Training Preseason chat 2022

• Thread starter Thread starter THE A5

Hope they've been working on a new plan with Gov re the intercepting and loose back man thing? It's been worked out, but while that's what back talls do - intercept mark and redistribute, maybe he could be more attacking out of the backline (with the help of others)?
He can cover ground pretty quick, reckon he can be fit as anyone else but will always have his 'chub'. He did mention he was working harder on his fitness and it wasn't about losing weight. So maybe they're looking at him running the ball out more, taking the game on?

I still firmly believe that Gov wasn't worked out (aside from a couple of matches where Pies tagged him with Maynard). The reason he became a lot less effective (apart from injury) was that our midfield were so unaccountable and the opposition were delivering the footy to their forwards under no pressure. Doesn't matter how good your defenders are, if the forwards are getting lace out delivery they wont be effective.
I suspect if we can up the pressure on the ball carrier this year force rushed high balls into the oppo forward line, we will see the return of Gov's magnificent intercept marking come into play again.

Fox sports article has Simpson under the most coaching pressure behind Dew and Ratten.

I like it. He's responded to pressure before very well. Nothing wrong with a bit of public scrutiny for the club which performed the worst in the AFL after the bye.

#simpsonspride
needs to wake up?

Fox sports article has Simpson under the most coaching pressure behind Dew and Ratten.

I like it. He's responded to pressure before very well. Nothing wrong with a bit of public scrutiny for the club which performed the worst in the AFL after the bye.

#simpsonspride
fox sports, trash like the other media idiots. hardly public scrutiny.

check our the covid feak show thread and you will see that BF scrutiny is no better.

#simpsonspride
I did have a laugh at how pessimistic the Eagle's review was vs the Tigers, who finished below us and also have a team needing to transition starts over 30 and a game plan that was worked out.

I still firmly believe that Gov wasn't worked out (aside from a couple of matches where Pies tagged him with Maynard). The reason he became a lot less effective (apart from injury) was that our midfield were so unaccountable and the opposition were delivering the footy to their forwards under no pressure. Doesn't matter how good your defenders are, if the forwards are getting lace out delivery they wont be effective.
I suspect if we can up the pressure on the ball carrier this year force rushed high balls into the oppo forward line, we will see the return of Gov's magnificent intercept marking come into play again.

I think you've nailed it.

Very, very rarely do AFL players get to deliver the ball when under no pressure at all - and that is what we have been serving up far too often.

Even our much maligned corralling would be an improvement on what we offered up late last year. Pressure the ball carrier (even just through chasing) and they will kick it in the vicinity of Gov, Barrass, Edwards etc. They will do the rest (Gov is the best in the comp at it, provided he's given half a chance).

I think you've nailed it.

Very, very rarely do AFL players get to deliver the ball when under no pressure at all - and that is what we have been serving up far too often.

Even our much maligned corralling would be an improvement on what we offered up late last year. Pressure the ball carrier (even just through chasing) and they will kick it in the vicinity of Gov, Barrass, Edwards etc. They will do the rest (Gov is the best in the comp at it, provided he's given half a chance).
Sometimes that lack of pressure on the ball carrier might just be from a structural mismatch rather than a lack of defensive effort, though. If Gov is only effective when the opposition is under pressure, then that makes him a limited player who can be exploited.

I think he can be effective in all circumstances but he needs to work on it, and if he’s been injured then hopefully he can have a clean run at it this year

Thank **** for that, a lil ray of positive news!!! Keep it coming please.
The amount of injuries we get every single year to start the season compared to other clubs would be huge.

We seem to always start the season with half a list and it sets the trend into the season. Any chance they can just not try and kill each other doing practise games until the real season starts.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

The amount of injuries we get every single year to start the season compared to other clubs would be huge.

We seem to always start the season with half a list and it sets the trend into the season. Any chance they can just not try and kill each other doing practise games until the real season starts.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk
I reckon every supporter might think that. We were pretty lucky for a few years, ironically we seem to have done better in some of our worse injury years (2015/2018)

I wonder what Barrass’ set shot is like. I feel like he is going to love a good shank.
That's one way of beating your defender I suppose!
back off mate, or ill shank ya" There's a... on Make a GIF

Be nice if XON did something.

Clarks dead. Trew is dead, and I've got doubts he'll survive this years cut, particularly if he can't get his body right.

Ditto Jamieson. Would like to see something. Glimpses. He was rucking against Bailey the other day. Even Jilliams got a go in the ruck, but you never see Jamo do anything in the highlights, and he never gets mentioned by the Eagles ever.

I'm not sure if XON played in that intraclub, but I haven't heard anything about him getting a look, and he seems fit going by the training pics.

These are the players I'd like to hear about pushing for selection. Seems the Chesser, Hough and Clark combo (until he died) is more talked about in the main team than player's who have legit been developing on our list for year/s

Good point! plus he's reportedly fitter and apparently not a bad kick of the pill...