Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues

I have to say it. KFC is the worst take away available. I have it twice a year and each time remember then why I haven't bought it in so long. What do you have to do to get a crispy piece like they have in ads? Every time I buy KFC I get soggy chook pieces, crumbs often falling off. Is there such a thing as a crispy piece of KFC? I don't mind the flavour - I just want crunch.
Paging Gasometer...

SonofSamsquanch

Enjoy decent coffee but don't dunk yer biscuits
Mar 31, 2016
Victoria
I have to say it. KFC is the worst take away available. I have it twice a year and each time remember then why I haven't bought it in so long.
Exactly.

The chicken burgers could be ok except...
  • the piece of chicken is too thick and too small in diameter. It is also tough.
  • the bun is fake bread.
  • the coating on the meat is soggy and lacking in flavour (apart from salt).
  • the salad component is sad and inadequate.

I have made this judgement after having three zinger burgers and one ordinary one (which tasted identical to the zinger).

Prior to these, two consumed in 2017 and two on NYE 2021 it was 1981 when I last had KFC.

I have no issues with take away pizza, fish n chips or real burgers, but American franchise takeaway is the pits.

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
I have to say it. KFC is the worst take away available. I have it twice a year and each time remember then why I haven't bought it in so long. What do you have to do to get a crispy piece like they have in ads? Every time I buy KFC I get soggy chook pieces, crumbs often falling off. Is there such a thing as a crispy piece of KFC? I don't mind the flavour - I just want crunch.
I went there about 18 months ago walking home from the brewery. Didn't remember at the time but the timestamped receipt in your pocket never lies.

SonofSamsquanch

Mar 31, 2016
Victoria
I went there about 18 months ago walking home from the brewery. Didn't remember at the time but the timestamped receipt in your pocket never lies.
Twinkletoes - what is the business name that Tender Touch uses on its' receipts these days? Not KFC (zinger with extras) I hope!

Mar 14, 2002
Gasometer Wing
Kangaroos
cat GIF

….woah woah woah

Disappear for a day and this slander appears?

Mar 14, 2002
Gasometer Wing
Kangaroos
Exactly.

The chicken burgers could be ok except...
  • the piece of chicken is too thick and too small in diameter. It is also tough.
  • the bun is fake bread.
  • the coating on the meat is soggy and lacking in flavour (apart from salt).
  • the salad component is sad and inadequate.

I have made this judgement after having three zinger burgers and one ordinary one (which tasted identical to the zinger).

Prior to these, two consumed in 2017 and two on NYE 2021 it was 1981 when I last had KFC.

I have no issues with take away pizza, fish n chips or real burgers, but American franchise takeaway is the pits.
Yeh not Hamburgers. That’s for Maccas

Jan 23, 2019
The Colonel is a shitmen. many years ago it was crunchy but now they cook up a heap on Mon to last til Friday. Or it would seem. The fries are just ****ed soggy pieces of floppy potato.

I think a 3 piece feed takes around four months of your life expectancy.

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
The Colonel is a shitmen. many years ago it was crunchy but now they cook up a heap on Mon to last til Friday. Or it would seem. The fries are just f’ed soggy pieces of floppy potato.

I think a 3 piece feed takes around four months of your life expectancy.
it does tend to vary from store to store, well at least it did 15 years ago when i ate it more frequently than once a year. i found the local place was a lot soggier than the one at the town down the road, might be due to how busy said store was, possibly the longer it sit sunder the UV main marie it might crisp up? dunno the science behind it but it was as i recall a marked difference.

Pharmacists... Jumped up wannabes if you ask me. Questioning scripts and challenging medical doctors.

And how long does it take to pick a bottle from the shelf and print a label which replicates what is already written on the script.

Rort.

Also if you see a specialist (which i do) and every year or so you need to get an updated referral from your local GP to see the specialist.
absolute rort

Pharmacists... Jumped up wannabes if you ask me. Questioning scripts and challenging medical doctors.

And how long does it take to pick a bottle from the shelf and print a label which replicates what is already written on the script.

Rort.
The ones that work behind the scenes in the hospitals are ok, it is just when they become community pharmacists and start selling tape worms in diet supplements you need to watch out.

SonofSamsquanch

Mar 31, 2016
Victoria
The ones that work behind the scenes in the hospitals are ok, it is just when they become community pharmacists and start selling tape worms in diet supplements you need to watch out.
I don't mind if they sell tape worm treatment. It is the store full of so-called supliments like fish oil and similar sham products, perfume and crap but mostly the attitude. I am no longer on a cocktail of stuff like I once was but every time I had a script filled I would get the third degree about my symptoms etc. Shut up pharmacist - offer me generics if you must but do not second guess my physician.

Today it was the cat... He is on antibiotics. The pharmacy person wanted a stack of information despite the vet having clearly written a letter in the script with references to the pathology report and everything on paper.

My cat has a rare infection apparently. It is some kind of bacteria that infects cows but is very rare in felines and causes tumours inside his nasal passages. Costing me a 65" tv almost every year the little s**t.