the sport and to weaken the NRL footprint on the territory and make it an AFL town as a result (albeit Manuka Oval would definitely need a massive upgrade to 25,000 - 30,000).

After Tasmania & Canberra have a professional team in the AFL/AFLW and the competition stays as that for 10-15 years, I would then bring a 3rd WA team (Perth) and a 3rd NSW team (North Sydney) into the competition, before SA3 & QLD3/NT1 comes into the AFL later on (15-20 years) to create a complete "national" 24 team AFL competition for both male/female players alike.

I've pumped often for WA3. Perth somethings. Perth is our 2nd biggest footy city. It clearly should have had 3 teams before now.

Playing more games in the huge new stadium would be good for the game. The GF was a winner & showed just how good the stadium is.

We should have had Canberra by now as well, let alone Tas1. ;)

I've pumped often for WA3. Perth somethings. Perth is our 2nd biggest footy city. It clearly should have had 3 teams before now.

Playing more games in the huge new stadium would be good for the game. The GF was a winner & showed just how good the stadium is.

We should have had Canberra by now as well, let alone Tas1. ;)

Speaking of this are there any teams in the wafl that would have enough support if they were introduced as an afl side? I don't think we could afford to have a club start from scratch it wouldn't build enough support with the other two having so much of a head start. Maybe our w.a friends can share if there would be any feasible option?

Think it would have to be West Perth or East Perth. No real clash with nickname of any existing club in league, does not clash with Fremantle name and has the city name of Perth in it, even it has to be East or West.
Not sure if really feasible but better option than a 3rd team starting up from there with no name already.

Actually could be all 3 of the perth clubs in a perth united type set up.

I agree that a 3rd team in WA would be the best option on a financially level, but wouldn't a team based in ACT make more sense on improving the participation/viewership rates of the sport and to weaken the NRL footprint on the territory and make it an AFL town as a result (albeit Manuka Oval would definitely need a massive upgrade to 25,000 - 30,000).

After Tasmania & Canberra have a professional team in the AFL/AFLW and the competition stays as that for 10-15 years, I would then bring a 3rd WA team (Perth) and a 3rd NSW team (North Sydney) into the competition, before SA3 & QLD3/NT1 comes into the AFL later on (15-20 years) to create a complete "national" 24 team AFL competition for both male/female players alike.

Another team in WA will need a following & there arent many current fans not following a team. It would take 20 years + to break even.
All these extra players are playing in the 2nd tier & despite Subi winning 5 flags in 8 years, there simply isnt the depth that some want to believe is there.

We would end up with the public demanding Origin where the best players compete as they did in the State League days. That would be the elite competition that the national league was meant to be & we are heading towards a Foxtel Cup comp with more meaningless games.

It's interesting to see that part of what Alistair Clarkson will be doing is laying out what infrastructure a Tassie team will need. I think a high performance centre is one of the most important things and I look forward to seeing where he recommends this gets built,this is definitely a very important part of any AFL team and will need to be located in the right place.

Actually could be all 3 of the perth clubs in a perth united type set up.
Do not see the appeal. It just would be like West Coast. A franchise with no history just appealing to people living in Perth to follow them. But those types already have chosen West Coast.

Better off going with an existing club if going to have a 3rd club there as a point of difference.

I cannot see it happening.
A club from Canberra would be about the only chance of 20th club after Tassie in any time frame that before 2035.

I think it more likely we will just be running with 19 clubs once Tassie comes in and no real need for 20th club.
If it only to make it an even number of clubs, it not a strong enough reason.

Do not see the appeal. It just would be like West Coast. A franchise with no history just appealing to people living in Perth to follow them. But those types already have chosen West Coast.

Better off going with an existing club if going to have a 3rd club there as a point of difference.

A club from Canberra would be about the only chance of 20th club after Tassie in any time frame that before 2035.

I think it more likely we will just be running with 19 clubs once Tassie comes in and no real need for 20th club.
Do you think that is a reason the AFL will not bring in a Tassie team ?

It's interesting to see that part of what Alistair Clarkson will be doing is laying out what infrastructure a Tassie team will need. I think a high performance centre is one of the most important things and I look forward to seeing where he recommends this gets built,this is definitely a very important part of any AFL team and will need to be located in the right place.

The head of the Tasmanian bid (Brett Godfrey) indicated the base for the TasTeam should be in Hobart. That is because of the necessary logistics & facilities to host a team, support staff & associated families. Hobart has Tasmania's only tertiary level Hospital with an array of specialists, also private Hospitals, allied health etc.

The Tas Uni Sandy Bay campus site has been mentioned. Most of Tas Uni has moved out so it'd be a suitable spot for it.

In your opinion then, where do you think the 20th team would be located/based cause I mean the AFL (most likely) would want an even amount of teams ASAP in the competition and avoid clubs having a weekly bye throughout the regular season as such?
Why do you think that the bye is a huge issue? There are already two byes during the season (mid year over 3/4 rounds and pre-finals).

The head of the Tasmanian bid (Brett Godfrey) indicated the base for the TasTeam should be in Hobart. That is because of the necessary logistics & facilities to host a team, support staff & associated families. Hobart has Tasmania's only tertiary level Hospital with an array of specialists, also private Hospitals, allied health etc.

The Tas Uni Sandy Bay campus site has been mentioned. Most of Tas Uni has moved out so it'd be a suitable spot for it.
I fully agree it should be based in Hobart but I know the North is constantly saying how it needs to be up here in the north so I can tell you they won't give up without a fight.

Source?

People such as, recorded where?
I just hear a lot making comments on social media that it should be based at UTAS due to the location but I Definitly agree it should be based in the capital and will happily travel once a month from Scottsdale to the Hobart games.

Subi have won 5 out of the last 8 WAFL GFs. As a life long supporter, I can assure you selecting them is not the way to go.

Freo has a great footy tradition, was the obvious decision for the 2nd club, there is not another obvious choice.

Another club needs to fit into the WAFC plan for footy, not the old 1900s model that reflects the Victorian mindset, e.g franchise/club.

Subi have won 5 out of the last 8 WAFL GFs. As a life long supporter, I can assure you selecting them is not the way to go.
Yeah, I do not either. I think if any existing club was to have even a remote chance, it would have to be East or West Perth but even then it probably too late.
If done early 90's maybe some hope but three decades on doubt their enough latent base for either club to be realistic now.

I don’t see an odd number of teams being a problem.

If anything it is a benefit, by the flexibility it provides of fixturing the bye team onto a Thursday night game.

I think, if the number of teams were to become even again, it would be as a result of merging two Victorian teams*, rather than introducing a 20th team.

Perhaps a big reason some people subconsciously don’t like an odd number of teams, and subsequently don’t like an individual Tasmanian team, is that it does pose an increased threat of culling a Vic team.

* This does not mean I advocate for the culling of Vic teams, just that I see it more likely to occur than a 20th team anywhere. However I think an odd number of teams is ok.

Politically they might get the support of a few pollies & the Launy City Council Burghers, but logistically they have no case.

Its really a matter of having enough support facilities for a new club. Hobart is simply the better option.

I just hear a lot making comments on social media that it should be based at UTAS due to the location but I Definitly agree it should be based in the capital and will happily travel once a month from Scottsdale to the Hobart games.

As far as the games go, It's still planned to split the games. Initially an upgrade of York park will see it attract the bigger games.

Launceston to Scottsdale is about an hour. Add another 2 hrs to Hobart.

You can make it a weekend away!!