Player Watch Jordan De Goey

There's an excellent article at the roar.com.au about the media bullying JDG and the club not standing by him.
The author likens it to the disgusting event where the Ausutralian Cricket Board failed to support Andrew Symons in his protest about being called a monkey. Roy was never the same player after that.
I hope that Jordy is not headed down the same path of losing his motivation to play. Still, I would completely understand if he decided to leave AFL senior level behind him. (He could get decent pocket money playing for a country club with a wealthy sponsor and be able to enjoy the lifestyle he chooses).

The guy's a meathead for sure. He's not 18 or 19; when is he going to understand the concept of appropriate public behaviour? Whether we like it or not (and I don't), we live in a society where people are easily outraged. In the quest to treat women with respect, we've become a bunch of snowflakes.

Jordan had to be punished, for no other reason than to save our financial bottom line. Emirates was making noises today about being unhappy about Collingwood's response of a suspended $25,000 fine.
The same thing happened when Eddie departed stage right. Again, like DeGoey, Eddie was sacrificed on the altar of public opinion and corporate sponsorship.

The really bewildering thing was Ginnivan and Quaynor being made to apologise for playing a game where they rated fictional people. Quaynor later rated fictional men as well, with his girlfriend. I notice there's been no outrage over this disrespect to men.

There's an excellent article at the roar.com.au about the media bullying JDG and the club not standing by him.
The author likens it to the disgusting event where the Ausutralian Cricket Board failed to support Andrew Symons in his protest about being called a monkey. Roy was never the same player after that.
I hope that Jordy is not headed down the same path of losing his motivation to play. Still, I would completely understand if he decided to leave AFL senior level behind him. (He could get decent pocket money playing for a country club with a wealthy sponsor and be able to enjoy the lifestyle he chooses).
Here's the article for those interested. Good read.

I know the pressure would be intense but it stuns me to see how many men willingly follow the advice of their managers or clubs and read groveling apologies for things they clearly don't believe we're malicious, disrespectful or harmful.
I'd tell them to shove their apology. If they sack me for not playing their game which is simply about money and keeping the media on side then that's on them. At least I'd sleep at night.

JDG tried to undress his female companion in public. She did not allow this at that moment in time. They might have been in bed the night before which is irrelevant; that's not her granting automatic consent everytime JDG would feel amorous in the future.

Her response might have been different if they were in their hotel room, I'm almost certain of it; but this was in public. Being filmed.

The media pile-on has been disgraceful and the club too focused on appeasing the offended but he has to own this. Sadly, it's his bad judgement that kick-started this sh*tstorm.

I hope De Goey finds the support he needs and ultimately a way to live a happier life. This must have put him in a very dark spot and I have concerns for his wellbeing. Footy is just a game, we're talking lives here.

I hope his future is with Collingwood.

I got called a dickhead on reddit for asking whether the media will be held accountable in any way if he were to hurt himself as a result of this.
Apparently he deserves everything he's getting and should be rotting in jail.
Misinformed and ignorant people.

That's what the media preys upon.

F$&@$&@&&k. We are a stupid stupid club. Always pressing the self destruct buttons. F$&@King Imbeciles.

Are we in the business of winning Premierships or Social Justice Causes. I would like the Club to make a statement explaining that tomorrow. As this is just about the last straw. We the supporters have had to endure countless acts of stupid over the course of many decades. We seem to find new ways to F$&@k ourselves over.

In a season where teams are falling over and where a chance has opened up for us to quite unexpectedly challenge for a flag, as unlikely as it may have seemed 8 weeks ago.

We……don’t stand our ground. We….don’t stand by our players. We…..allow all the external noise to take our focus off the only thing we exist for. Winning a Premiership.

What’s it all for. Why are we paying our memberships. If everyone involved is not serious about winning Premierships. Then why should We be serious about supporting this s**t.

Are we going to put yet another season to bed and expect us to put our focus onto the AFLW team now. Or maybe the Netballer’s. I know, we need a Basketball team next and maybe they can follow that with an NRL team also. Or maybe the Do Better Be Better F$&@KWits can find an Social Justice Cause to distracts us with and waste more of our focus off the ONLY thing that really matters.

WINNING PREMIERSHIPS.

I really don’t give a F$&@k if DeGoey is at the club next year. That’s the clubs decision to make. But to sabotage our current opportunity. That’s unforgivable. Chances of winning Premierships doesn’t happen all the time. And when your given an opportunity you have to be in the best position to take it. Now if we were to get some injuries and dropped form. Then that’s what happens. But we have deliberately F$&@ked ourselves her. And that’s unforgivable.

I’ve watched this club for over 50 years. And I can honestly say, it’s this current period, the last few years that’s been the most taxing. Maybe they’re the last straws……..

I would say we are an extraordinarily dumb dumb club. But we are no longer the Collingwood Football Club. We are an Ideology run for the benefit of Ideologues.

Fair and justified rant Ronnie. Don't agree with everything you said but I respect your passion for the club and agree with your basic point: the club hasn't acted well in all of this and needs to do much better

Love JDG to death: a real sportsperson in a world of media-curated robots. Hope he's not suffering too much and realises that we, as fans, support him to the hilt. Get better soon, mate and get back to showcasing your amazing talents on field. Hope you stick with CFC forever and are in the side when we win our next flag!

There is a difference between doing that with your wife whose boundaries you know and doing it to a girl your hanging out in a nightclub with whose boundaries you don’t know.

And what is it you know of DeGoey’s relationship with Remy?

Would it change your mind if you knew they were having sex the previous days. Is that enough?

Or that they may have been known to each other longer and he asked her there?

When is the familiar, familiar?

I'd like to see some of your posts celebrating the club's wins but I honestly haven't noticed them. They must be far fewer than your many posts following a loss. After the Freo, Carlton and Melbourne games I pretty much read the whole post match threads looking for contributions from the likes of you and other Negative Nellie's on this forum but can't recall seeing any.

The problem with the point you’re trying to make is I’m not negative about Collingwood. The 2 biggest reasons for my criticisms are not around and we’re winning, so maybe instead of being the negative Nellie you claim, I am the realist I always said I was.

Amazing how much better we get simply by sacking the coach who was no good and wow how things turned around even more since the million dollar man got injured!

You complain about the negative nellies and even now we were proven right all along, you can’t admit it but just go on whinging.

Let him walk

Over it

On field all I care about and his let his team mates and supporters down

Should of manned up and played
Third, fourth, fifth strike?
How many times can he be a 15 year old, which would be excusable.
Im looking forward to what we can get in compensation and how we can improve our list with a talented, stable, footballer.
The club stuffed up yesterday when the fined him but suspended that fine. 25k is beer money for Jordy, so apply the fine, get kudos for doing so, and move on. But suspending it only opened us up to more media scrutiny.
If the coaching team is professional, they are already working on a game plan without him and looking at the available top 10 recruit in the next draft.

Okay let’s be clear on one thing, this situation exists because Jordy made poor choices in Bali. Yes the media blew it way out of proportion given the outcome but it’s not like it would be a surprise to Jordy given his history. Jordy was okay because at the end of the night the woman at the centre of this was okay with it, but let‘s not pretend that DeGoey’s thought process (if he had one) went beyond ‘wouldn’t it be fun to pull her top down in a public bar’. And in doing so he literally put his career in her hands because if she wanted to make a complaint about it she would’ve had a case and his career would probably have been done.

I thought the club handled it well. At the end of the day they didn’t really punish him other than the contract situation, but they got their point across that Jordan shouldn’t have put himself, the woman or the club in this position in the first place.

I have to say, I think that the club's management of this has been deplorable.

They waited around for a few days after the video leaked, letting the pandemonium build to a shrill chorus.

Then at the most intense point of that hysteria, they made a statement which shamed the player and made him sound like a criminal moron in need of new mental circuitry.

And then, unsurprisingly, none of the shrill chorus died down, and their asset is in no state to take the field.

Even to acknowledge that JDG created the situation, the club's crisis management strikes me as a form of madness.

F$&@$&@&&k. We are a stupid stupid club. Always pressing the self destruct buttons. F$&@King Imbeciles.

Are we in the business of winning Premierships or Social Justice Causes. I would like the Club to make a statement explaining that tomorrow. As this is just about the last straw. We the supporters have had to endure countless acts of stupid over the course of many decades. We seem to find new ways to F$&@k ourselves over.

In a season where teams are falling over and where a chance has opened up for us to quite unexpectedly challenge for a flag, as unlikely as it may have seemed 8 weeks ago.

We……don’t stand our ground. We….don’t stand by our players. We…..allow all the external noise to take our focus off the only thing we exist for. Winning a Premiership.

What’s it all for. Why are we paying our memberships. If everyone involved is not serious about winning Premierships. Then why should We be serious about supporting this s**t.

Are we going to put yet another season to bed and expect us to put our focus onto the AFLW team now. Or maybe the Netballer’s. I know, we need a Basketball team next and maybe they can follow that with an NRL team also. Or maybe the Do Better Be Better F$&@KWits can find an Social Justice Cause to distracts us with and waste more of our focus off the ONLY thing that really matters.

WINNING PREMIERSHIPS.

I really don’t give a F$&@k if DeGoey is at the club next year. That’s the clubs decision to make. But to sabotage our current opportunity. That’s unforgivable. Chances of winning Premierships doesn’t happen all the time. And when your given an opportunity you have to be in the best position to take it. Now if we were to get some injuries and dropped form. Then that’s what happens. But we have deliberately F$&@ked ourselves her. And that’s unforgivable.

I’ve watched this club for over 50 years. And I can honestly say, it’s this current period, the last few years that’s been the most taxing. Maybe they’re the last straws……..

I would say we are an extraordinarily dumb dumb club. But we are no longer the Collingwood Football Club. We are an Ideology run for the benefit of Ideologues.

Great post, my blame is fairly pointed at Mark Anderson on the direction our club has taken when it comes to the points you have made, an employee on big bucks with no heart felt love for the club or jumper IMO.

Sorry mate have to disagree with that description.
A playful tug on her bikini top is what I’d call it.

You're right. My description sounded very severe. The intent was to expose a part of her anatomy but it wasn't aggresive. That needs to be noted in all fairness.

What he did wasn't a hangable offense but I disagree with the "he did nothing" insistence coming from some.

The truth is somewhere in the middle.

I don't disagree from the social media pov.
I just think nothing he has done is outside of a big night out in Bali.
Nothing.
If I ever walk past a Footy journalist they will get a very interesting gesture from me.
I hate the campaigners.

two points.... its not unusual for a 26 yo cashed up bogan but it is unusual for an AFL player - to be exposed. I recognise that a lot of AFL players do crazy things during a break but jordan doesnt think about covering his arse.

second is the blame of the media.... it wasnt the media that posted that video.....it wasnt the media. He has mates, at least that's what he calls them. I dont know what he expects of his enemies.

I rarely post on oppo threads but I must say that I can't really see what DeGoey has done wrong, he's a young bloke having a good time with consenting girls. Hell, even I did that back in the day.

This reeks of the over political correctness blighting our society. He's done nothing legally wrong, leave him alone.

If this was an NRL player, it wouldn't rate a second look.

Hope the guy is ok going forward.