Player Watch 2021 AFL National Draft - NOT FOR TRADE DISCUSSION

What should we do withs Pick 5, 21 and 24?

Let’s stick with a basic rule for this thread, that it’s for draft watch and discussion only.

It’s not for trade hypotheticals, who you think needs to be delisted or traded, how many games you think we will win, some other team will win, how many picks you want in the 1st round or discussion of current HFC players.

It’s about youngsters who are eligible for the draft in 2021.

Key dates to look out for:
  • NAB AFL Draft Combine: TBC
  • NAB AFL Draft: Wednesday November 24 - Thursday November 25
  • NAB AFL Pre-season and Rookie Drafts: Friday November 26

Sam Banks is a good Tassie player, has played HBF recently, but is good in the midfield and wing too(my favourite games ive seen him in was in the midfield, kicked a ridiculous goal from the centre circle against Oakleigh once), heres an interview with him, another Hawk Supporter as well. (Banks, Ward, Sheldrick, Browne, Soligo all Hawk Supporting prospects)

Whoever picks up this kid will be getting an absolute bargain. If he didn’t break his wrist earlier in the season, he would of pushed into top 15 of this years draft. Was dominating pre injury. Probably the best and accurate ‘long’ kick in this years draft, right and left foot.

Here is a question for people saying 'only' mids at first choice and not best available.

If Will day MK2 in talent is on the board at pick 5 (7) do you pull the trigger or pick a mid?

Remembering the mids in his range were (dev Robertson, cooper Stephens)... We didn't need a HBF, but here we are.... Very satisfied

In the first round it's talent when you are in our list position. Melbourne were a different kettle of fish when they started picking off types in the draft (i.e. heaps of talent already on the list)

Here is a question for people saying 'only' mids at first choice and not best available.

If Will day MK2 in talent is on the board at pick 5 (7) do you pull the trigger or pick a mid?

Remembering the mids in his range were (dev Robertson, cooper Stephens)... We didn't need a HBF, but here we are.... Very satisfied

In the first round it's talent when you are in our list position. Melbourne were a different kettle of fish when they started picking off types in the draft (i.e. heaps of talent already on the list)
Interesting. The other question would be if we had Pick 5 in Will Days’ draft would we have pulled the trigger on him. I’m not sure !? Tom Green / Caleb Serong !?

This is why I think the AFL needs to move towards being able to allowing kids to be on traded on throughout the draft. For example GWS pick Callaghan with pick 2 and then have a deal set up with us or another club that selects Andrew. Once Andrew is selected it is then announced that he has been traded to GWS and Callaghan to us or another club. This way GWS get the player they want and another asset or 2 for their trouble of trading down. Having it this way would assure they don’t miss out on their target.
Is that actually within the rules to trade a player as soon as you’ve drafted him ?? I know they do it in the NBA.

Interesting. The other question would be if we had Pick 5 in Will Days’ draft would we have pulled the trigger on him. I’m not sure !? Tom Green / Caleb Serong !?
Yeh for sure. I reckon it depends on what our talent order was. Very possible it wouldn't have been day at that spot.

I think it's highly unlikely we go tall because I think best available at our pick will be a mid, but who knows how the club is actually ranking these blokes.

It has to be best available. Sinn, ward, Hobbs or whoever it is we rate best. No need to second guess. Just pull the trigger.

Haven’t been keeping up with the draft as much this year, any idea which players we are looking to pick up?

There was an AFL.com article directly after that draft that said the Giants toyed with taking Day at 5.

Curious about the thoughts of this boards' draft enthusiasts, and those who watched him in the champs and grand final day exhibition, on Arthur Jones.

I saw him as very very raw physically and with game sense also. His contested side in the champs game was horrible and in the exhibition he had a dip but was still undersized.

I think he is also a super intriguing prospect. He has electric speed and awesome game agility. Kicking skills are mostly good but a bit inconsistent. He really plays like a Brad Hill clone for mine and similar to lachie bramble but more a forward.

I watched him matched up on NWM and I would argue he had the slightly better game. NWM carved it open with his kicking but Jones' speed and line breaking was a massive x-factor also.

I just wonder with recruiters these days loving high impact players with big scope at AFL level. Kid also ran a 6:30 2km so has a solid endurance base to go with the speed.

The question I have, is how high people think a bloke like this could climb draft day?
In my own opinion, I see him as a very very very Richmond player and don't think he gets through their second rounders.

This is higher than what most probably have him but curious what others reckon?

Exactly. And no amateurs had him near the top 10
I didn't even like the guy until 3rd viewing of his highlights, then I saw how clever he was with his ball use and understood the rumours pre-draft.

Just one point though - Day is not a HBF.
He plays the game all over the park and will become our dominant player within 12 months or so IMO.

Rachele is still my pick…
Gibcus at out first pick, if that’s who the club rates highest, would certainly leave me with some speculation on the future of Sicily.
I think at the end of the 2022 season if we pick up Gibcus, DGB will be playing full back and Sicily CHB with Gibcus as the third tall.
Sicily as a RFA is worth his weight on gold for a top 10 compo pick next season. If we finish bottom 5 and lose Sicily we will have 2 top 10 picks.
I’d love for the club to grab Rachele, Erasmus or Sinn because in 2 years time our mid stocks look pretty ordinary. In saying that with a selection of Gibcus this season and 2 top 10 mids next season if Sicily leaves, we would probably be in a better position with our list management on a 3-5 year plan having a solid-elite defence, attacking half back line, competitive midfield with elite kids coming in, 🤞🏼 A ruck that can win a tap to advantage consistently and a young forward line that has enough tricks to kick 100 points.
Again, Rachele is my pick but if Gibcus is rated and selected I’ll be fine with it if we can nab a midfield slider or a Dimond in the rough a bit later.

Rachele is still my pick…
Gibcus at out first pick, if that’s who the club rates highest, would certainly leave me with some speculation on the future of Sicily.
I think at the end of the 2022 season if we pick up Gibcus, DGB will be playing full back and Sicily CHB with Gibcus as the third tall.
Sicily as a RFA is worth his weight on gold for a top 10 compo pick next season. If we finish bottom 5 and lose Sicily we will have 2 top 10 picks.
I’d love for the club to grab Rachele, Erasmus or Sinn because in 2 years time our mid stocks look pretty ordinary. In saying that with a selection of Gibcus this season and 2 top 10 mids next season if Sicily leaves, we would probably be in a better position with our list management on a 3-5 year plan having a solid-elite defence, attacking half back line, competitive midfield with elite kids coming in, 🤞🏼 A ruck that can win a tap to advantage consistently and a young forward line that has enough tricks to kick 100 points.
Again, Rachele is my pick but if Gibcus is rated and selected I’ll be fine with it if we can nab a midfield slider or a Dimond in the rough a bit later.

Yeah I love Rachele. But what do I know. I loved Hollands last year.
If Rachele has the potential to be a game winner likeToby Greene then I think he will be the best available. It's a bit "if" though.

Yeah I love Rachele. But what do I know. I loved Hollands last year.
If Rachele has the potential to be a game winner likeToby Greene then I think he will be the best available. It's a bit "if" though.
FWIW don't sleep on Hollands. As long as health permits that kid will still be star.