Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
17 other clubs pass.How the fu** do we get Gibcus/Erasmus and Draper? That's 3 guys rated top 10-15 most of the year...
I hope they do!
Prefer BaltaI heard a little whisper that we may actually see Gibcus with a future at the opposite end of the ground….
Maybe ended up a full time ruck at Geelong but he spent a fair chunk of time forward for ustry ruckman
No, you generally dont take a ruck with early picks. KPP'S depends who is best available and the ability within each tier. Tier 2 is about pick 5 to late 20s for this draft, gradually tapering off. If they rate Amiss ahead of mids at 9 and can load up on mids at 17 and late 20s its an overall better net gain.I am super NOT keen on Amiss.
First of all, how often do tall forwards come on, really? Unless there is one impossible to pass up, you're just as likely to find a good one in the second or third round than you are in the first round. Outside of Jack Riewoldt we haven't drafted a good tall forward basically in my life. Richo was father/son. I know those two are at the very high end but we have had basically no one else in my life. Is this bad drafting or are good tall forwards just super hard to find? Is it thus worth wasting a great draft hand on one?
Amiss would be a risk for go-home factor, a risk because he may just not make it at AFL level, and a waste because he does not improve us in the now, he'll only play in a couple of years.
We are in the good (or awkward?) position where we have a team capable of a flag but also close to needing a rebuild. So what is this team's most obvious weakness, one clearly not having been addressable by its own depth players (clearly shown by our sh*t 2021), and one that if we address we can possibly be the best team again in 2022? THE MIDFIELD. Look at every game we lost, we got farking wrecked in the midfield, losing disposal counts and contested possessions by heaps. We weren't pressuring anymore so teams just wrecked us at times, stand rule aside. We had injuries but still, the midfield was horrible. Amiss will not solve this any more than our depth will.
Draft and list strategy should be midfielders and key defenders (these seem to come on way more often than key forwards) and, if you don't get lucky to draft a tall forward (say, in the second round) that becomes capable of finals-level footy after 2-4 years in the system, you poach someone.
- Us with Lynch
- Melbourne with Brown
- Even Essendon (I seethe at typing that word) with the more-than-serviceable and cheap-as-chips Peter Wright
Once you have an established engine room and defence, poach someone established (Brown) or even fringe (Wright) that you know can play, it doesn't even need to be a big money Tom Lynch type. If you're lucky you might still have drafted someone fairly decent (eg. Tom McDonald) along the way. But you won't have built that gun engine room by wasting top picks on guys like Shache, McCartin, Watts, Vickery, Gumbleton, McBean, Brander, Fogarty, Coleman-Jones...
Anyway I digress sorry, I'm just saying that for both now and the future it's the midfield we need to buff. Tall forwards are a much bigger risk in the early picks. Amiss should be given a miss.
We have enough quality selections to get quality mids and KPP's. If we are smart.Agreed, we need to get top end mids.
No, you generally dont take a ruck with early picks. KPP'S depends who is best available and the ability within each tier. Tier 2 is about pick 5 to late 20s for this draft, gradually tapering off. If they rate Amiss ahead of mids at 9 and can load up on mids at 17 and late 20s its an overall better net gain.
I’m 34 and we’ve drafted 2 really good forwards in my life. Two! Hogg (did we draft him, I don’t even know, he left when I was young) and Riewoldt. You could argue we paid less attention to it whilst Richo (father son) was so awesome, yet we still sucked anyway didn’t we, so it’s not like we did well drafting in other areas.
Anyway let’s be a tad more recent. Since drafting Riewoldt (now a 300+ gamer) we’ve drafted a grand total of zero good tall forwards. Zero! Not for a lack of trying either. To me this says that we either suck at drafting them OR they’re really hard to produce to the level you really want or need to win finals.
So I say poach them rather than drafting them, you get a better strike rate with midfielders and defenders.
Exactly.anybody can load up on mids every year
Exactly.
Its not that we get em wrong it is where we have generally taken them and we have taken so few.I’m 34 and we’ve drafted 2 really good forwards in my life. Two! Hogg (did we draft him, I don’t even know, he left when I was young) and Riewoldt. You could argue we paid less attention to it whilst Richo (father son) was so awesome, yet we still sucked anyway didn’t we, so it’s not like we did well drafting in other areas.
Anyway let’s be a tad more recent. Since drafting Riewoldt (now a 300+ gamer) we’ve drafted a grand total of zero good tall forwards. Zero! Not for a lack of trying either. To me this says that we either suck at drafting them OR they’re really hard to produce to the level you really want or need to win finals.
So I say poach them rather than drafting them, you get a better strike rate with midfielders and defenders.
Its not that we get em wrong it is where we have generally taken them and we have taken so few.
Since 2000 in the actual NDhere is a list of young talls we have drafted
2000 - 0
01 - 0
02 - Schulz 12 was imo a decent kpf
03 - 0
04 - Pattison 16, McGuane 36, Limbach 52. Pattison half kpp half ruck not quite either
05 - Hughes 24
06 - Riewoldt 13 a big tick
07 - Rance 18.a big tick
08 - Vickery 8 Half ruckman half fwd not quite either
09 - Griffiths 19 another half and half. Astbury 35 a good pick
10 - 0 We did take Grimes in the PSD we did not see fit to take him in the nd i put him here because he was a young psd pick.
11 - Elton 26 sheesh another half kpp half ruck.
12 - McBean 33 and it continues half ruck half fwd.
13- 0
14 - McKenzie 77
15 - 0
16 - Garthwaite 72
17 - CC-J 20 you guessed it another half and half. Balta 25. Miller 63
18 - 0
19 - Nyuon 54
20 - Ryan 40 is he another half and half but not quite either.
In the last eight drafts we have only used 7 ND PICKS on talls.. Only two have been top 30 picks with Balta at 25 and CC-J 20 not surprising they have both looked the most likely.
Overall while there are certainly plenty of busts with good picks it has been the better picks in the main that have snared us our better tall players.
Also looking at that people can see why i am a bit gun shy when it comes to very tall players who project as both rucks and fwds.
Maybe ended up a full time ruck at Geelong but he spent a fair chunk of time forward for us
Johnson thanks.Looks like we'll have a choice between Hobbs Johnson Gibcus

Dusty only had 8 in his vfl debut.
Sorry too hear mate.Yep. My dog died a couple of days ago and I'm a little drunk and just shooting from the hip. #devilmaycare
"We are now joined by the coach of the <insert club name here> who has been all about.bringing the fun back to the club so far in the offseason. Coach, how on earth did you come up with this approach, and is it true that <insert captains name here> might even tell a few cheeky jokes at the team huddles on match day???"Can't wait for tomorrow's night draft extravaganza
Shifta sheehan rating every single player a great pick up potential star
The riveting interviews with the draftees parents
The over analizing of players by the expert panel
Just dragging everything out to something it's not
Trying to copy the u.s , wish I could fast forward live t.v to our picks can't wait![]()
Lukosius won't be playing as backman for long and his defensive skills aren't that good. If Gold Coast could get Gibcus that would give their Astbury (Collins), Grimes (Ballard) and Rance (Gibcus) triumvirate. It will also depend on what they are getting for nothing from the AFL this year due to their zone.Id be gobsmacked for the opposite reasons.
They have two very solid KPD'S in Collins and Ballard. They even have 195cm Lukosious playing the third tall role.
They also have the veteran Rory Thompson who has missed the last two seasons with injury but is great cover if injury does hit and he is fit.
They also have a decent utility in Burgess who started as A DEFENDER but pinch hits wherever he is needed even in the ruck. This happened because Collins and Ballard pushed him into the other roles.
They also have a few kids in development as well.
Not sure what Budarick has to do with it he is a small defender and if honest even if he did not retire Homsch was not going to get a game in front of Ballard, Collins and Lukosius
With the loss of Greenwood thru stupidity i count just 11 mids on their list and i reckon they will be taking one of Callaghan Hobbs imo if the rumours are true Adelaide are into Rachele.