Atomboy

Jan 22, 2007
Yes
I've now read this entire thread and not one mention has been made of membership income as the appropriate metric of a teams financial muscle.

Who care how many members a club claims to have amongst all the pet, baby and three game deals.

It money and bums on seats that matter.

Aren’t you aware there are other awards given to BF supporters whose clubs have “the most members” and also “the least debt” ??

The summary of this thread is a select few North fans getting antsy that they might get sent to Tassie. So they're just looking at ways to throw others under the bus.

North's debt in 2007 was $9,000,000 at its worst. St Kilda are $9,000,000 in debt, having previously been at well over $13,000,000.

St Kilda received $4,000,000 of AFL distribution in 2021 more than North, and have received $22,000,000 more than North over the last decade.

Maybe stop sooking for a second and try to realise that criticism of your club isn't a personal vendetta lol

St Kilda are in some financial strife, it's being discussed, and rightly so

May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
North's debt in 2007 was $9,000,000 at its worst. St Kilda are $9,000,000 in debt, having previously been at well over $13,000,000.

St Kilda received $4,000,000 of AFL distribution in 2021 more than North, and have received $22,000,000 more than North over the last decade.

Maybe stop sooking for a second and try to realise that criticism of your club isn't a personal vendetta lol

Are you saying saints should North Melbourne their way out? LoL

I'm saying if we copped out rightful whack, don't come sooking when it's your turn lol

#gosaintas

Veteran Reimagine Moorabbin
Nov 11, 2013

You guys are being bailed out by the poor tassie tax payers. That's about to stop. Now you're stuffed with negative growth, no support and a crap team. Jungle drums are rightly beating loudly. Move or fold.

Embarrassed for you to have responded this way lol

Oct 19, 2017

Hit a nerve here. Hope you're a strong swimmer.

Saints43

Mar 18, 2010
Flemington

St Kilda's debt will be repaid in good time and has been guaranteed to the AFL by Andrew Bassat. St Kilda's cash flow services the debt. St Kilda has rebuilt the Moorabbin facility and barely increased the debt.
More importantly for medium term growth they have reinvigorated the playing list, grown commercial arrangements and the club membership.

If you think St Kilda are in financial strife, but North are fine because they have No Debt, then you don't understand finances.

St Kilda's debt will be repaid in good time and has been guaranteed to the AFL by Andrew Bassat. St Kilda's cash flow services the debt. St Kilda has rebuilt the Moorabbin facility and barely increased the debt.
More importantly for medium term growth they have reinvigorated the playing list, grown commercial arrangements and the club membership.

If you think St Kilda are in financial strife, but North are fine because they have No Debt, then you don't understand finances.

If we had 15 years of threads about North's debt, it might not actually be a personal vendetta against St Kilda if there's 1 discussing St Kilda's.

The problem is that every Saints supporter in here has gone down the route of, "oh yeah, well what about your club's issues!" the second the debt is brought up lol

Oct 19, 2017
If we had 15 years of threads about North's debt, it might not actually be a personal vendetta against St Kilda if there's 1 discussing St Kilda's.

The problem is that every Saints supporter in here has gone down the route of, "oh yeah, well what about your club's issues!" the second the debt is brought up lol

This thread was posted originally by a North supporter, brought back from being dead for 6 months again by a North supporter, and constantly has multiple North supporters whinging and banging on.

Yes, threads are usually posted by someone and others participate in it

Saints43

Mar 18, 2010
Flemington

But isn't that fair enough? The first post is about St Kilda's status in the competition about to be voted upon by other clubs due to their financial situation.
Obviously it wasn't correct but it would beg the question of 'What does a poor financial situation actually mean? Can you have debt and be a financially stable AFL club? Can you have no debt and be a financially unstable club?"

And, the club that most football followers see as being in a perilous financial situation, due to lack of growth and investment, despite having no debt, is North.
North is used as the example, not because of who the original poster is necessarily, but because their business model looks to be one of contraction, rather than growth.

Oct 19, 2017
But isn't that fair enough? The first post is about St Kilda's status in the competition about to be voted upon by other clubs due to their financial situation.
Obviously it wasn't correct but it would beg the question of 'What does a poor financial situation actually mean? Can you have debt and be a financially stable AFL club? Can you have no debt and be a financially unstable club?"

And, the club that most football followers see as being in a perilous financial situation, due to lack of growth and investment, despite having no debt, is North.
North is used as the example, not because of who the original poster is necessarily, but because their business model looks to be one of contraction, rather than growth.

Exactly. 79 pages of this and the overarching attempt at framing from the OP to say that the Saints are in dire financial trouble, apparently the worst of all clubs according particular North supporters in here, it seems to always lead back to an incredibly important question from everyone else.

If the Saints are in such a dire situation, why is it every time Tassie is talked about and either moving or consolidation of a team is an option; why, to this very day, is it only ever Norths name that comes out?

GeTrain

Aug 22, 2019
Is anyone commenting in this thread actually qualified in anything relating to finance or accounting?

If the Saints are in such a dire situation, why is it every time Tassie is talked about and either moving or consolidation of a team is an option; why, to this very day, is it only ever Norths name that comes out?

Because the average footy fan has a room temperature IQ