List Mgmt. National & Rookie Draft 2021

I’d like to see Ned Long rookied along with Trent Dumont for some experienced midfield support.

Ok as depth i guess although Long is pretty slow and looks a pretty average kick from what i have seen ,

Jumper Numbers and a time to recognise a few players that StKilda have recognised that they have done the wrong thing by.

Give jumper 32 Terry Milera ex number and Robbie Muir's to NWM if he does not want 7. If he does want it then give 32 to Marcus Windhanger.

Number 7 could go into retirement for a year.

Give 27 to Michito Owen's in recognition and support to Rod Owen.

Jumper 2 in recognition of Garry Sidebottom death this year to Ruckman Tom Campbell also number if Brian Mynott.

Jumper 24 to be recognised as the Golden Fist jumper to Tom Highmore in recognition of Danny Frawley.

Jumper 17 to Cooper Sharman in recognition of Barry Breen and his most significant point in AFL history.

Mason Wood can change to 34 or 13.

Well the last 2 are artistic license but the first two are mandatory musts if we are fair dinkum about bridging the gaps of past administrative failures to support players.

Will even send this idea to St Kilda's assistant receptionist as she is the hub of Saints communications.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Speak highly of NWM

Sam Landsberger’s verdict: The Saints targeted class and desperately wanted a key defender following the retirements of Dylan Roberton, Jake Carlisle and James Frawley. Well, Wanganeen brings the class and Oscar Adams – who travelled nearly five hours from Mt Gambier to play footy each week – is a big backman they can work with, a little bit like Mark Blicavs or ex-Saint Justin Koschitzke. For a club that has long been dudded by the father-son rule it was fitting that Owens and Windhager arrived as academy bargains. Some suspected Owens had spiked so strongly that he might sneak into the top 20, where the Saints would’ve lost access to him.

Reminds me of Marshall travelling 3 hours a week from Portland to play with the Western Jets. I like these stories. It means they have a real desire to play no matter what. No easy road for Adams, long trips every week to play, late pick in the draft, just from that we can glean that he will give it everything to make it. If he doesn't wont be from the lack of trying.

St Kilda has rebuffed Brownlow Medallist Gerard Healy’s criticism of their draft strategy after ignoring a dashing local defender for silky South Australian Nasiah Milera-Wanganeen.

Healy said St Kilda should have weighed the flight risk of selecting Milera-Wanganeen when they selected him at pick 11 when Vic Metro captain Josh Sinn was available at that pick.

Sinn went to Port Adelaide with the No.12 selection, with 3AW’s Healy asking: “Why would you take a wingman from interstate, with all the issues associated with it, when you have a kid in your own heartland – Josh Sinn – who is captain of Sandringham Dragons, captain of Vic Metro, and still available.

“Both of them, I’m sure, are terrific young players. But it doesn’t seem to me that there is enough between them to create all the issues associated with relocation as opposed to sending a bike to the end of South Road.”

St Kilda list boss James Gallagher made clear the Saints were thrilled Milera-Wanganeen was still available at pick 11 and exactly what the club needed given he was so brilliant by foot.

St Kilda has battled with its finishing polish in recent years so Milera-Wanganeen hitting leading targets laces-out is exactly what Brett Ratten requires.

Gallagher said the club backed in its capacity to keep interstate players despite Healy’s critique.

“He wasn’t too far away, Josh, but geography doesn’t play a big role in our recruiting,” Gallagher said.

“We have got a club that people want to stay at. History has shown if they come to our club they don’t want to leave. Josh is a really talented player. Good kid, he has some upside, but we need to bring in elite talent to our club and we have done it.

“It is best available. We had (Nasiah) inside (pick 11). He is exceptionally talented, he is a beautiful mover, very light on his feet, very comfortably the best kick in the draft. That is something we need. Max King is pretty happy to have him at the club. He is a pretty skinny kid. There is enormous growth in him.”

St Kilda was thrilled to secure a pair of NGA talents in fearless wingman Mitch Owens (pick 33) and mid forward Marcus Windhager after matching bids from rival clubs.

The Saints had been nervous a rival might bid on Owens within the first 20 picks, which under new AFL rules would have meant they would have lost him to that team.

Maxy is the big winner out of this draft.

Speak highly of NWM

ST KILDA
11. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (Glenelg/Marion)

187cm, 71kg, Mid

33. Mitchito Owens (Sandringham/Beaumaris)

190cm, 85kg, Forward

47. Marcus Windhager (Sandringham/Beaumaris)

185cm, 85kg, Midfielder

51. Oscar Adams (Glenelg/Compton)

198cm, 85kg, Defender

All eyes on Nasiah, the nephew of 1993 Brownlow Medallist Gavin Wanganeen, who is suddenly a teammate of Jarryn Geary, who played with his father, Terry Milera, only seven years ago. Forget overlooking Josh Sinn and focus on Wanganeen-Milera, who is the best kick of the draft and simply all class. The Saints believe he is deceptively quick once he steps on to some open grass and they can put him on one wing, Bradley Hill on the other and watch Max King’s eyes light up as he leads towards two classy users. Mitchito Owens has shot up 15cm in the past 18 months and the Saints matched a bid for the powerful and brave midfielder, who is half-Japanese, by giving up picks 48 and 54 for Owens and 59.

Sam Landsberger’s verdict: The Saints targeted class and desperately wanted a key defender following the retirements of Dylan Roberton, Jake Carlisle and James Frawley. Well, Wanganeen brings the class and Oscar Adams – who travelled nearly five hours from Mt Gambier to play footy each week – is a big backman they can work with, a little bit like Mark Blicavs or ex-Saint Justin Koschitzke. For a club that has long been dudded by the father-son rule it was fitting that Owens and Windhager arrived as academy bargains. Some suspected Owens had spiked so strongly that he might sneak into the top 20, where the Saints would’ve lost access to him.

Really good write up. Acknowledged the lack of free rides we've received and a subtle jab at Gerard Healy for taking NWM over Sinn.

So we made a huge mistake by taking someone who is a flight risk but Port are genius for taking someone who is a flight risk? 🤪

If Sinn loves is "backyard" so much then he will probably end up at Moorabbin in a few years anyway

Was going to post the exact same thing. Is Healy getting dementia or something. Fair enough the flight risk criticism but to use Sinn as the example who just went to Port Adelaide is just plain ridiculous.

Anyway considering the AFL has ****ed us over numerous times on different things, they might offer him some 'Ambassador' money to stay in two years :rolleyes:

Reminds me of Marshall travelling 3 hours a week from Portland to play with the Western Jets. I like these stories. It means they have a real desire to play no matter what. No easy road for Adams, long trips every week to play, late pick in the draft, just from that we can glean that he will give it everything to make it. If he doesn't wont be from the lack of trying.
Greater Western Victoria (fmr. North Ballarat) Rebels, but yes…

Do we pick up tex Wanganeen (gavs son, nas’ cuz) as a rookie?
Obv wasn’t good enough to merit a father son bid from 2 AFL clubs..

If they turn into stars we'll be massive fans of it.
Nicky Dal probably not getting enough kudos on here for the development of these two. Finnis, on the radio this morning, attributed a lot to him and his team.

St Kilda has rebuffed Brownlow Medallist Gerard Healy’s criticism of their draft strategy after ignoring a dashing local defender for silky South Australian Nasiah Milera-Wanganeen.

Healy said St Kilda should have weighed the flight risk of selecting Milera-Wanganeen when they selected him at pick 11 when Vic Metro captain Josh Sinn was available at that pick.

Sinn went to Port Adelaide with the No.12 selection, with 3AW’s Healy asking: “Why would you take a wingman from interstate, with all the issues associated with it, when you have a kid in your own heartland – Josh Sinn – who is captain of Sandringham Dragons, captain of Vic Metro, and still available.

“Both of them, I’m sure, are terrific young players. But it doesn’t seem to me that there is enough between them to create all the issues associated with relocation as opposed to sending a bike to the end of South Road.”

St Kilda list boss James Gallagher made clear the Saints were thrilled Milera-Wanganeen was still available at pick 11 and exactly what the club needed given he was so brilliant by foot.

St Kilda has battled with its finishing polish in recent years so Milera-Wanganeen hitting leading targets laces-out is exactly what Brett Ratten requires.

Gallagher said the club backed in its capacity to keep interstate players despite Healy’s critique.

“He wasn’t too far away, Josh, but geography doesn’t play a big role in our recruiting,” Gallagher said.

“We have got a club that people want to stay at. History has shown if they come to our club they don’t want to leave. Josh is a really talented player. Good kid, he has some upside, but we need to bring in elite talent to our club and we have done it.

“It is best available. We had (Nasiah) inside (pick 11). He is exceptionally talented, he is a beautiful mover, very light on his feet, very comfortably the best kick in the draft. That is something we need. Max King is pretty happy to have him at the club. He is a pretty skinny kid. There is enormous growth in him.”

St Kilda was thrilled to secure a pair of NGA talents in fearless wingman Mitch Owens (pick 33) and mid forward Marcus Windhager after matching bids from rival clubs.

The Saints had been nervous a rival might bid on Owens within the first 20 picks, which under new AFL rules would have meant they would have lost him to that team.

Half our team these days seems to come from SA so I'm pretty sure NWM will feel pretty comfortable there. Besides, Oscar played for the same club.
Anyway, Adelaide is hardly so far away that he couldn't pop over for a day or so every now and again if needed.

Way to make a mountain out of a molehill, Gerard! :rolleyes:

Interesting that once again he has a dig at the Saints.
Why didn't WC take Matt Johnson over Campbell Chesser,
Why didn't NM take Finn Callaghan over Horne Francis.
And he comments having not even seen them play.
Dear Gerard this Draft is a National thing.
OK Kingy your turn to have some useful comments

2nD oLdEsT LiSt.
I wonder if the media nuffies will continue to roll with the “This is probably their last chance before they need to rebuild again” line.
I doubt they will because it won't be fact anymore.

We've replaced a heap of fringe aging players with 18 year olds (a few more to come via rookie spots)

We did need to hit the draft hard this year though as we had so few under 22's on our list it would have become a real problem for the future

Jumper Numbers and a time to recognise a few players that StKilda have recognised that they have done the wrong thing by.

Give jumper 32 Terry Milera ex number and Robbie Muir's to NWM if he does not want 7. If he does want it then give 32 to Marcus Windhanger.

Number 7 could go into retirement for a year.

Give 27 to Michito Owen's in recognition and support to Rod Owen.

Jumper 2 in recognition of Garry Sidebottom death this year to Ruckman Tom Campbell also number if Brian Mynott.

Jumper 24 to be recognised as the Golden Fist jumper to Tom Highmore in recognition of Danny Frawley.

Jumper 17 to Cooper Sharman in recognition of Barry Breen and his most significant point in AFL history.

Mason Wood can change to 34 or 13.

Well the last 2 are artistic license but the first two are mandatory musts if we are fair dinkum about bridging the gaps of past administrative failures to support players.

Will even send this idea to St Kilda's assistant receptionist as she is the hub of Saints communications.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Windhager will take 45 I reckon.