Stadium and Training Facility funding and announcements

No doubt this will lead to a whose got what discussion.

I've been keeping a Mega Facilities file since about 2014 to track all these facilities development, as they became the new arms race once the AFL put caps on football department spend around that time.

This graphic below was in the Advertiser and posted on the Port board in February when Port made the announcement of the Alberton Oval precinct redevelopment and that they were chasing $15m federal funding like most clubs had received in cash or had been promised by the feds.

Some of these $15m amounts were pledges before the May 2019 election and haven't been dished out yet, eg Adelaide didn't get approval to build their facility in the Adelaide Parklands, then Covid hit and they pulled out of that option and are now looking at other locations.

Sydney got $20m from NSW govt Oct 2018 in lead up to March 2019 state election and $15m from the feds for a shared $65m facility, with NSW Swifts Netball team,and the building will house the Sydney Swans Academy, and the future Sydney Swans AFL Women’s Team. A cafe, museum, event and recreation space will be for public use. The Clontarf Foundation and GO Foundation, for Indigenous education, and an Australian Red Cross Blood Service donation centre.

That was pulled when Covid hit but put back on the agenda just before they lodged their bid for an AFLW team in August. Its changed, but its not clear how much it has.

In April 2020, with works weeks from commencing, the Swans and its partners were forced to surrender the lease, owing to the unprecedented uncertainty related to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic. Over recent months, the Sydney Swans and its partners have worked closely with the NSW Government and Greater Sydney Parklands to re-enliven the project.