2021 Formula One Season: Championship Decider Abu Dhabi - Verstappen Wins in a Controversial Race! 🏆 🍾

May 13, 2008
Melbourne
AFL Club
Hawthorn
I am a novice F1 supporter only but surely the rules need to change. Hamilton was disadvantaged in every single way and Max was the beneficiary of every single action;
  1. Hamilton lost his entire lead he had created through the race. This is just dumb.
  2. Hamilton could not pit as he would lose race position and hand the title over.
  3. Max could pit simply because Hamilton couldn't.
  4. Back markers were the only possible defence Hamilton had left and they were removed - but worse they were removed against protocol for the pure benefit of Max.
Every single decision went Max's may.

One thing I don't get - did Hamilton make an error when Max got through? He did not seem to defend that corner very well?

Sep 17, 2019
AFL Club
Richmond
I am a novice F1 supporter only but surely the rules need to change. Hamilton was disadvantaged in every single way and Max was the beneficiary of every single action;
  1. Hamilton lost his entire lead he had created through the race. This is just dumb.
  2. Hamilton could not pit as he would lose race position and hand the title over.
  4. Back markers were the only possible defence Hamilton had left and they were removed - but worse they were removed against protocol for the pure benefit of Max.

One thing I don't get - did Hamilton make an error when Max got through? He did not seem to defend that corner very well?

Hamilton was a lap down at a race earlier in the year. He was allowed to unlap himself due to a safety car.

If that didn't happen, Max would already have won championship before this last race.

And that's just one of several incidents this season where Hamilton was given plenty of advantage.

Simon_Nesbit

Brownlow Medallist
Sep 26, 2001
Tasmania
AFL Club
Hawthorn
I mentioned your alternate scenario earlier. But I agree, I don't think it's viable.