Hall of Famer
Aug 31, 2015
By the Gabba.
Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
Tassie great spot to travel.

I think east coast is better than the West side.
Cradle mountain also good.
Penguin and the nut not bad aswell.
Loved Tassie, did a 14 day road trip around 2012 with another couple (I'm separated now), loved the scenery, history, people and food(scallop pies WOW!) , it was an hysterically funny holiday as well with great company.

Went back last year to do the 3 Capes trek with my son, will definitely go back again to do some more trekking.

Loved Tassie, did a 14 day road trip around 2012 with another couple (I'm separated now), loved the scenery, history, people and food(scallop pies WOW!) , it was an hysterically funny holiday as well with great company.

Went back last year to do the 3 Capes trek with my son, will definitely go back again to do some more trekking.

We checked in to our hotel in Hobart.
Anywoo we had to change rooms the lady came to give a new key and said sorry the room was not ready

Will next door were going for it and she was a screamer lol.

M Malice

Hall of Famer
Aug 31, 2015
By the Gabba.
Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
We checked in to our hotel in Hobart.
Anywoo we had to change rooms the lady came to give a new key and said sorry the room was not ready

Will next door were going for it and she was a screamer lol.
We stayed in budget cabins for all nights on the trip except for 1 night where we decided to splurge on some luxury accommodation in the hills, cheese platter and wine waiting on arrival, up market restaurant for dinner, hot spa on the veranda and a burning log fire in the lounge room.... well my mate noticed that there wasn't enough wood to keep the fire burning for the whole night so he put his shoulders back and puffed out his chest and alpha male marched down to reception to tell them this was not good enough for the money we were paying, he come back with his tail between his legs... the answer from reception > Sir that is a gas fireplace with fake logs it wont go out.. LOL he still cops it when we get together now, which is sadly very rarely for me as the x wife got most of the friends in the settlement after our breakup.

Great8

Apr 19, 2015
Manchester United, Juventus,
Bonza Airways is coming to Australian skies in 2022 as an ultra low cost airline.

I presume based on the name their target audience is bogans.
They will be a LCC and are looking at pairings that the other airlines won’t touch. Won’t be frequent but will have brand new aircraft and will be trying to capture the holiday market. For example in school holidays they might launch something like Adelaide to Broome direct a couple of times per week. They are mainly aiming to stay away from the golden triangle especially as spots are tight but they may have the odd flight to/from there

Great8

Apr 19, 2015
A fortnight ago we were up at Palm Cove and absolutely loved. Stayed at the M Gallery and was wonderful. Town is a lot busier than our last visit which was good to see the hospitality venues making some money. Weather was perfect albeit steamy

ash_1050

Nov 21, 2009
Melbourne Victory and Arsenal
forget domestic i might travel internationally! - to that far away kingdom of Western Australia!

but seriously, im actually thinking of the south coastal area of nsw - any highlights people can recommend?

Eden/Merimbula region is beautiful.

Edit: Now with photos:
Green%20Cape,%20Ben%20Boyd%20National%20Park%20%20Credit%20Destination%20NSW.jpg

43ba91a8e2c6caf1dd3c76de6f671ced.jpg

151064-56.jpg

forget domestic i might travel internationally! - to that far away kingdom of Western Australia!

but seriously, im actually thinking of the south coastal area of nsw - any highlights people can recommend?
Love the Jervis Bay area. You also have the opportunity to see the beach with the whitest sand in the world (Guinness Book certified) - Hyams beach

After some campaigner knocked into the my hire car door and dealing dodgy brothers hire car people.

We've been on driving holidays
Love the Jervis Bay area. You also have the opportunity to see the beach with the whitest sand in the world (Guinness Book certified) - Hyams beach

Been there aswell, good spot .
Another NSW South coast gem .

Great8

Apr 19, 2015
Bonza’s opening schedule released. Some “interesting” routes amongst them.

Sunshine Coast
12 routes including Sunshine Coast to:
○ Albury – 2 flights per week
○ Avalon – 3 flights per week
○ Cairns – 5 flights a week
○ Coffs Harbour – 2 flights a week
○ Mackay – 3 flights per week
○ Melbourne – 4 flights per week
○ Mildura – 2 flights per week
○ Newcastle – 4 flights per week
○ Port Macquarie – 2 flights per week
○ Rockhampton – 3 flights per week
○ Townsville – 4 flights per week
○ Whitsunday Coast – 3 flights per week

8 routes including Melbourne to:
○ Bundaberg – 2 flights per week
○ Gladstone – 2 flights per week
○ Mackay – 2 flights per week
○ Mildura – 3 flights per week
○ Sunshine Coast – 4 flights per week
○ Toowoomba Wellcamp – 4 flights per week

Whitsunday Coast
3 routes including Whitsunday Coast to:
○ Newcastle – 2 flights per week
○ Sunshine Coast – 3 flights per week
○ Toowoomba Wellcamp – 2 flights per week

Rockhampton

4 routes including Rockhampton to:
○ Cairns – 2 flights per week
○ Melbourne – 3 flights per week
○ Townsville – 3 flights per week

Mackay
3 routes including Mackay to:
○ Melbourne – 2 flights per week

Cairns
3 routes including Cairns to:
○ Rockhampton – 2 flights per week
○ Sunshine Coast – 5 flights per week

Toowoomba Wellcamp
3 routes including Toowoomba Wellcamp to:
○ Townsville – 2 flights per week
○ Whitsunday Coast – 2 flights per week

Townsville
3 routes including Townsville to:

Newcastle
2 routes including Newcastle to:

Port Macquarie
2 routes including Port Macquarie to:
○ Sunshine Coast – 2 flights per week

Gladstone
● 1 route of Gladstone to Melbourne
● 2 flights per week

Bundaberg
● 1 route Bundaberg to Melbourne
● 2 flights per week
● 100% of routes are new for Australian travellers
● 100% not currently served by a low-cost carrier

Coffs Harbour
● 1 route Coffs Harbour to Sunshine Coast
● 2 flights per week

Albury
● 1 route Albury to Sunshine Coast
● 2 flights per week

Mildura
● 2 routes including Mildura to:
● 5 flights per week
● 50% of routes are new for Australian travellers

Avalon
● 1 route to Sunshine Coast
● 3 flights per week

With the Bonza announcements, I'm intrigued as to why they're using Tullamarine as the secondary base as opposed to Avalon where they have a presence. Sure it's not the greatest for travellers but for all the noise (whimper perhaps) of being the second airport I would have thought they may have driven harder to get more flights. I do like the fact they've used Sunshine Coast as a base (not all that much further than Gold Coast is to Brisbane), so Queensland can advertise that their south east corner airports all cater for different types of travellers (BNE full service, OOL budget international, Sun Coast budget domestic, Wellcamp for unvaccinated......) although I'm not sure how many would be willing to take flights to Mildura or Albury.

Great8

Apr 19, 2015
With the Bonza announcements, I'm intrigued as to why they're using Tullamarine as the secondary base as opposed to Avalon where they have a presence. Sure it's not the greatest for travellers but for all the noise (whimper perhaps) of being the second airport I would have thought they may have driven harder to get more flights. I do like the fact they've used Sunshine Coast as a base (not all that much further than Gold Coast is to Brisbane), so Queensland can advertise that their south east corner airports all cater for different types of travellers (BNE full service, OOL budget international, Sun Coast budget domestic, Wellcamp for unvaccinated......) although I'm not sure how many would be willing to take flights to Mildura or Albury.
Sunshine Coast (MCY) is their main base but that has no maintenance or engineering facilities so they would need to have a secondary base for that which is why Tulla got the nod over Avalon. They would be running MEL-MCY flights mainly for maintenance and aircraft cycling purposes but rather than fly empty aircraft they can pick up a fare.
Knowing MEL airport operations I’d also say they offered a better package to Bonza than Avalon as they hate losing customers to Avalon so would be protecting their turf to some degree

I'm lining up to do a couple of weeks across Tassie, any recommendations of must visits and places to not bother with?

ash_1050

Nov 21, 2009
Melbourne Victory and Arsenal

To get to Mildura you're looking at a 6 hour drive or 8-9 hours on public transport. For people who live anywhere north of Ouyen flying to Melbourne is a lot more enticing than driving or a train/bus combo. Albury seems a bit odd, though it may be seasonal during the summer.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Bonza’s opening schedule released. Some “interesting” routes amongst them.

Sunshine Coast
12 routes including Sunshine Coast to:
○ Albury – 2 flights per week
○ Avalon – 3 flights per week
○ Cairns – 5 flights a week
○ Coffs Harbour – 2 flights a week
○ Mackay – 3 flights per week
○ Mildura – 2 flights per week
○ Newcastle – 4 flights per week
○ Townsville – 4 flights per week
○ Whitsunday Coast – 3 flights per week

8 routes including Melbourne to:
○ Bundaberg – 2 flights per week
○ Gladstone – 2 flights per week
○ Mildura – 3 flights per week
○ Toowoomba Wellcamp – 4 flights per week

Whitsunday Coast
3 routes including Whitsunday Coast to:
○ Newcastle – 2 flights per week

Rockhampton

4 routes including Rockhampton to:
○ Townsville – 3 flights per week

Mackay
3 routes including Mackay to:

Cairns
3 routes including Cairns to:
○ Rockhampton – 2 flights per week
○ Sunshine Coast – 5 flights per week

Toowoomba Wellcamp
3 routes including Toowoomba Wellcamp to:
○ Townsville – 2 flights per week

Townsville
3 routes including Townsville to:

Newcastle
2 routes including Newcastle to:

Port Macquarie
2 routes including Port Macquarie to:

Gladstone
● 1 route of Gladstone to Melbourne
● 2 flights per week

Bundaberg
● 1 route Bundaberg to Melbourne
● 2 flights per week

Coffs Harbour
● 1 route Coffs Harbour to Sunshine Coast
● 2 flights per week

Albury
● 1 route Albury to Sunshine Coast
● 2 flights per week

Mildura
● 2 routes including Mildura to:
● 5 flights per week
● 50% of routes are new for Australian travellers

Avalon
● 1 route to Sunshine Coast
● 3 flights per week
Those routes are awesome for the local regional economies too, and anyone travelling around Australia, won't always have to go through the major capital airports when travelling around. Pretty excited to give them a go.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Tips and something different to see and do on the gold coast.
Depends entirely on what you're interested in/who you're going with. Obviously a heap of great beaches if you just want to lounge in the sun, Surfers is great too if you want entertainment, have kids, want a central place with access to all that stuff and the big high rise accomodations. Broadbeach is close to SF but is probably a bit more laid back and less of the stigma of SF. Plenty of other nice coastal spots travelling down that coastline.

Plenty of golf courses around within short access.

You can go more inland if you want but I feel like people go North for the weather and water so might defeat the point of being on the GC. Still heaps of nice scenery, mountains, smaller regional towns, etc.

There's various fishing charters around. Depending on when you're up there, you might be able to catch an AFL/NRL game, or other sporting events.

Lots to do for many demographics depending on what you like.

Stay down Coolangatta way. Or maybe burleigh.
How long you here for? What type of things do you want to do or avoid doing?

I haven't been here in ages I used to live in palm beach.

Just looking for something abit different to see and do.
Here till middle of next week.
Won't do theme parks.

We will go to the spit in Southport tomorrow.
Unsure what else.

Sky deck and crazy cat cafe
Holy moley mini golf...maybe.
In a day or so.

Few day tours look interesting.

Done the theme parks before.

The wildlife place down further might be ok.

Don't have a car but it's easy as to get around .

Thanks .