List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

Most drafts elite mids have shown enough to be confident you know what you are getting.
I'm not sure about that but this year seems a little bit more dicey. Ashcroft and Sheezel look safe bets, maybe Warlord too. Phillipou could be Bont but then again could be Brent Staker.

To date this doesnt look like one of them. So the probability you will land one is lower than average.
Agree - definitely lower than normal chance of landing an elite.

Thats what he's saying and I agree. We dont want to 'reach' with pick 1 or 2 and end up with a ok player.
I get it, but I'd rather take the chance at the top end. I'd be ok with us choosing Phillipou and if he ended up a bust, so be it. We have maybe 3 years of top 5 picks. Out of 3, I'd like to nail 2 or more, and then jag a gun with one of our second rounders.

Peoples thoughts on Oli Hotton? His name caught my eye is a Fox article. Vic kid described as "one of the best and cleanest stoppage players seen at school level". Could be there around our 2nd picks possibly. Played a ripper in the wet. He isnt a monster but he sounds like a real goer.
He looks good to me. Souup from North board has him at 58. I think he'll go much higher.

I'm not sure about that but this year seems a little bit more dicey. Ashcroft and Sheezel look safe bets, maybe Warlord too. Phillipou could be Bont but then again could be Brent Staker.

Agree - definitely lower than normal chance of landing an elite.

I get it, but I'd rather take the chance at the top end. I'd be ok with us choosing Phillipou and if he ended up a bust, so be it. We have maybe 3 years of top 5 picks. Out of 3, I'd like to nail 2 or more, and then jag a gun with one of our second rounders.

He looks good to me. Souup from North board has him at 58. I think he'll go much higher.

Hotton is a smaller but nugetty forward / mid from the article. He sounds......dare I say it.....like a Baker type you can pick up later in the draft. ;)

Clearance and stoppage player with good speed, tackles and finds the scoreboard. Plays well in wet conditions.

Ticks a lot of boxes for what we lack and due to his size likely 3rd rounder onwards. Can also play back. Very Baker like. :thumbsu:

Hotton and Brown with late picks would add some nice ground ball skills and forward preasure. I really want our recruiters to take some smaller, agile fast types instead of these taller flankers. Bulldogs do and it works.

If we were inclined to trade our two second rounds for Brisbane's current pick 16 I wonder if there would be some value in exchanging our pick 2 for two mid round 1 picks (i.e. pick 2 exchange for picks 7 & 10/11). Obviously no team is in a position to offer this currently, but there will likely be one or two clubs who might be in a position post-trade week. This could see us net something like a Hewett and Mackenzie combination for our first two selections with our third selection being pick 16. Would this be a better option than just Sheezel/Phillipou/Wardlaw who we could pick us at selection 2 but will all be gone by pick 7?
I don't want a pick 7+ I want a pick 1 or 2. That is where the likelihood of drafting a top 5-10 midfielder in the league is greatest. That is what we need.

In other news the points calculator is telling me that Port Adelaide's second rounder (assuming finish 10th) and our third rounder is worth more points than pick 16. That's the deal we should be looking at. Depending on where thinks shake out might need to move to our second rounder and our third rounder (pick ~20, pick ~38) to give Brisbane enough of a boost. Not opposed to that idea if we believe a Hewett or similar may slide.

Most drafts elite mids have shown enough to be confident you know what you are getting.

To date this doesnt look like one of them. So the probability you will land one is lower than average.

Thats what he's saying and I agree. We dont want to 'reach' with pick 1 or 2 and end up with a ok player.

Peoples thoughts on Oli Hotton? His name caught my eye is a Fox article. Vic kid described as "one of the best and cleanest stoppage players seen at school level". Could be there around our 2nd picks possibly. Played a ripper in the wet. He isnt a monster but he sounds like a real goer.

Liked what I saw of him in the wet in Geelong a week or so ago. Reminds me of Z Fisher

I don't want a pick 7+ I want a pick 1 or 2. That is where the likelihood of drafting a top 5-10 midfielder in the league is greatest. That is what we need.

In other news the points calculator is telling me that Port Adelaide's second rounder (assuming finish 10th) and our third rounder is worth more points than pick 16. That's the deal we should be looking at. Depending on where thinks shake out might need to move to our second rounder and our third rounder (pick ~20, pick ~38) to give Brisbane enough of a boost. Not opposed to that idea if we believe a Hewett or similar may slide.
Coupled with a promise not to nominate Ashcroft, might be enough but depends where we finish (this only works if we get the spoon).

Sheezel had another 20 and 4 goal game. Idk i reckon we should take him tbh, how many mids can come in and play in the middle right away? not a lot.

Sheezel can play next season as a forward rotating in the middle, and eventually be a mid.

He has a bit of Butters/Rozee feel about him
sounds like how Cousins started

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

And a guarantee that we won't bid on ashcroft .
That would also save them 200+ points

Word on the street is Jackson has let Melbourne know he is leaving .

Most likely freo bound which im fine with because we need to hit the draft for midfielders.

But....... it leaves Trent Rivers out of contract next year and his best mate Jackson has already left .

Love to get Rivers

Most likely freo bound which im fine with because we need to hit the draft for midfielders.

But....... it leaves Trent Rivers out of contract next year and his best mate Jackson has already left .

Love to get Rivers
If it is a weak draft, as people on here are saying, then as much as i agree that our primary need is for a midfielder i would still be inclined to put our first pick on the table for Jackson. If the draft is weak, and there are no obvious candidates that appeal to us with our first pick, then i think a bird in the hand is worth two in the wild in this circumstance. We know that Jackson is a gun, We know what we are getting. Even though he is not a midfielder. We will probably have another two top 5 picks in the next two years. I am not expecting any rapid rebound up the ladder. So we could hope for a better draft for both of the next two years and go for a midfielder in both of those drafts. I realise there are people on here who will disagree with that because of our desperate dearth of midfield talent on the list and will want to use our first pick for a midfielder no matter what. But thats how i see it. I don't want to take the risk of our first pick being a bust if we go to the draft with it and the draft is weak.

The issue is how do we get him. We have to take a 1st round pick in this years draft.

Love to get Rivers

I can confirm Jackson is gone from a very sketchy and long winded source.

My father in law works with a bloke who plays amateur footy with some dude who used to be on Geelong's rookie list. Now this guy who used to be on a rookie list told the guy my father in law works with that Jackson has already agreed terms with Freo. Freo have apparently agreed to trade 2 first round draft picks, one of which will be acquired from the Bulldogs.

True story.

Ok, so obviously a few holes in that story. Sounds like someone's been reading BF and spinning shit to my gullible father in law. But its a source and by golly, if a journo is reading this thread, just run with the story!

If we were inclined to trade our two second rounds for Brisbane's current pick 16 I wonder if there would be some value in exchanging our pick 2 for two mid round 1 picks (i.e. pick 2 exchange for picks 7 & 10/11). Obviously no team is in a position to offer this currently, but there will likely be one or two clubs who might be in a position post-trade week. This could see us net something like a Hewett and Mackenzie combination for our first two selections with our third selection being pick 16. Would this be a better option than just Sheezel/Phillipou/Wardlaw who we could pick us at selection 2 but will all be gone by pick 7?

I don’t mind this suggestion if we got Hewitt + Mackenzie and could grab another player at Pick 16 ,Would Munkara be worth a risk/reward selection..

It will be interesting to see what Freo put up for the trade. This year and next years first rounders are a starting point. Thats two picks likely in the 15 - 20 range. But that won't be enough. Jackson is a 20 year old pick 3 who has become a gun player. Obviously Freo want to trade Logue and Lobb for picks to get more ammunition for this deal. But what are those guys worth? And do they want to be traded out of WA? They could turn around and say "No mate, i have a contract with you and i am not interested in being traded". Or if they do accept being traded then they might find the club they want to go to and nominate it and then that club low balls Freo with the offer, as Cerra and Carlton did. There are lots of ways this could unravel on Freo come trade week.

If we keep pick 2 - I'm happy with Wardlaw, Sheezel or Phillipou. However, with pick 2 generally speaking I was hoping for more as I don't feel any are at the level of a Petracca, Noah Anderson, Callaghan, Logan McDonald (I'm excluding Will Phillips as that was just ridiculous). For mine Ashcroft is the only real standout and he'll either nominate the Lions or be taken by Norf. There is a real evenness from pick 2 to 15 IMO, yeah the three guys listed above are the three better talents but they're aren't head and shoulders above the chasing pack like previous years.

Some of the more impressive players at this years champs, have been the underagers. Next years crop looks pretty damn good, Pick 2 this year could be the equivalent of a pick 5 next year in terms of talent.

With that said, I personally would be very open to trading pick 2 to slide back in this draft to try and secure another first round pick for next year!
A scenario being, Adelaide will likely end with pick 3 and they love home grown and Phillipou would be right in their sights. Do we trade with Port, to help them beat the crows to the punch? If we hold that trade to draft night after Norf have used their pick we can do that trade to stop Crows trading with Norf to beat Port to him.

At Pick 8, still plenty of good options likely to be left on the table; Keeler (KPF), Clarke (mid), Hewett (mid), Tsatas (Mid), MacKenzie (Mid), Szybkowski (Mid).
Any of these guys would be a great pick.

Next year we'd get 2 x first round selections at some great talent. Rebuild can't be solved in one draft, will take multiple drafts.

I agree that we likely want to be taking pick 1/2/3/4 in the draft (hopefully not 4, but if Nth get a PP plus Ashcroft to Brisbane then it will be #4). We can't just be midfield focused though. Other than KPD we could use high-end talent across the field.

The likelihood (by the look of this draft) is that we will select a mid, but if a KPF catapults themselves up the order in the next few months, or another crafty mid/fwd (Sheezel is already in the top bracket) does the same then we should take the best available.

Busslinger is the exception to me. If he is the 3/4/5th best in the draft, and around our pick - then maybe we do slide back if others are really keen on him (possibly the same with Sheezel if go-home factor is that strong, but I would still prefer we take the risk). KPD is last on our list of priorities - so we shouldn't reach for a mid if we can do similar to what we did last year with Chesser.

Because we’re required to take two over a four year period and we’ve taken one in the last three years.
You can apply for permission to trade it but the AFL needs to sign off. I reckon they would, given: Jackson is young, was pick 3, we took a good number of selections last year, we will take two second round selections this year.