Opinion Which club do you hate the most?

Which club do you hate the most?

West Coast- Fan base has a real superiority complex and I hated the actual team from the mid 2000s for two obvious reasons.

Hawthorn is the same but for last decade. But they are second because I don't have to put up with them as much being on the other side of the country. Additional points for Jeff Kennett though, horrible person.

Giants are third , local rivals and they are a mongrel team, but I commend them for being relevant and good enough to build a genuine Sydney rivalry everyone can get behind.

In 2004 I started experiencing my first real hatred of a club; Geelong. The Saints and Cats had a great rivalry as both teams climbed the ladder.

That was put to bed after the 2009 GF when the Cats proved they were the better team with a 2nd flag.

Going into 2010 I absolutely hated Collingwood. Almost entirely because of the Luke Ball saga. They won a flag though so fine. I move on.

Now it's the Bulldogs. The other team stuck on 1 flag. Both of us are going through rebuilds with new coaches. Race is on for flag #2. Dogs sack their coach and trade out Cooney, Higgins and their captain in Ryan Griffen. HAHA They are stuffed!! They win the 2016 flag.

Well now it's time to hate Melbourne. We have the wood over them at Marvel too. Longest flag drought in the comp. Long may it reign. I hope we belt them every time we match up! What do you mean they dominated 2021 and won the flag by 12 goals? How can I hate them now?

So to answer the question: St Kilda. I ******* HATE St Kilda for everything they've put me through. Piss-ant club will never achieve anything in my lifetime. Losers.
Please never hate Carlton or Essendon

I don’t actually think Melbourne is such a small club.

I might might biased but I actually think we're the biggest of the 4 small Victorian clubs. When we're firing, we get damn good crowds. I think in 2018 home and away we had 37k against GWS and only Collingwood had beaten that crowd against GWS (at the time anyway). And in 2018 we were Involved in 4 of the biggest crowds that year
We just haven't been good pre covid to get our biggest crowds.

In 2004 I started experiencing my first real hatred of a club; Geelong. The Saints and Cats had a great rivalry as both teams climbed the ladder.

That was put to bed after the 2009 GF when the Cats proved they were the better team with a 2nd flag.

Going into 2010 I absolutely hated Collingwood. Almost entirely because of the Luke Ball saga. They won a flag though so fine. I move on.

Now it's the Bulldogs. The other team stuck on 1 flag. Both of us are going through rebuilds with new coaches. Race is on for flag #2. Dogs sack their coach and trade out Cooney, Higgins and their captain in Ryan Griffen. HAHA They are stuffed!! They win the 2016 flag.

Well now it's time to hate Melbourne. We have the wood over them at Marvel too. Longest flag drought in the comp. Long may it reign. I hope we belt them every time we match up! What do you mean they dominated 2021 and won the flag by 12 goals? How can I hate them now?

So to answer the question: St Kilda. I ******* HATE St Kilda for everything they've put me through. Piss-ant club will never achieve anything in my lifetime. Losers.
That’s escalated quickly.

You must be a meth head.

I seriously don’t get why this garbage gets thrown around.

Despite being a lifelong fan I had never been to Geelong until a few years ago.

The whole area is fantastic. Wow, an area of 200,000 or so people has drug users. Amazing. I bet there are 0 in Melbourne

You must live in hell PB. Sorry for you. 😩

What’s so bad about it?

Oh no, it has really nice beaches, a fenced off pool area in the bay, a nice promenade to walk around, jetties, fishing, some decent pubs and cafes, and a whole tonne of little satellite towns that are bloody beautiful.

‘Oh but it doesn’t have Crown Casino, coffee which for some reason half the known w***er universe actually think tastes better in Melbourne than everywhere else even though it doesn’t, shops I’ll never ever be able to afford to go into, trams, and the alleged total lack of drugs or crime that Melbourne does. How does anyone cope there.’

As I said I don’t get it. It’s like a nicer version of the central coast but gets a rep as some sort of meth ruined shithole even though Sydney is crawling with junkies, Melbourne is a hotbed of organised crime, most towns across rural NSW and Victoria are meth havens anyway, Newcastle and Wollongong are both nice enough but even more industrial than Geelong. It makes no sense to me and that’s irrespective of the fact that I go for their footy team. I go for the Roosters too but I couldn’t possibly list all the things I hate about the eastern suburbs of sydney

What’s so bad about it?

Oh no, it has really nice beaches, a fenced off pool area in the bay, a nice promenade to walk around, jetties, fishing, some decent pubs and cafes, and a whole tonne of little satellite towns that are bloody beautiful.

‘Oh but it doesn’t have Crown Casino, coffee which for some reason half the known w***er universe actually think tastes better in Melbourne than everywhere else even though it doesn’t, shops I’ll never ever be able to afford to go into, trams, and the alleged total lack of drugs or crime that Melbourne does. How does anyone cope there.’

As I said I don’t get it. It’s like a nicer version of the central coast but gets a rep as some sort of meth ruined shithole even though Sydney is crawling with junkies, Melbourne is a hotbed of organised crime, most towns across rural NSW and Victoria are meth havens anyway, Newcastle and Wollongong are both nice enough but even more industrial than Geelong. It makes no sense to me and that’s irrespective of the fact that I go for their footy team. I go for the Roosters too but I couldn’t possibly list all the things I hate about the eastern suburbs of sydney
Its basically a wind swept Frankston without the nice beaches or scenery of the Central Coast, and about 10-15 degrees colder than Newcastle most days, apart from maybe 8 times a year. I could go on about the needles everywhere, other aspects but enough said.

Wow, didn't know so many hate Essendon as much as I do...especially in 2021...when they've been a joke for the last 2 decades.

What’s so bad about it?

They started building by-pass roads around Geelong before they were even a thing.

To be honest I have never been to Crown Casino, and likely never will. I don’t drink coffee though my overseas guests when I take them to Melbourne for whatever reason rave about the coffee. I don’t get it, but it seems that is real. I have never been to Sydney sober, and as a Victorian, the thought of doing so appalls me. I have actually been into the CBD of Geelong once, years ago. Middle of the day, I was alone, foolishly decided to go into some sort of bogan 1960’s style diner/cafe type place for a sandwich and milkshake. Minding my own business was enough justification for some local clown to pick a fight with me. I could tell he was a local because he picked a fight with me. He got a sore leg out of that but importantly I didn’t spill my milkshake. 😁

Anyway, I am not the type that requires multiple invitations to exclude destinations from my itinerary.

Geelong has its uses though. Over this side of the bay we get our weather via Geelong. If they survive, we pretty much know we will be ok. If they don’t survive well we can always start again over there and try something new, and better. The latter being automatic. 😂

The other great thing about Geelong of course is if you ever want to refresh your list with draft picks, you just send them some overpaid 30yo and they oblige. 😍

In all seriousness, the west coast of Victoria is a great place and of course Geelong is on the doorstep. My contacts over there do tell me Geelong’s reputation as a drug haven is well earned though, sadly. 😩

They started building by-pass roads around Geelong before they were even a thing.

To be honest I have never been to Crown Casino, and likely never will. I don’t drink coffee though my overseas guests when I take them to Melbourne for whatever reason rave about the coffee. I don’t get it, but it seems that is real. I have never been to Sydney sober, and as a Victorian, the thought of doing so appalls me. I have actually been into the CBD of Geelong once, years ago. Middle of the day, I was alone, foolishly decided to go into some sort of bogan 1960’s style diner/cafe type place for a sandwich and milkshake. Minding my own business was enough justification for some local clown to pick a fight with me. I could tell he was a local because he picked a fight with me. He got a sore leg out of that but importantly I didn’t spill my milkshake. 😁

Anyway, I am not the type that requires multiple invitations to exclude destinations from my itinerary.

Geelong has its uses though. Over this side of the bay we get our weather via Geelong. If they survive, we pretty much know we will be ok. If they don’t survive well we can always start again over there and try something new, and better. The latter being automatic. 😂

The other great thing about Geelong of course is if you ever want to refresh your list with draft picks, you just send them some overpaid 30yo and they oblige. 😍

In all seriousness, the west coast of Victoria is a great place and of course Geelong is on the doorstep. My contacts over there do tell me Geelong’s reputation as a drug haven is well earned though, sadly. 😩

Look it probably is but as I said just about everywhere you go outside of the capital cities has that counting against it too. I come from a town called Forbes a few hours west of the blue mountains and it is God’s country. But if you go to the wrong neighbourhood you’d question why anyone would ever even stop there for fuel

Does that put you into the Forbes 100 rich list if you own a property? 😁

Mate even if i don’t own one I’d probably qualify for the town’s rich list…

Reading about Forbes I realise it is in the heart of Clancy of the Overflow country. I should visit the area one day, I have always loved all the poems of Banjo Paterson and others that constantly referenced the area. I always think Australia’s country towns are massively under-rated. In the UK where I have spent a lot of time nothing like our country towns exists, and the place is the poorer for it. We are fortunate here in that way, you could quit an average property in an ok suburb in one of our cities and go and live in some beautiful old colonial cottage or even mansion in one of our nice country towns, and probably have plenty of change into the bargain. You can probably bet that will be my fate one day. 😁

Mate I’m biased because I’ve lived all my life in central west NSW (Forbes, Dubbo, Bathurst) but rural Australia is the greatest place in the world. Ben Hall is a big part of the local history, rugby league and union are seared into the local psyche.

We lost a handful of lads in Bali which Galvanised the place and a year later the rugby club that they all played for beat the super-clubs from Bathurst, Orange and Dubbo (towns of 40-45,000 people, Forbes is 8000) and it is that sort of thing that drives the place. I love going home and walking into the pub and seeing the same blokes that mentored me through cricket as a kid still at the same spots at the bar they were in when I left. Going into a shop knowing that I’ll be related to at least one of the staff. The Lachlan river adds to it, wetting a line near the farm where I grew up, with my kids and my dad when we go to visit is money can’t buy sort of stuff.