Toast Regional Roos Thread - Down on the farm Roos

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
My kids are after a few, but I hear they wander a bit. Shouldn’t be two much trouble as we don’t have neighbors for a couple of kms, but worried about foxes getting them.
we have an electric mesh fence round their run and are putting them into the hutch at night atm, i believe they are pretty good at defending themselves when they are bigger but we are yet to see, Emma would be the one with the good oil. my wife is pretty much running the avian department....

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
fence going in round the new dam,

3DayiF4Bm1Mu2UmMgcYRRR92EJlxFGwVUAYHizgNJEqU2D2Ty5-s-RmKG7Ixlilylrg-3dYg5ZrRFTjzHWC1yWuFp0cF216_HIAM7MmgU7kKBaQcOPnSQ1NlAvq0GcCxkK2-CkIMEEBfcePYbg_0grKosj1xchrEfb0Z4hgl3pS9XHEYcyeyE16BXOZDcFb93NGnMqHyPRW8awyqa15afceSx28J5PuJlVs1m_Z4MED70iVaOESjkKzN2mWX4VNRqTTsPPBQqzEgPV7sYuJJ8bxKuDrn68F79cvJnnZs5RB_pctJWeQD_AsQ2Sbcn8vRrP5twv7iXbATzQHcLleTYtYmSv3M82tOjKtgmSLkr3R9wXmF5SpPA4h-ybzOMqSIk5CHdYcKG3Xm_BmJ51TwJ-bUNmoa_ggZWs0OkBew0XKERuAXAPTTaJGggbNN1DL4Ft7wrqrY5rBZkI_6rvNAf9W_iJ6p0RJ8PhH5J_e3SZwGZ6XYjEamcvw8CmRzVMDy5saMT2Vds0hkyW7B07EmvMle_qb1056INODR4GNaVqsjJOfp0cU-RDI19SU5yM5gmt4Ev0QvR2dsaj4F3Y4DqYFu0iJbl7h-HfZq-LfrAGmdwexpSdMNM6CztbBNxdO2QHwsAThs4pLB_2Bco5GWYkDMNUh3zrEuktO7tanUFQs-iwYHDu9rncY8gKivkpIUV8GUqbp2VTqHhfmHCV31FrmFVW51kz0B0mGif3gG7HpI-pki2Bsa8B1NUKElccE=w836-h627-no

Bloody foxes
We are in the middle of lambing & are having at least 1 a night killed
Set up a night vision scope on my rifle today so hopefully tonight I can get it
Dunno where you're based, but surely you can set up a safe place for the lambs.
Mate of mine in west gipps has a few ways to deal with intruders.

Sorry i'm late to the party, but better late than never!

I'm Hatchy, currently residing in the Far North Coast of NSW, near Lismore where the recent floods were. I've had a few stints in the city with Adelaide and most recently Brisbane but i'm living back at home this year to save up and to focus on other things.

Started supporting the Kangas in 2007 when a few of the squad back then came to watch my local u/14's game for a meet and greet. I don't get to go to many games, but I make sure i've gone to every game I possibly can.

Emma12

Jan 2, 2019
Dunno where you're based, but surely you can set up a safe place for the lambs.
Mate of mine in west gipps has a few ways to deal with intruders.
Down in western Victoria
We have alpacas out with the lambing ewes & they do a good job except over night
I also bait & gas dens but when you’re lambing down a few thousand they can’t be locked up to tight
I have fenced off the creek on our place and planted plenty of trees there as well as put in heaps of plantations but it is a double edged sword
We now have plenty of native wildlife but also the vermin that use those areas also

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
Down in western Victoria
We have alpacas out with the lambing ewes & they do a good job except over night
I also bait & gas dens but when you’re lambing down a few thousand they can’t be locked up to tight
I have fenced off the creek on our place and planted plenty of trees there as well as put in heaps of plantations but it is a double edged sword
We now have plenty of native wildlife but also the vermin that use those areas also
yeah iam not really a night owl, would rather be sleeping, especially on freezing cold nights like last night than staying up aiting for foxes to wonder by. the JRTs tend to wake up easy and out the doggie door pretty quick when they hear something, but i reckon plenty are false alarms.

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
Sorry i'm late to the party, but better late than never!

I'm Hatchy, currently residing in the Far North Coast of NSW, near Lismore where the recent floods were. I've had a few stints in the city with Adelaide and most recently Brisbane but i'm living back at home this year to save up and to focus on other things.

Started supporting the Kangas in 2007 when a few of the squad back then came to watch my local u/14's game for a meet and greet. I don't get to go to many games, but I make sure i've gone to every game I possibly can.
looks like your in ferbs way.

Roogal

Dec 7, 2016
North Ballarat Roosters
I grew up in Ballarat, joined the Army and lived in exotic places like Wagga Wagga and Townsville before moving back to Victoria having lived in Seymour and now residing in Geelong :)

domiroo

It’s a big kick it’s long kick it’s a goal .....
Dec 26, 2007
Catanzaro / Manchester City
Coming home on The old drot .

Attachments

• 62EF70DC-D154-46EC-973A-2406EF12CC48.jpeg
    62EF70DC-D154-46EC-973A-2406EF12CC48.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 40

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
60mm plus last 24 hours of rain, 800 is our annual average, so nearly a 10th of the years rain in a day.

Date/Time
EST
Temp
°C
App
Temp
°C
Dew
Point
°C
Rel
Hum