Did Someone Say KFC?

Good question.

Consider that there is more to sponsorship than simply providing billboard space. The sponsor is attaching their brand to the brand of the footy club. It’s why the sponsors get upset when a club they are sponsoring has negative PR around their brand values (racism, sexism, etc). And it goes both ways. I can’t think of any real world examples, but a fictional example was in the plot of this season of Ted Lasso. So a new sponsorship deal is a marriage of sorts. A polygamous marriage where there is a stable of sponsors which all need to get along and have compatible values. To cite an obvious example, can’t reasonably take money from the Victorian Responsible Gaming Foundation (as we do) and Sportsbet at the same time.

Brand is identity. Passionate fans have a sense of their own identity tied up in the brand of the footy club. If you were instead a St Kilda or WCE supporter, you wouldn’t be the same person.

So if the identity of the passionate fan is tied up in some way with the identity (brand) of their footy club, and the brand of a footy club is tied up with the brand of sponsors, ergo the passionate fan is reasonably entitled to an opinion about the sponsors …

… because it can feed into our own sense of self.

If it didn’t work that way, then sponsors would simply save themselves a tonne of cash and buy billboard space instead.

Well laid out.

For all of us, the club is at a genuine crossroads in its history.

For too long, it’s been at the receiving end of all the thinly veiled swipes at our working class heritage, and the toothless bogan jokes as long as I can remember.

It’s hard to declare “I’m a proud Collingwood supporter” wholeheartedly without the inevitable reactions. Had enough of it. I’m sure you have too.

After years of (perceived) off-field and on-field turmoil - the club goes through a review, a public shake up.

A once-in-a-generation opportunity comes along in 2021 for the club to reset, recast, rebrand and represent itself as a new premier, upstanding outfit. What an opportunity we have together.

Club signs a promising new coaching team.
Is about to vote in a promising president.
About to pick up a promising, once-in-a- generation player.

…..And then signs on with the quintessential bogan fast food franchise.

As the Premier partner. Front of the jumper.

Did the commercial team read the room on this at all, or is this on brand for Collingwood these days?

For those who watched the announcement, it felt like we bent the knee on this one.

Sure it’s a post COVID world out there, and money helps sure, but club reputation is everything.

I’ve read both sides of the argument on here, and appreciate how the club identity is seen from different perspectives.

The deal means something different to everyone. I expected more from the club at such a critical juncture.

Thanks to all contributors. I’ll always demand the best outcomes for our club.

Eat plenty of meat, red meat, white meat, fish. Will be going the full monty for Christmas - Roast pork, turkey, ham.

If you consider whatever it is KFC peddle to be a consumerable standard of meat, by all means, go for it.

Good on you, maybe i should add some emojis next time I was of course being sarcastic.

Point is people love to whine about everything on here, instead of just being happy the club has secured a good deal and profitable sponsor who can pay.

As to what "tastes good" well its subjective, also KFC source its chicken from Ingham chicken farms fwiw at least they did.

Maybe you're thinking of Macca's and HJacks who have that fake paste stuff?

Well laid out.

For too long, it’s been at the receiving end of all the thinly veiled swipes at our working class heritage, and the toothless bogan jokes as long as I can remember.

It’s hard to declare “I’m a proud Collingwood supporter” wholeheartedly without the inevitable reactions. Had enough of it. I’m sure you have too.

After years of (perceived) off-field and on-field turmoil - the club goes through a review, a public shake up.

A once-in-a-generation opportunity comes along in 2021 for the club to reset, recast, rebrand and represent itself as a new premier, upstanding outfit. What an opportunity we have together.

Did the commercial team read the room on this at all, or is this on brand for Collingwood these days?

For those who watched the announcement, it felt like we bent the knee on this one.

Sure it’s a post COVID world out there, and money helps sure, but club reputation is everything.

I’ve read both sides of the argument on here, and appreciate how the club identity is seen from different perspectives.

The deal means something different to everyone. I expected more from the club at such a critical juncture.

So you want away from the working class roots aka Bogans and into wine sipping suit wearing stuck up tossers?

Gotcha.

Lack of moving, driving kids everywhere, the demise of the vege patch, parents working all day, cheap available processed food, the list goes on. Fast food is just part of the equation and can’t be singled out for obesity, most of it is a bad lifestyle choice if you eat this regularly. But we all seem to need something to blame for our own failings.

Spot on.

Why not represent everyone that includes the Simps and the bogans and the rest of the culture pots too.

Personally, I just see Pies fans. Every club has their bogans and their toffs.

We have the best fans, the funniest fans. We ‘get it’. We have leverage, I hate it when we don’t use it.

Fair dinkum.. like.. a Collingwood membership that entitles you to a 5% discount or whatever on a schnitz burger.. ohh ohh.. ohh ohh.. imma rush to KFC every day now and that re.. for crying out loud. Mate.. think of it as a test.. a test of the values that have been inculcated within you.. not about you.. but within you.. generationally and that re.. what do you do.. do you give in to the temptation to launch into a schnitz burger every day.. or do you go home and prepare yourself a nice meal.. the onus is on you.

Hmm your other posts suggests otherwise.

And I’m happy to clarify straight up. It’s always easier in conversation hey?

Collingwood fans are all tarred by others as bogans. We sign KFC. Fuel to the fire 🔥

We didn’t need to buy the fuel.

I had a KFC for the first time in decades today. Zinger burger after doing plenty of manual work, not eating much and then being in the car. Was pretty tasty.

Go Pies.

Yes the most important thing is, in the end, a lucrative deal for the club. They will certainly make much more than they lose from the deal and I hope at the negotiating table they rolled them in breadcrumbs and dropped them in the deep fryer.
Personally I don’t like being aligned with a crappy brand and product and certainly won’t be buying a cap or polo with KFC brands on it to wear but I’m sure my few dollars in lost revenue in not going to cause any great ripples.
Be happy enough to see a black and white KFC flag flying after winning the premiership that’s for sure but I hope Pendles doesn’t do a ‘Whiskas’ and change his name to Zinger for the season.

Well laid out.

I would prefer that we retained the image of a working class team and having KFC as a sponsor certainly helps in that regard.

Any logo on footy gear looks sh*t. The names given to stadiums which change with the sponsors are sh*t. The commercialisation of the game and many other things in life is sh*t. Which is why I don't care much who sponsors our club. I don't like the logos on merchandise or the players costumes but it's a fact of life now.
Aren’t the “Hard Yakka” jumpers highly valued?

I'm not thrilled about fast food in general sponsoring AFL.

I wouldn't buy merch with KFC on it because I don't think KFC has high welfare standards at all–for both the animals and workers. Know a few mates who work there and they say it's a bad environment. Would happily quit if they could get another job. But it pays the bills. There were better options available that weren't already in use by other clubs, too.

Curious to see whether any players take a stand. Chris Mayne probably wouldn't have been doing any promotional shoots if he was still playing, that's for sure.

Collingwood fans are all tarred by others as bogans. We sign KFC. Fuel to the fire 🔥

We didn’t need to buy the fuel.

Of course we didn’t need to buy the fuel …

… it was provided free of charge by our sponsor ‘United’!

I'm not thrilled about fast food in general sponsoring AFL.

I wouldn't buy merch with KFC on it because I don't think KFC has high welfare standards at all–for both the animals and workers. Know a few mates who work there and they say it's a bad environment. Would happily quit if they could get another job. But it pays the bills. There were better options available that weren't already in use by other clubs, too.

Curious to see whether any players take a stand. Chris Mayne probably wouldn't have been doing any promotional shoots if he was still playing, that's for sure.
What's the story with Chris Mayne? Of all our players, he would be the one who most resembles a chook, but maybe it's my wild imagination.