14,713​
6​
66,265​
11,044​
5​
51,178​
10,236​
ALL
At least 50-60% of the drop in crowds compared with 2019 is due to West Coast crowds.

Bulldogs and North will always be bottom no matter what. Gold Coast and GWS will be for at least the next 10-15 years, while Brisbane's Home ground holds 30k so that average will probably end up between 25-30k by end of year.
Lol. Play our Ballarat games at Marvel and we are above Sydney.

memberships are always going to be false figures , baby members , kids members , members that dont turn up , millions of different packages

its all pointless who has the most members

What matters most, is revenue generated by membership, as the revenue helps sustain the club.

50,000 members paying an average of $500, is a lot better than 100,000 members paying an average of $100.

$25,000,000 > $10,000,000

Home Games
5​
277,499​
55,500​
6​
282,203​
47,034​
6​
269,286​
44,881​
5​
196,719​
39,344​
6​
228,300​
38,050​
ALL
Wowee!!!!

Dees Top 5 average home game crowd despite rubbish fixturing and literally crapping on every team we've played bar one?!?

Wonder how much Collingwood/ Bombers numbers inflated by big Australia Is Awesome and Our Army Can Do No Wrong Join The Army Aussie Pride Oi Oi Oi (aka ANZAC day)?

Nice!!!!!
Carn Dees!!!!

Club20182019202020212022
Adelaide64,37964,43754,89160,23240,000 (feb 19)
Brisbane24,86728,02329,27740,28940,453
Carlton56,00564,26967,03581,30282,870
Collingwood75,50785,22676,86282,52786,123
Essendon79,31984,23766,68681,66277,805
Fremantle55,63951,43151,57750,34250,720
Geelong63,81865,06360,06670,29363,724
Gold Coast12,10813,64916,23619,4608,721 (feb 19)
G.Western Sydney25,24330,10930,84130,18530,861
Hawthorn80,30281,21176,34377,07970,007 (May 9)
Melbourne44,27552,42140,57153,18861,537
North Melbourne40,78942,41938,66746,35747,739
Port Adelaide54,38651,95146,82056,53258,255
Richmond100,726103,358100,420105,08497,918
St Kilda46,30143,03848,58855,80256,544
Sydney60,93461,91248,32250,14451,642
West Coast80,29090,445100,776106,42290,000 (Feb 22)
Western Bulldogs43,24644,37338,87646,54149,068
Club Total1,008,1341,057,572992,8541,113,4411,063,987
Womens Total9,40620,84925,78248,712

Wowee!!!!

Dees Top 5 average home game crowd despite rubbish fixturing and literally crapping on every team we've played bar one?!?

Wonder how much Collingwood/ Bombers numbers inflated by big Australia Is Awesome and Our Army Can Do No Wrong Join The Army Aussie Pride Oi Oi Oi (aka ANZAC day)?

Nice!!!!!
Carn Dees!!!!

Good result.

Interestingly, Hawthorn is actually 4th (ahead of Melbourne and Essendon) if you remove the Tassie 'home' games. Good effort too I reckon given we are believed to be poor attenders, we sit 13th, none of those are night games and only 1 is against a 'big 4' opponent.

But Carlton will finish above you guys, that's what I've been told
They would if they had a bigger supporter base then Collingwood! The way I see it the total membership talley but the end of round 23 will be;

Richmond 105,000
Collingwood 90,000
Carlton 85,000
Essendon 80,000
Hawthorn 75,000
Geelong 70,000
Melbourne 65,000
St.kilda 60,000
Bulldogs 50,000
North Melbourne 48,000

I have only included Victoria clubs

They would if they had a bigger supporter base then Collingwood! The way I see it the total membership talley but the end of round 23 will be;

Richmond 105,000
Collingwood 90,000
Carlton 85,000
Essendon 80,000
Hawthorn 75,000
Geelong 70,000
Melbourne 65,000
St.kilda 60,000
Bulldogs 50,000
North Melbourne 48,000

I have only included Victoria clubs
Not far off I reckon.

I doubt Richmond will get to 105,000. I think they’ll get to around 103,000.

Carlton should get to around 86,000 following a possible top 4 renaissance on field.

Collingwood look poised to hit 90,000.

Essendon, I don’t know how, appear on target to land very close to last years number (81,662). BTW, they’ve sold over 1,000 of AFLW memberships already in a promising sign it will have good support in its inaugural season.

It appears the Hawks will be the team registering a decline this year. They will be falling short of 75,000 it would appear. By no means a disastrous result given the pre season of discontent.

Melbourne signalling they’ll get to 65,000. A great result but I may be a little unpopular by suggesting that record figure to me is still below what I see as a great ‘maxed’ result following their breakout premiership and the wave of momentum they’ve had season to date. I thought a more aggressive target of 70,000 in 2022 was a great challenge to chase down. Still, a 20% growth rate following a premiership is still a strong result.

Geelong haven’t updated for a while and appear to be struggling to achieve growth this year. An indifferent end to 2021 and a stadium under construction the likely culprits. Assuming form holds up on field, I suspect their next wave of growth they’re planning in their strategic plan will leverage the finalised stadium build and greater capacity to sell reserved seats and hospitality areas.

Update

Richmond = 97,940
West Coast = 90,000 (announced on February 22)
Collingwood = 86,123
Carlton = 82,870
Essendon = 77,805
Hawthorn = 70,007 (as of May 9)
Geelong = 63,724
Melbourne = 61,537
Port Adelaide = 58,255
St Kilda = 56,544
Sydney = 51,642
Fremantle = 51,292
Western Bulldogs = 49,068
North Melbourne = 47,739
Brisbane Lions = 40,453
Adelaide = 40,000 + (as of February 19)
GWS = 30,861 (as of May 17)
Gold Coast = 8,721 (as of February 19)

Does GWS give a break down (perhaps from previous annual reports), of members in Sydney vs members in Canberra?

in 2018 and 2019 they did.

GIANTS-30k-Infographic-01.jpg
GIANTS-25k-Infographic-01.jpg

Wowee!!!!

Nice!!!!!
Carn Dees!!!!
Don't worry. Shortly you will have the benefit of playing Collingwood as well......

West Coast keep their membership close to their chest. When they announce their final membership number, it will be a few hundred above Richmond. Just like it is every year :think:
Or maybe they simply have more members than Richmond, even though they’re slightly better than a VFL team.

Good result.

Interestingly, Hawthorn is actually 4th (ahead of Melbourne and Essendon) if you remove the Tassie 'home' games. Good effort too I reckon given we are believed to be poor attenders, we sit 13th, none of those are night games and only 1 is against a 'big 4' opponent.
Hawthorn also played Geelong on the Easter Monday blockbuster game. Played only Victorian teams Melbourne, play those Tassie games (against interstate sides) in Victoria it will still drop your average down.

hows saints gonna claim 60k members and cant even get half of that to games?
They do a $1 membership “pay $1 now and the rest later” scheme. Many don’t pay the outstanding but St Kilda still count the $1 members towards their total. When the AFL release the official membership numbers at the end of the season, St Kilda’s drop significantly.

what do the $1 members get if they don't actually pay it in full?

surely by some point in mid season you have to pay?

Hawthorn also played Geelong on the Easter Monday blockbuster game. Played only Victorian teams Melbourne, play those Tassie games (against interstate sides) in Victoria it will still drop your average down.
Hawthorn drew 38k to our North Melbourne match, Hawthorn Sydney always draw a decent crowd. You know what affects crowd numbers more? Getting shitty Sunday time slots.

Don't worry. Shortly you will have the benefit of playing Collingwood as well......
Hold on didn’t Melbourne benefit for playing home games v Collingwood on queens from 2001 to 2018? Then the Melbourne fans started to complain why they are not the home team every year. Melbourne should thank Collingwood because if it wasn’t for the pies Melbourne could of ended merging with another club or relocating to another state. Melbourne should really thank Collingwood for there generosity of the magpie army for turning up in huge numbers every queens birthday and Melbourne for 19 years benefiting taking all the gate receipts.

Possibly.
But unlike Essendon supporters, when it comes to lack of transparency, I'm a little cynical.
No reason to be cynical. Membership figures are subject to annual audit. That a team so poor on field could still boast the largest membership speaks volumes for the size of their base. Simple as that.

Wowee!!!!

Dees Top 5 average home game crowd despite rubbish fixturing and literally crapping pThey do a $1 membership “pay $1 now and the rest later” scheme. Many don’t pay the outstanding but St Kilda still count the $1 members towards their total. When the AFL release the official membership numbers at the end of the season, St Kilda’s drop significantly.
the dees are the same
Have over 60k members couldn’t get 30k to a home game on a rain free Saturday arvo even with the team being the reigning premiers and undefeated in 2022!