List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

You can apply for permission to trade it but the AFL needs to sign off. I reckon they would, given: Jackson is young, was pick 3, we took a good number of selections last year, we will take two second round selections this year.
If the AFL signing off on it would likely result in a higher trade price for a Melbourne club selling a player to an interstate club then i think they would be guaranteed to sign off on it.

I can confirm Jackson is gone from a very sketchy and long winded source.

My father in law works with a bloke who plays amateur footy with some dude who used to be on Geelong's rookie list. Now this guy who used to be on a rookie list told the guy my father in law works with that Jackson has already agreed terms with Freo. Freo have apparently agreed to trade 2 first round draft picks, one of which will be acquired from the Bulldogs.

True story.

Ok, so obviously a few holes in that story. Sounds like someone's been reading BF and spinning s**t to my gullible father in law. But its a source and by golly, if a journo is reading this thread, just run with the story!

Lobb and dockers future second for dogs first. Dogs and Freo's firsts to Melbourne for Jackson. It all lines up pretty smoothly. Happy to have Jackson head there and if nobody comes knocking hard this year for meek he will 100% want out next year for more game time and or we will have enough data on whether or not Williams or Jamieson are worth Keeping. Meeks trade value will also be significantly lower next year if Darcy plays most of the season.

If it is a weak draft, as people on here are saying, then as much as i agree that our primary need is for a midfielder i would still be inclined to put our first pick on the table for Jackson. If the draft is weak, and there are no obvious candidates that appeal to us with our first pick, then i think a bird in the hand is worth two in the wild in this circumstance. We know that Jackson is a gun, We know what we are getting. Even though he is not a midfielder. We will probably have another two top 5 picks in the next two years. I am not expecting any rapid rebound up the ladder. So we could hope for a better draft for both of the next two years and go for a midfielder in both of those drafts. I realise there are people on here who will disagree with that because of our desperate dearth of midfield talent on the list and will want to use our first pick for a midfielder no matter what. But thats how i see it. I don't want to take the risk of our first pick being a bust if we go to the draft with it and the draft is weak.
Are we sure about this?

My concern is that he won’t be a number 1 ruck due to his size. If that’s the case how much value does a no. 2 ruck/part time forward have?

Lobb and dockers future second for dogs first. Dogs and Freo's firsts to Melbourne for Jackson. It all lines up pretty smoothly. Happy to have Jackson head there and if nobody comes knocking hard this year for meek he will 100% want out next year for more game time and or we will have enough data on whether or not Williams or Jamieson are worth Keeping. Meeks trade value will also be significantly lower next year if Darcy plays most of the season.
Is that just a guess at what a deal might look like? Or is that being reported somewhere?

Not sure i would be happy with that if i was Melbourne. I might hold my nose and accept it late afternoon on the last day of trade week if i had exhausted all other options to get a better deal. But i wouldn't be jumping at it. Also not sure that Melbourne would be all that eager to trade a player to another flag contender during the period when they are also in a flag window.

I agree that we likely want to be taking pick 1/2/3/4 in the draft (hopefully not 4, but if Nth get a PP plus Ashcroft to Brisbane then it will be #4). We can't just be midfield focused though. Other than KPD we could use high-end talent across the field.

The likelihood (by the look of this draft) is that we will select a mid, but if a KPF catapults themselves up the order in the next few months, or another crafty mid/fwd (Sheezel is already in the top bracket) does the same then we should take the best available.

Busslinger is the exception to me. If he is the 3/4/5th best in the draft, and around our pick - then maybe we do slide back if others are really keen on him (possibly the same with Sheezel if go-home factor is that strong, but I would still prefer we take the risk). KPD is last on our list of priorities - so we shouldn't reach for a mid if we can do similar to what we did last year with Chesser.
You seriously think nth will get a PP immediately after there 1st pick?
And hows Ashcroft to Brisbane to us down the order?

You seriously think nth will get a PP immediately after there 1st pick?
And hows Ashcroft to Brisbane to us down the order?

Brisbane take the selection where Ahscroft's bid comes in. whether that is 1, 2 or 3 is irrelevant but it will be very early. Technically it doesn't shunt us down the list, as Ashcroft will never be available to us, but it does reflect a true order of where we are picking (just like we selected Chesser @ 14 last year, which was technically the 12th live selection due to F/S players...). It's never linear - but the concept is we were getting the 14th best player last year, even though by rights of finishing 9th we should have got the 12th best player (in some ways it is more important at the top end, so getting the 3rd or 4th best player when finishing second last is a decent downgrade from the second best player).

I'm almost certain that Nth will get a PP. No way it is later than end-of-1st round (so pick 19 before bids, compo etc). Very possible that is viewed by the commission as not-enough, which leaves only 2 options - 11 or 1 (based on history of PP's).

Then, on the hypothetical that they do get #1 (so #1 and #2 in the draft - and I'm not convinced they 'win' the spoon quite yet), do they go best available, go for 2 different needs types, or try to match up team-mates like GC did (understanding that the GC kids were best-mates, and that doesn't seem the case this year). Wardlaw + Tsatsas, Sheezel + Mackenzie - teammate options, Busslinger + either Wardlaw or Sheezel - positional needs options. Best available would be the worst option for us if they do get an early PP as that is likely Wardlaw + Sheezel at this stage.

Brisbane take the selection where Ahscroft's bid comes in. whether that is 1, 2 or 3 is irrelevant but it will be very early. Technically it doesn't shunt us down the list, as Ashcroft will never be available to us, but it does reflect a true order of where we are picking (just like we selected Chesser @ 14 last year, which was technically the 12th live selection due to F/S players...). It's never linear - but the concept is we were getting the 14th best player last year, even though by rights of finishing 9th we should have got the 12th best player (in some ways it is more important at the top end, so getting the 3rd or 4th best player when finishing second last is a decent downgrade from the second best player).

I'm almost certain that Nth will get a PP. No way it is later than end-of-1st round (so pick 19 before bids, compo etc). Very possible that is viewed by the commission as not-enough, which leaves only 2 options - 11 or 1 (based on history of PP's).

Then, on the hypothetical that they do get #1 (so #1 and #2 in the draft - and I'm not convinced they 'win' the spoon quite yet), do they go best available, go for 2 different needs types, or try to match up team-mates like GC did (understanding that the GC kids were best-mates, and that doesn't seem the case this year). Wardlaw + Tsatsas, Sheezel + Mackenzie - teammate options, Busslinger + either Wardlaw or Sheezel - positional needs options. Best available would be the worst option for us if they do get an early PP as that is likely Wardlaw + Sheezel at this stage.
Fair enough, but I'd bet someone else's left nut if they do get a pp it'll be end of 1st.

It's a really hard draft to read but I personally really want Kobe Ryan for our second pick. Gives me a lot of Jamie Cripps pre draft vibes. Weaker draft so playing a bit more inside than cripps got to but decent skills, good link up, can find the goal, has played well at all levels across the season (dominant inside at colts SANFL, then 1 dominant game at reserves before playing the last few league) and then had a good champs. Also full of heart when he plays even though he's on the light side.

183cm isn't big but even if he doesn't make it as a full time mid for us I think he can genuinely replace Cripps output on a HFF with a couple of years in the system. At U18's plays directly on ball, at champs played on ball but more as a first receiver and link up player. Loves a tackle much more than say a Gaff type too.

For around that mark of the draft he is to me a very safe bet on getting a very good 200 game player. One of the few in the draft class that can play anywhere from HB to HF as well.

It will be interesting to see what Freo put up for the trade. This year and next years first rounders are a starting point. Thats two picks likely in the 15 - 20 range. But that won't be enough. Jackson is a 20 year old pick 3 who has become a gun player. Obviously Freo want to trade Logue and Lobb for picks to get more ammunition for this deal. But what are those guys worth? And do they want to be traded out of WA? They could turn around and say "No mate, i have a contract with you and i am not interested in being traded". Or if they do accept being traded then they might find the club they want to go to and nominate it and then that club low balls Freo with the offer, as Cerra and Carlton did. There are lots of ways this could unravel on Freo come trade week.
Seen some proposed trades for bulldogs and lobb .

Lobb and freos first (15ish) for dogs 1st (10ish) and 2nd ( 28ish ) . Rates lobb at about pick 20

Then 10 + future 1st for Jackson.

Don't know if Melbourne would accept that but its a good starting point

Is that just a guess at what a deal might look like? Or is that being reported somewhere?

Not sure i would be happy with that if i was Melbourne. I might hold my nose and accept it late afternoon on the last day of trade week if i had exhausted all other options to get a better deal. But i wouldn't be jumping at it. Also not sure that Melbourne would be all that eager to trade a player to another flag contender during the period when they are also in a flag window.

Just what makes sense to me from a perspective of where clubs picks are, what they are chasing etc.

Especially now Phillipou has put his hat in the ring as a top prospect. Wardlaw, Sheezel, Phillipou. We’ll have access to a couple of these guys, just pick one.

For me It's Phillipou with our first and Kobe Ryan with our second. You put those 2, Culley and Chesser together and you have a really good mix of size, explosiveness, ball finding ability, skills by hand and foot and genuine grunt.

Think Dees are getting shortchanged there tbh. Yes they get two firsts, but they’ll be fairly late firsts if both Bulldogs and Freo make finals.

Overall I agree, let the Dockers go after Jackson and pick up Meek when he gets squeezed out.

Just what makes sense to me from a perspective of where clubs picks are, what they are chasing etc.

For me It's Phillipou with our first and Kobe Ryan with our second. You put those 2, Culley and Chesser together and you have a really good mix of size, explosiveness, ball finding ability, skills by hand and foot and genuine grunt.
In this scenario would you be trading our third for Dev Roberston or taking that to the draft for a ruck/KPF/HBFer/Darcy Jones

I don't want a pick 7+ I want a pick 1 or 2. That is where the likelihood of drafting a top 5-10 midfielder in the league is greatest. That is what we need.

In other news the points calculator is telling me that Port Adelaide's second rounder (assuming finish 10th) and our third rounder is worth more points than pick 16. That's the deal we should be looking at. Depending on where thinks shake out might need to move to our second rounder and our third rounder (pick ~20, pick ~38) to give Brisbane enough of a boost. Not opposed to that idea if we believe a Hewett or similar may slide.

Every club will be aware that Brisbane’s 1st round pick is tradeable so likely comes down to which club provides the best outcome

Brisbane may also be looking for something that gives them a pick in the 2023 draft given that they’ll be picking up Ashcroft and Fletcher this year. They will also get a pick for losing McStay as a FA and if this board has it’s way a pick for Robertson

I doubt ports 2nd and our 3rd will be enough to get Brisbane’s 1st - they’ll get better offers than that

In this scenario would you be trading our third for Dev Roberston or taking that to the draft for a ruck/KPF/HBFer/Darcy Jones
Third rounder for Robertson is a bargain.

Let’s remember if Robertson was to be available, it’s not because he’s rubbish, it’s just because of the circumstances he is in. Not saying he’s of the same quality but just think Josh Kennedy at the swans.