QAFL 2021

this blanket system seems to work for swans. Not sure anyone should even pretend that talent can be easily identified at 12yrs of age. It’s more about how many get kept in or possibly not added in due course imo
Yep. And name me the names of the people who have been influential in the Swans Academy in the past decade and I reckon you'll find your answer

the Swans Giants academy’s have a blanket approach but it works for them. The Academy in NSW has been there is some form or another since the RAMS inception in 96. It then evolved into the AFL clubs taking control of their regions.
Giants pour a shit tonne of resources into their programs. Most of the coaches are head hunted and not Johnny’s dad with an accreditation.
It’s not the size of the program it’s the content that is the difference.
The poster boys for the NSW academies are definitely Heeney Mills and Steele

Return to Qld squad of 26 (improves standard in squad) and play Div 2 Nationals and play senior footy for the majority of the season. No topping up for AFL reserves but playing QAFL
- simply a return to the old system.

totally agree. This worked for a number of years before the academies came in. Qld boys who were drafted generally were ready to go at senior level

the Swans Giants academy’s have a blanket approach but it works for them. The Academy in NSW has been there is some form or another since the RAMS inception in 96. It then evolved into the AFL clubs taking control of their regions.
Giants pour a sh*t tonne of resources into their programs. Most of the coaches are head hunted and not Johnny’s dad with an accreditation.
It’s not the size of the program it’s the content that is the difference.
The poster boys for the NSW academies are definitely Heeney Mills and Steele

That’s a good point. Perhaps the coaching is the bigger concern rather than the number of players in the academy system

im not 100% across the complete ins and outs of the Lions Suns academies. How much involvement do the lions and or Suns have in their academies? Are they run by the club or the AFLQ?

Agree with kids need honest feedback but keeping them there and working with them is what it should be about.

I tell you a story about Craig Bolton an old team mate of mine. He wouldn’t have been in the top 35 players in NSW/ACT as a 17 year old. RAMS coach at the time David Noble seen some athletic traits, worked with him he then went on and played 200 AFL games, premiership player and club captain at the swans. Kids just need the opportunity and the right coaching and environment

Do you think this is why Southport were able to dominate the QAFL and produce many AFL players in the past? They would identify athletic juniors like Kurt Tippett and put them in the right environment where they were coached into AFL prospects.

It's amazing what a player can turn into when he's in the right environment or coached by the right people.

what are the changes you think they have made?

they are still inviting 200 kids, instead of making it a genuinely elite program. Talented kids will improve and get better if they are training regularly with elite kids of similar or better ability, instead because of the sheer volume - the standard is woeful, blokes are in the academy that can barely get a kick at colts level. there is absolutely nothing elite about it.

The idea is right, but while they keep throwing a blanket over 200+ kids, there will be no progress.

I was under the impression that they had gone from a more selective approach with at times what looked like a dozen 18yo kids in a given year to having a lot more in recent years. The complaint you used to hear from people in club land was if you weren't identified early on you had next to no chance getting added later on. The fact that Harris Andrews couldn't get a look in until Aspley more or less begged the Academy to have another look at him speaks volumes. I'd have though by casting the blanket wider this would be avoided.

I most definitely don't have the answers. But I think to lay the blame for no kids getting drafted (which was what I was responding to) at the feet of the Academy is over gross over-simplification. It's likely down to a number of factors, some of which I raised earlier.

But I do agree with the sentiment that a big problem with the Lions Academy (can't speak for the Suns) seems to be the level and type of coaching received.

Spin it however you want and make all the circumstancial excuses you like but the scope of the QLD Academies is to produce players of AFL standard so they are drafted. The evidence from this draft says they have been an abstract failure

I don't have any clue what an abstract failure is but don't think because I'm a Lions supporter that I'll defend every aspect of the club. I fully acknowledge the shortcomings of the Academy over the years. But to draw any conclusion about the last two years while ignoring the pressures of list management is ridiculous.

In the past 5 years, the number of players taken in the national draft has gone 77,78,65,59,65. The rookie draft is increasingly used by clubs to pick up players they are delisting rather than freeing up spots for emerging talent which is where a lot of Qld talent has got their chance in the past. 10 out of the 26 players taken in the rookie draft this year come under this category. Exactly the same figures the year before. If you don't think that's having an affect you're nuts.

I don't have any clue what an abstract failure is but don't think because I'm a Lions supporter that I'll defend every aspect of the club. I fully acknowledge the shortcomings of the Academy over the years. But to draw any conclusion about the last two years while ignoring the pressures of list management is ridiculous.

In the past 5 years, the number of players taken in the national draft has gone 77,78,65,59,65. The rookie draft is increasingly used by clubs to pick up players they are delisting rather than freeing up spots for emerging talent which is where a lot of Qld talent has got their chance in the past. 10 out of the 26 players taken in the rookie draft this year come under this category. Exactly the same figures the year before. If you don't think that's having an affect you're nuts.
All the items you have raised certainly are challenges. No doubt.

However the results don't lie. Sorry, but they're the facts regardless of your passionate defense.

Therefore the Academies have only one of 2 choices. (1) Keep doing what they are doing and hope all those challenges can be manuevoured and the draft numbers rise or (2) do something different.

I believe thunderdoc's earlier suggestion has something worth investigating further.

Yep, and Saxon won't be playing footy at all in 2022, just another kid chewed up and spat out by a system that not only doesn't produce what it's supposed to, but also leaves a trail of destruction behind it with kids confidence in tatters and giving the game away .

They pay to be in the academy, hence the massive numbers...
Let's just say 200 kids at $250 thats 50k. Thats a business.

As opposed to the risk of the Vic kids who have hardly kicked a ball in 2 years?

The AFL talent scouts, after more than a decade, do not rate the QLD Academies. That is very clear

Not sure about that - they are just risk adverse and not seeing a kid from the Acadmies have a kick against kids from Vic/SA/WA makes it hard. I think its more accurate to say recruiters don't rate QAFL footy - SANFL seen as miles ahead.

So its not about the blanket approach but the human resources utilised? I think creating a small number at U12's is just stupid. Especially when nearly all research shows that late developers make your best sportspeople. The Giants academy is not a really good equivalent example due to the fact that they draw from a really strong footy heartland in the Riverina but i think the Swans academy is.

im not 100% across the complete ins and outs of the Lions Suns academies. How much involvement do the lions and or Suns have in their academies? Are they run by the club or the AFLQ?

Agree with kids need honest feedback but keeping them there and working with them is what it should be about.

This is a much better analysis of what needs to happen rather than s$#t canning the academies imo. I know really good people are involved and yeah, there are a quite a few who are still very green coaches too, bit more so in the younger age groups. I would suggest paying the coaches a little more if you want them there 3x/wk might be a good way to encourage a higher quality of coach to put hand up.

So the answer is there hasn't been enough money thrown at the Academies??

Actually now it’s 612 & over 72,000 reports of adverse effects and allot don’t report the side effects.

It’s says 9 deaths due to immunisation in that link Ablett. You understand that just because somebody dies after immunisation doesn’t mean the jab caused it right?

9 deaths in 40 million jabs in a year vs 5-10 deaths from covid every day.

get the jab mate if for no other reason but being able to go to the pub after Dec 17

QAFL 2021