Preview Round 16, 2022: Carlton v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Friday 1st July, 7:50PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Blues

Votes: 68 81.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 15 18.1%

From someone who I think should know more than most.

Don't know about you, but over the years I reckon there's been more than a few times that I've stood in front of mate who's had a few, saying - "leave it alone mate - just walk away its not worth it."

And I have no doubt that sometimes it probably looked like we were having an altercation to anybody just passing by.

PS - Supporters aren't always members
Fair enough. Understand supporters aren't always members but surely someone can identify this person and if he is a member revoke his membership, if not the least he can do is apologise. Surely there has to be a consequence of some sort. There's abuse and then there's this, think a line has been crossed there.

Not true - one of a group of 3 St Kilda players was racially abused by a so called fan who was unhappy with the players (teams) performance.

Unsurprisingly voices were raised, the security staff intervened and rather than get into a fight, the players did the right thing and left the venue.

The player was rightfully a little bit p***ed off that it was better that they leave the venue even though they had done nothing wrong and the other players had to stop him from going back into the venue.

Sort of thing that happens all the time when you're out with your mates - happens a bit more often if you happen to be aboriginal.

Bit hard for the club to say much because it was a supposed fan.
I can imagine it happening exactly like that.
Some drunk, p***ed off low-life supporter abusing the guys.
Was better that they leave.
I don’t know Paddy from a bar of soap, but I’d bet he would’ve been the cooler head in all of this.

Not true - one of a group of 3 St Kilda players was racially abused by a so called fan who was unhappy with the players (teams) performance.

Unsurprisingly voices were raised, the security staff intervened and rather than get into a fight, the players did the right thing and left the venue.

The player was rightfully a little bit p***ed off that it was better that they leave the venue even though they had done nothing wrong and the other players had to stop him from going back into the venue.

Sort of thing that happens all the time when you're out with your mates - happens a bit more often if you happen to be aboriginal.

I'd rather weed out the racist fans and tell them to jog on rather than minimise because they're a fan

The first part you quoted was actually true too, could well be that both stories occurred.

Every ones got an answer on who should be dropped who's lazy our midfield s**t and so on, but the real reson our ball use in the F50 isn't any good is no movement King stands still keep moving, same with all fwds make it hard to defend on you & MF will deliver to you.
And the reason there is no movement is because we are so effing slow to move the ball espesially off the backline. It began against Melbourne. Mebourne, WC, Sydney, even esseondon with Ridley love to go third man up and ouble team Max which means don't stuf around with the pill, move it fast into the 50 before they have a chance to set up their spare.

I just listened to Lethers on SEN.

Said teams have found us out and we need to bring great effort to help counter that.

Football department has become more involved as the form as regressed to help get the team out of the rut.

Finals is still the goal, first 10 rounds won 5 games coming from behind so weren't a dominant top four team just maximised moments in games and didn't control games all the way through. Thinks we are a 6th-10th side and our form all season is evidence to that.

Says to have better consistency is tough with a competition so tight and need mental aspect of game as strong as physical, good to have Steele back to help with that. Intangible is mental application and we'll see what the response is like on Friday night.

Bounce of half back was key to our success early on but with Hill out and Sinclair tagged it hurt us on weekend. Stagnant, no flow. Midfield need to take game on more and ability to change gears depending on situation in game. We are a pressure side and need to get back to that to begin to improve.

Windhager NWM Owens all have improved list and will continue to play and will be long term players for us.

Ryder Hill Higgins out have hurt us and players underneath aren't quite ready to match their output yet. Need more quality to compete with the very best teams every week, can't rely on Steele and King to do majority of work.

De Goey will be part of process like all players club assess to bring into club, no different to ant club or any player. No deal tabled to him.

Club has been open with Ratts contract publicly all the way through, think Ratten is the man to take us forward and nobody would've challenged that two weeks ago but understands the question now we aren't playing so well. Club and Ratten focus is to arrest the slide and get back to winning.

Said Riewoldt would understand coaching decisions are made with due diligence across the market. Club has done that but they think the man to take us forward is Ratten and focus is to keep improving football department. SL said every available coach or assistant is looked at like players are. No deal or call made to Clarkson.

Coach is biggest part of soft cap so it is big decision because football department spend is built around that and how much support or assistants can be brought into club on back of head coach salary. Says Ratten is experienced with a young talented list so fits the mould of what the coach wants. Also said people like Damian Carroll and rest of the support for Ratts wouldn't have been possible if the club paid a fortune for head coach.

Paddy needed a break but will be back. Hill had personal issues to deal with, didn't train Monday or Tuesday so couldn't have been up for Swans game. Doesn't know when he will return, could be Friday could be the week or weeks after.

Can expect a team charged up and ready against a team in good form on Friday night. Better style of play, attacking style of play. Nowhere to hide.

Cheers
what a snake and a flog, the quicker we get rid of him the better.

The first part you quoted was actually true too, could well be that both stories occurred.
A mate was at the Sporting Globe on Saturday night and said he saw a couple of high profile guys at the bar, drinking heavily. The shorter of the two got in a loud argument with one of the locals but there were no fisticuffs.

Outside, one of the group was considering whether to drive home but was quickly and firmly talked out if it, and they caught a cab instead.

No fight.
No drink-driving.
No laws broken.

Just some guys having a drink on their night off.

I just listened to Lethers on SEN.

Said teams have found us out and we need to bring great effort to help counter that.

Football department has become more involved as the form as regressed to help get the team out of the rut.

Finals is still the goal, first 10 rounds won 5 games coming from behind so weren't a dominant top four team just maximised moments in games and didn't control games all the way through. Thinks we are a 6th-10th side and our form all season is evidence to that.

Says to have better consistency is tough with a competition so tight and need mental aspect of game as strong as physical, good to have Steele back to help with that. Intangible is mental application and we'll see what the response is like on Friday night.

Bounce of half back was key to our success early on but with Hill out and Sinclair tagged it hurt us on weekend. Stagnant, no flow. Midfield need to take game on more and ability to change gears depending on situation in game. We are a pressure side and need to get back to that to begin to improve.

Windhager NWM Owens all have improved list and will continue to play and will be long term players for us.

Ryder Hill Higgins out have hurt us and players underneath aren't quite ready to match their output yet. Need more quality to compete with the very best teams every week, can't rely on Steele and King to do majority of work.

De Goey will be part of process like all players club assess to bring into club, no different to ant club or any player. No deal tabled to him.

Club has been open with Ratts contract publicly all the way through, think Ratten is the man to take us forward and nobody would've challenged that two weeks ago but understands the question now we aren't playing so well. Club and Ratten focus is to arrest the slide and get back to winning.

Said Riewoldt would understand coaching decisions are made with due diligence across the market. Club has done that but they think the man to take us forward is Ratten and focus is to keep improving football department. SL said every available coach or assistant is looked at like players are. No deal or call made to Clarkson.

Coach is biggest part of soft cap so it is big decision because football department spend is built around that and how much support or assistants can be brought into club on back of head coach salary. Says Ratten is experienced with a young talented list so fits the mould of what the coach wants. Also said people like Damian Carroll and rest of the support for Ratts wouldn't have been possible if the club paid a fortune for head coach.

Paddy needed a break but will be back. Hill had personal issues to deal with, didn't train Monday or Tuesday so couldn't have been up for Swans game. Doesn't know when he will return, could be Friday could be the week or weeks after.

Can expect a team charged up and ready against a team in good form on Friday night. Better style of play, attacking style of play. Nowhere to hide.

Cheers
Not ideal news about Hill

Lot of dumb drunks picking fights will pick on any physical attribute.

Ya bald bastard. Four eyes, shortass prick. Fat .... etc etc
Skin color is just one of many

Don't know the person involved obviously, and it might be Adolf Hitler born again, just saying you could spend a lot of years putting out every little spot fire like this.

Ya bald bastard. Four eyes, shortass prick. Fat .... etc etc
Skin color is just one of many

Racism is different to those other slurs because race is often used as part (or the whole) of the reason for targeting someone for a verbal or physical attack in the first place.

Rarely would you see somebody targeted because they are fat or bald etc.

A drunk caveman type is only really going to call someone bald or fat etc in response to something. (A spilled drink etc etc)

Of all the verbal drunken attacks that happen everyday- only a tiny fraction of them that involve calling someone fat or bald etc would be without something happening prior.

It's different with race, it's often part or whole of the reason why a knuckledragger chooses to verbally or physically attack someone.

Where'd you hear that? If that's true surely the club could track that person down and revoke his membership or get him to make an apology at the least. That's pretty disgraceful from one of our own.
You hear it a lot at games. Had some *******s abusing our own players heaps at the Essendon game. As soon as anyone would make any little mistake just jump on them saying they’ve never been good and should retire

A drunk caveman type

Cavemen probably weren't racist. They were actually quite cultured. Racist, f*ckwit scum are their own category.

chauvet-cave.jpg

o.jpg

Be very disappointed and surprised if a STK "supporter" was racially abusing Hill or Ryder

Moving forward...

Preface this by saying I'm >90% #eco

However something tells me we're not done yet

I just get the feeling we might string a few wins together here and surprise a few people

We literally have nothing to lose

We were in good form earlier in the year!

We just need to click again, find cohesion, get that hunger back, throw it all out there and say f-ck it, let's just smash in for the remainder, teach a few people a lesson and maybe even tear into September with a wet sail!!!!

Probably suffering temporary insanity of course....