Votes: 14 4.9%

Votes: 85 30.0%

Votes: 57 20.1%

Votes: 69 24.4%
  • 7+

Votes: 45 15.9%

Some of you need to chill out, be better than geelong supporters.

We dont need to wish injuries on anyone or hope someone evens it up.

Just be content in the fact we win when it really matters.

Also the thread is about Stewart and Prestia

Excuse my ignorance but I was of the understanding CTE can only be diagnosed after death.

No Problem Noidnadroj :thumbsu:
If we are talking to be 100% sure that is still correct I believe.
There are now speciality machines and chemical advancements in the states that are in play but I have little idea how that works.
Most CTE diagnosis are made on sympton's and there severity. In my personal case I was flown to Melbourne to have both MRI and a Spect scan where bleeding on the brain and partial brain damage was evident.
I don't want the toughness taken out of the game & I can accept accidental head clashes, but the head should be protected at all costs from incidents like this.
I think the AFL may have issues with claims down the track as advancements in technology and diagnosis progress and players start taking action.
So this case was close to home and I believe the time was right for the AFL to set a precedent, get serious about head injuries caused in such manners and penalise harshly.

Geelong are a has been club full of pensioners with only 4-5 talented kids and a bunch of rubbish players

in 2-3 years time they will become the next Norf and with the introduction of a tassie team wont have top picks to build

Looking foward to pissing down on this regional minnow club

10 of their best players over 30 , Can only plug holes for so long before it sinks

Back to carrying their handbags soon
images

With the Spirit of Tasmania moving to Geelong later this year, makes it easier for them to get to home games im Tassie. ;)

So there we have it.

Not one single word at the Tribunal hearing spent discussing whether Stewart intentionally bumped Prestia to the head.

Just an acceptance by all present it could not have possibly been intentional.

That is farcical.

They made the mistake of calling it a bump gone wrong. His arm came slightly away from his body and it was an elbow to the head. Elbows can be graded intentional, bumps cannot.

The most annoying thing is everyone is there with straight faces arguing between 3 x weeks or 4 x weeks, with 4 x weeks now looking like Geelong were hard done by as they didn’t get the 3 they wanted.

It should have been Geelong wanting 4 and the AFL wanting 6. With the verdict being 5 or 6.

The AFL have made a rod for their back with this verdict - not sure what can ever be given more than 4 x weeks. And now every decision will involve faux remorse and apologies and character references as it’s clear now that gets a discount.

Prior to the tribunal hearing I was happy with 4+. But I’m disgusted that 4 was the largest penalty even up for discussion.

I hate most oppo teams simply because of their flog supporters. Geelong is a bit of an anomoly because on top of being littered with moron fans. I also despise the actual club, particulary Chris Salt, Joel Duckwood and Patrick Clangererfield. Had so many leg ups since Dank earned them 3 cheat flags. I pray 24/7 for us to meet them in a final this year and Im not even religous.

Sickening shit on 7 news with Tim Watson and Flog Mitchell praising Stewarts character like he is the unfortunate Victim. F U K OFF AFL. Hope this comes back to Fu k you up.

now the AFL propaganda machine will call it a tough/harsh/sends a message suspension.

Cant believe the AFL asked only for four weeks. Well actually I can believe it given who’s in charge of footy ops. Joke comp

Think Stewart shows his class in this interview post finding out the decision
Makes no excuses

Gotta laugh at Tim’s opening line “It’s bad news for Geelong”. They’ll be friggin doing cartwheels with 4 x weeks. The more I look at the entire incident the more horrific it looks. I initially thought 4+ was OK…. but I now believe this 4-week verdict is not going to age well at all…..

In a few years we will look at this incident and won’t believe he only got 4 weeks.

They made the mistake of calling it a bump gone wrong. His arm came slightly away from his body and it was an elbow to the head. Elbows can be graded intentional, bumps cannot.

The most annoying thing is everyone is there with straight faces arguing between 3 x weeks or 4 x weeks, with 4 x weeks now looking like Geelong were hard done by as they didn’t get the 3 they wanted.

It should have been Geelong wanting 4 and the AFL wanting 6. With the verdict being 5 or 6.

The AFL have made a rod for their back with this verdict - not sure what can ever be given more than 4 x weeks. And now every decision will involve faux remorse and apologies and character references as it’s clear now that gets a discount.

Prior to the tribunal hearing I was happy with 4+. But I’m disgusted that 4 was the largest penalty even up for discussion.

Don’t you think it is outrageous a bump cannot be graded intentional? Surely it is possible for someone to form an intent to bump an opponent to the head? And if we accept that as truth, which it clearly is, then surely this case is one where they should have been arguing around whether it was Stewart’s intent to bump the head or body.

No Problem Noidnadroj :thumbsu:
If we are talking to be 100% sure that is still correct I believe.
There are now speciality machines and chemical advancements in the states that are in play but I have little idea how that works.
Most CTE diagnosis are made on sympton's and there severity. In my personal case I was flown to Melbourne to have both MRI and a Spect scan where bleeding on the brain and partial brain damage was evident.
I don't want the toughness taken out of the game & I can accept accidental head clashes, but I want the head protected at all costs from incidents like this.
I think the AFL may have issues with claims down the track as advancements in technology and diagnosis progress and players start taking action.
So this case was close to home and I believe the time was right for the AFL to set a precedent, get serious about deliberate head injuries and penalise more harshly.

Thanks for the clarification and all the best to your health. I’m big on players taking a level of responsibility for potential injury or head trauma as they volunteer to play what is clearly a very dangerous sport. But they don’t volunteer to be lined up off the ball as Prestia was in a non-football action. AFL calling for 4-weeks as the maximum is a disgrace.

Thought Tom spoke pretty well after the hearing. Richo said Dion was out jogging on the track today so that's good news.

Let’s hope the poor bloke doesn’t have delayed concussion symptoms.

now the AFL propaganda machine will call it a tough/harsh/sends a message suspension.

Cant believe the AFL asked only for four weeks. Well actually I can believe it given who’s in charge of footy ops. Joke comp
I was reminded today that Dan Richardson is in charge of umpiring so no wonder its a total **** up because anyone that signs off on the game playing on while a player is out cold is a total fukwit

I was reminded today that Dan Richardson is in charge of umpiring so no wonder its a total * up because anyone that signs off on the game playing on while a player is out cold is a total fukwit

Sacked from a club and end up at AFL house seems to be a career route now

Sorry guys, I just noticed "no Oppo supporters".
Thanks for being so accepting as always.
Take care all and good night
As if you count as an oppo

No Oppo Supporters Tom Stewart's targeted KO'ing of Prestia - 4 week ban