Draft Expert Davo-27's 2022 u18 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Davo-27

Davo-27 do you think Ted Clohesy may fall outside of Pick 40 come draft night ?

Would be nice for GFC too get some quality out of it's NGA

Davo-27 do you think Ted Clohesy may fall outside of Pick 40 come draft night ?

Would be nice for GFC too get some quality out of it's NGA

i think he might, he doesnt seem to be getting much hype from the media, that plus NGA and F/S's tend to slide a bit, i would say its more likely he falls out of the top 40 unless he has a good championships/finals series and he puts himself in that conversation?

Anyone had a stab at likely Vic Metro squad

from May 13th

a guess at what the Vic Metro and Vic Country teams might look like

VIC METRO

B: Rye Penny(Cald), Lewis Hayes(East), Nathan Philactides(Oak*)
HB: Luke Teal(Oak), Cam MacKenzie(Sand), Josh Weddle(Oak)
C: Elijah Tsatas(Oak), Blake Drury(Oak), Josh Bennetts(East)
HF: Harry Sheezel(Sand), Nate Caddy(North*), Charlie Clarke(Sand)
F: Al Davey Jnr(Oak), Matthew Jefferson(Oak), Nick Watson(East*)
R: Hudson O'Keefe(Oak), George Wardlaw(Oak), Will Ashcroft(Sand)

INT: Nick McLarty(Oak), Cooper Harvey(North), Paul Pascu(Cald), Ben Hempel(Sand)

EMER: Caleb Windsor(East*), Cam Nyko(East*), Archie Roberts(Sand*)

maybe Gruzlewski(Oak) at CHB if needing a 2nd tall?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

VIC COUNTRY

B: Cooper Vickery(Gipps), James Van Es(GWV), Jonti Schuback(Gipps)
HB: Max Clohesy(Murr), Henry Hustwaite(Dand), Jason Gilbee(Bend)
C: Jaxon Binns(Dand), Mitch Szybkowski(Dand), Ted Clohesy(Geel)
HF: Taj Campbell-Farrell(Dand), Olivier Northam(Geel), Bailey Humphrey(Gipps)
F: Brayden George(Murr), Aaron Cadman(GWV), Jack O'Sullivan(Oak)
R: Harvey Howe(Gipps), Jhye Clark(Geel), Oliver Hollands(Murr)

INT: Noah Long(Bend), Coby Burgiel(Gipps), Harley Reid(Bend*), Zane Duursma(Gipps*)

EMER: Brady Wright(GWV), Josh Hamilton(Bend*), Cooper Simpson(Dand*)

* = for 2023 draft

i think he might, he doesnt seem to be getting much hype from the media, that plus NGA and F/S's tend to slide a bit, i would say its more likely he falls out of the top 40 unless he has a good championships/finals series and he puts himself in that conversation?
Don't pump me up like that just to break my heart 💔

How strong is the 2023 draft asking from a Lions point of view if the Lions match on Ashcroft could Brisbane get a team interested in a 2023 first round pick to try to get another top 20 pick ?

Its hard to tell, but the difference between a super draft and a weak draft is very small, super drafts have probably 6-10 elite talents with a little more depth in quality leaning more towards 40 than 30 AFL Standard Players, a weak draft you probably have 0-1 elite talents and closer to 30 than 40 AFL Standard Players overall, theres always going to be 20-30 misses, you just have to avoid those and sometimes those come from injury/personality which you cant always account for, but at this stage i cant predict what 2023 is going to be, maybe when the year is done i will have seen more of those players and i can be able to say with confidence where they stand, at this stage theres probably 5 players i could potential predict are elite which indicates a strongish draft, but i have no idea of the depth just as yet.

Colby McKercher i put down as 1 to watch from Tasmania, i cant remember him as much as others as games can blur at times, i'll need to refresh as to why i put him down as 1 to watch, so many kids to keep track of...
Because he is a jet.

my guess at the Allies Team

B: Jake Rogers, ??????, Tom McCallum
HB: Lachlan Cowan, Will Edwards, Jason Gillbee
C: Jaspar Fletcher, Luke Lawrence, Ethan Grace
HF: Toby Aker, Liam Hude, Anthony Munkara
F: Beau Tedcastle, Jed Walter, Seth Campbell
R: Nick Madden, Harry Rowston, Angus Anderson

INT: Ned Stevens, Ryley Sanders, Angus Curry, Indhi Kirk

EMER: Lloyd Johnston, Caiden Cleary, Marlin Corbett, Colby McKercher, Jed Foggo

not sure who goes FB, maybe Will Edwards then put a smaller CHB? or find a decent tall defender to fill the gap?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
my guess at the WA Team

B: Luke Michael, Dan Curtin, Sam Gilbey
HB: Jed Hagan, Jedd Busslinger, Steely Green
C: Conrad Williams, Darcy Jones, Riley Hardeman
HF: Jack Cleaver, Coen Livingston, Reuben Ginbey
F: Koltyn Tholstrup, Jasper Scaife, Koen Sanchez
R: Jackson Broadbent, Kane Bevan, Elijah Hewett

INT: Ed Allan, Chase Bourne, ???, ???

EMER: ???, ???, ???, ???

dont know as much about the depth players of WA.

B Luke Michael, Jed Adams, Ethan Logan
HB Jed Hagan, Jedd Busslinger, Riley Hardeman
M Darcy Jones, Steely Green, Jordyn Baker
HF Koltyn Tholstrup, Jasper Scaife, Conrad Williams
F ???, Corey Tregenza-Cashell, Tyrell Dewar
R Jackson Broadbent, Elijah Hewett, Kane Bevan
IC Griff Julian, Daniel Gathercole, Reuben Ginbey, Rohan MacNeill, Daniel Curtin

Depth: Koen Sanchez, Mitch Barron, Chase Bourne, Jordan Douglas, Sam Gilbey, Connor Carbone, Jack Cleaver, Clay Hall, Ed Allan, Josh Draper, Coen Livingstone, Tom Smith, Mitchell Edwards, Harry Cole, Hugh Davies

I've tried to build a squad based on form and not name recognition. It's tough, the forward line is dreadful. I'd imagine that Bourne goes to the last spot, and I would imagine that Mitch Edwards gets a run to give Broadbent a chop out if needed. In reality I'm sure Gilbey and Cleaver play, but there will be little balance to this team.

B Luke Michael, Jed Adams, Ethan Logan
HB Jed Hagan, Jedd Busslinger, Riley Hardeman
M Darcy Jones, Steely Green, Jordyn Baker
HF Koltyn Tholstrup, Jasper Scaife, Conrad Williams
F ???, Corey Tregenza-Cashell, Tyrell Dewar
R Jackson Broadbent, Elijah Hewett, Kane Bevan
IC Griff Julian, Daniel Gathercole, Reuben Ginbey, Rohan MacNeill, Daniel Curtin

Depth: Koen Sanchez, Mitch Barron, Chase Bourne, Jordan Douglas, Sam Gilbey, Connor Carbone, Jack Cleaver, Clay Hall, Ed Allan, Josh Draper, Coen Livingstone, Tom Smith, Mitchell Edwards, Harry Cole, Hugh Davies

I've tried to build a squad based on form and not name recognition. It's tough, the forward line is dreadful. I'd imagine that Bourne goes to the last spot, and I would imagine that Mitch Edwards gets a run to give Broadbent a chop out if needed. In reality I'm sure Gilbey and Cleaver play, but there will be little balance to this team.
I'd be very tempted to have Coen Livingstone on the bench to slot into the forward line if needed and it seems he might be as I'm not sure about Jasper Scaife or Josh Draper. But I'm genuinely excited about Livingstone although he is a below ager so I should probably not expect too much.

I've noticed that only a small number of state players are listed in the budget. I'm assuming that Smith, Hall, Logan, Dewar, Douglas, Baker weren't required for the state exhibition game and will play for their clubs?

Good news with Tyzreise Clark making his return to WAFL colts tomorrow. His first match in exactly one year to the exact round.

I'd be very tempted to have Coen Livingstone on the bench to slot into the forward line if needed and it seems he might be as I'm not sure about Jasper Scaife or Josh Draper. But I'm genuinely excited about Livingstone although he is a below ager so I should probably not expect too much.

I've noticed that only a small number of state players are listed in the budget. I'm assuming that Smith, Hall, Logan, Dewar, Douglas, Baker weren't required for the state exhibition game and will play for their clubs?

Good news with Tyzreise Clark making his return to WAFL colts tomorrow. His first match in exactly one year to the exact round.
looking forward to Tyzreise building his game back up and letting loose, also looking forward to watching Hurricane Clark in the future too.

just watching Port Melbourne whilst Box Hill are playing and im noticing 2 good forwards from the u18's from previous years doing well, Archi Manton (Glen Manton's kid from Carl/Ess) from the Western Jets and Jake Gaspar from Oakleigh, both players are doing good at the VFL level.

1st game best imo

VM - McKenzie, Clarke, Jefferson, Witherill, Hayes, Teal, Ashwin, Kizan, Pavlidis, Tomasiello, Philactides, Nyko, Dozzi(ok), Drury(ok)

VC - Reid, Mitchell, McMullin, Frangalas, Murdoch, O'Sullivan, Lual, M.Clohesy(ok), Fogarty(ok), Parkhouse(ok)

Hugo Nosiara got it heaps, but ruined nearly every play by either being selfish or bad decision making, i wanted to like his game because he probably got it 30 times against an otherwise dominant VM midfield

this game felt like it had the better depth of quality of the 2 games

3 best players on the ground were McKenzie, Clarke and Reid, they were elite in nearly everything they did.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2nd game

VM - Watson, Pascu, Hotton, Verrell, Morris, Caddy, Weddle, Davey, Taha, K.Windsor, Badr, D.Harvey, Camaniti(ok)

VC - T.Clohesy, Duursma, Schuback, Konstanty, Pearce, Campbell-Farell(ok), Binns(ok), Collier(ok)

Pascu got a heap of it and looked to be 1 of the main mids for this metro team, T.Clohesy dominated the midfield, he was similar to Clarke even down to his crew cut, contested beast and break away from center, Duursma was spraying some i50's in the first bit of the game, then he went forward and kicked a few goals giving country a goal kicking target up front, Konstanty kicked a couple in the 3rd to keep country in it, Watson did Watson things, kicked a few, Hotton was a valuable winger providing run and carry.

Watson, T.Clohesy and Duursma were the best few in this game, more top tier football than elite games from them imo.

players that stepped up in the trials that impressed me

new players to pop up and impress were

Jon Tomasiello - North - had a reasonable and solid game for Metro in the midfield, not sure if it increases his draft range though, is a limited mid

Cam Kizan - West - speedy and clever winger, ran hard for Metro on the wings and provided a lot of line breaking capabilities, has good traits, one i have noticed in the NAB League, but has stepped up and performed well

Yuyu Ashwin - Oak - added some depth to a strong VM midfield was on fire early and kicked 2 goals i believe, but fell away after half time, still a good outing for him

Cam McKenzie - Sand - he has been on the radar since u17's last year, but has taken a big step forward this year going into the midfield, theres some similarities to Noah Anderson with how he carries himself in game

Caleb Mitchell - Murray - had a real impact, so much so he should be in my top 50 next time i do rankings, was a great performer on the big stage and should get into the Vic Country team for the champs

Toby McMullin - Sand - high pressure hard tackling forward, linking up well with other forwards, and kicking goals, really impressive game and again like Mitchell should be in the Vic Country squad

Oscar Murdoch - Geel - if Vic Country need another KPD they have one ready made in Murdoch, if they want to push Hustwaite in the middle for a bit they can play him as the CHB, had a great game and ive liked his game for months now

Kai Windsor - East - he seems to step up in these state games, had a good solid game, dont know if it increases his draft value though

Paul Pascu - Calder - i think he increased his stocks a little and has a chance to join the VM squad

Callum Verrell - East - the man with the ponytail, he had a great defensive game, taking good intercept marks, hitting long kicks out of defence and spoiling when needed, really good effort out there today

Dane Harvey - North - has a real presence and voice on the field, also an intensity i like, but lacks impact on the game a bit

Ted Clohesy - Geel - huge game by the geelong mid, was a contested beast in the 2nd game and should improve his stocks a bit

Nathan Philactides - Oakleigh - in the last quarter he intercepted a few times and was a major reason why VC struggled to make back the 5 1/2 goal lead VM had at 3/4 time even though they were playing the last quarter going to the scoring end, clutch performance and builds on his resume for next year

Riley Witherill - Eastern - presented as a hard working med/tall forw, kicked a few goals and took some strong marks in front of good defenders, looks a real talent and has good accuracy in front of goals

Luamon Lual - GWV - really showed some courage and strength in the contest, was one of VC best in defence and when he came on he gave VC a spark from defence which led to some good footy from VC in the 2nd quarter

Archer Reid - Gipps - this kid can play, was one of the stars on the day, leading up to a wing to mark the footy, taking marks and kicking goals inside 50, he gave VC hope in the forward line, all you had to do was kick it in his vicinity and he would use his height and cleverness to get the footy and finish off with goals for VC

Mahmoud Taha - Calder - added run and carry to the VM midfield, put his name up for some recognition going into next season

Logan Morris - West - played full forward and led well into space, kicked a couple goals i think?

Nate Caddy, Harley Reid, Sam Frangalas, Cooper Simpson, Oliver Badr, Zane Duursma, Cam Nyko and Nick Watson already showed a heap of talent and had good games although im not sure if Harley Reid played, Nate Caddy was inaccurate, he needs some goal kicking lessons and Watson was very good once again, Frangalas, Badr and Simpson were good also, Duursma has star qualities as a mid/forw

Davo did you do a write up of that sa U18s game vs the sa u20s? Anyone you liked from that?
A mate of mine sent me his from the SA U18s game. Which i agree with.

Phillipou #21 Kicked 2 and had a lot of the pill. looks like a really classy player and has some good versatility, with his abilities on showcase through both the middle of the ground and the forward line.

D'Alioa #28 Probably the most afl ready product. Great tackling and contested work, with a bit of speed and class as well. His pressure will no doubt translate to the next level however with him having multiple and countless HTB calls in this game.

Dowling #33 Probably had the most touches of anyone on the ground. Ball use looked ok, and he has great size for someone his age. Another midfielder who was seen both through the middle and up fwd. Definitely someone to look out for at the national champs.

J Ryan #6 Off half back, had some great run and carry, but ball use let him down a couple times. Still optimistic on him as a player.

K Ryan #8 Played on a wing for basically the entire game, great pressure and work rate. also a big accumulator, similar to dowling, and didn't struggle to find the pill. ball use needs work.

Pedler #31 Playing up fwd, presented well for a medium fwd and laid some great tackles at crucial times, one to look out for.

Lemmey #40 This lads a star, 2.3, could've easily kicked 5 but accuracy let him down, has great hands above his head and also laid some important tackles. definitely the best key fwd in the draft.

Sadler #7 Ddecent through the midfield, has some dash about him and his contest work is pretty solid, one to look out for at champs as well.

Keeler #38 Really exciting product, good above his head as well as on the ground, looks to be ahead of scully in terms of selection as well now.

Riley Witherill - Eastern - presented as a hard working med/tall forw, kicked a few goals and took some strong marks in front of good defenders, looks a real talent and has good accuracy in front of goals
He kicked 1.3 from set shots