Certified Legendary Thread Patrick Cripps and Ah Chee

Fans of club of offending player defend/justify/downplay actions of said player - regardless of club involved.

That's how this place works in case you hadn't noticed.

Cripps is one of my favourite players and being a Saints fan, I've got a soft spot for a gun player battling away in a shit truck of a team for so long

Very lucky with 2 weeks

Cripps is one of my favourite players and being a Saints fan, I've got a soft spot for a gun player battling away in a s**t truck of a team for so long

Very lucky with 2 weeks
I'm not one of those who will blindly defend a player because he is from the club I support, Cripps deserved to cop a whack for that bump.

I'm really disappointed in him if anything, we really, really needed him for the last two games.

As for the penalty, I'm happy with the two weeks. Could have been more, as you said.

Cripps is one of my favourite players and being a Saints fan, I've got a soft spot for a gun player battling away in a s**t truck of a team for so long

Very lucky with 2 weeks
I think two weeks is bang on!

I don't think Cripps is hard done by here, had he taken the footy like he did as he smashed Chris Mayne it wouldn't have even been looked at. But he didn't, Ah Chee got there first. Had he spoiled as he bumped he might've got looked at but only gotten a week or had it thrown out. But he didn't.

Nobody is saying Cripps is a shit bloke so I don't understand people jumping down oppo supporters throats suggesting Cripps is hard done by etc.

Salty much, you were the one rewriting history. It took one little picture to blow your coolstorybro out the water and now everyone else is a sook ect. Right 🤔
1660096855193.jpeg
Weird he’s cradling his shoulder and not his head…

Weird he kept playing on until this…

1660096909225.jpeg

Astbury absolutely got away with running past the ball and taking a bloke out and not missing a GF thanks to the Cotchin hysterics. 😍

I love how an incident involving Trent Cotchin FIVE YEARS AGO still triggers so many opposition fans. Plenty of incidents 5 years ago would be judged differently to today.

Move on campaigners.

See ya next year Cripps.

Will be a jolly laugh if Daicos misses the Grand Final due to accidentally bumping someone.

If the shoe is on the other foot...

The precedent has now been set. Let's hope they carry through the same conditions on ALL concussion related accidents into the finals.

"He chose to bump when he could have jumped out of the way and rolled along the ground like a poodle...etc, etc, etc"
Cloke and Rocca each missed grand finals. We have had our share of bad luck in grand finals. Also, who cares if its Carlton, Collingwood or University

Cripps made a decision.

His body didn't mysteriously leave the ground without his control.

That decision resulted in knocking a player out.

He's copped his suspension. He then lost his appeal at the tribunal.

The AFL isn't banning jumping in the sport. They aren't banning contests.

They're penalising players for not showing a sufficient duty of care to fellow players. Mostly due to the very well recognised long-term repercussions of that behaviour.

As I said, some Neanderthals will think the game has gone soft, but they'd be making stupid arguments.

This is really the comment this thread should end on.

Just lock the thread really.

I love how an incident involving Trent Cotchin FIVE YEARS AGO still triggers so many opposition fans.
It's being used to show tha some people's opinions are more based on the logo on the jumper than the facts at hand.

You can't compare two similar incidents year to year anymore let alone something that happened 5 years ago. Should we go back 20 years too?

Anyway those two incidents are vastly different which is fairly obvious to anyone being objective. Then there is the fact that Shiel played on, copped another big knock and then later again showed delayed concussion symptoms. If we're going to try compare incidents at least try using apples and apples for starters.

You can't compare two similar incidents year to year anymore let alone something that happened 5 years ago. Should we go back 20 years too?
And yet some people are getting the events wrong after using it to compare the two.

Try getting done for salary cap cheating 20+ years ago and see how often that gets brought up. You might just learn to ignore it.

How do you bump someone when your not even looking at them? Lol

It was a mid air collision where the bigger body gets punished for being bigger and coming off the contact better nothing more nothing less.

Cripps came off the contact better cause he took impact on his body and shoulder whereas Ah Chee wore some of the force with his head.

If the roles were reversed, and Cripps had taken the contact to the head, I'm not sure his "bigger body" would've protected him from being concussed...

View attachment 1471835

View attachment 1471836

Astbury absolutely got away with running past the ball and taking a bloke out and not missing a GF thanks to the Cotchin hysterics. 😍

Cotchin "chose to bump" and therefore should have been suspended. The footage clearly shows that Cotchin's body collects Shiel's head. How much of his concussion was due to this hit? 30%? 80%? Who knows? Cotchin "chose not to go for the ball" and instead iron a player out.

Suspension should have occurred...yet it seems rules are bent in finals time.

Sydney's Barry Hall - they bent the rules for him as well. Apparently it wasn't a jumper punch...ok!
He kicked a couple of goals in the g/f ? one or two. Can't remember.

Let's just hope they are consistent from now on. They have made their bed in making an example of Cripps. I don't want to see rules altered for the finals. Any concussion - the player who makes a player concussed - is also suspended.

Cotchin "chose to bump" and therefore should have been suspended. The footage clearly shows that Cotchin's body collects Shiel's head. How much of his concussion was due to this hit? 30%? 80%? Who knows? Cotchin "chose not to go for the ball" and instead iron a player out.

Sydney's Barry Hall - they bent the rules for him as well. Apparently it wasn't a jumper punch...ok!

Let's just hope they are consistent from now on. They have made their bed in making an example of Cripps. I don't want to see rules altered for the finals. Any concussion - the player who makes a player concussed - is also suspended.

Mate this was so long ago Dylan Shiel was a relevant player

Cripps came off the contact better cause he took impact on his body and shoulder whereas Ah Chee wore some of the force with his head.

If the roles were reversed, and Cripps had taken the contact to the head, I'm not sure his "bigger body" would've protected him from being concussed...
Pretty sure he wouldn't have felt it 👍

Salty much, you were the one rewriting history. It took one little picture to blow your coolstorybro out the water and now everyone else is a sook ect. Right [emoji848]

Not at all, an isolated picture doesn’t capture the speed Cotch was moving at.

8c7dd4329f04dde3e1b37f442ec0e216.jpg

I love how an incident involving Trent Cotchin FIVE YEARS AGO still triggers so many opposition fans. Plenty of incidents 5 years ago would be judged differently to today.

Move on campaigners.

See ya next year Cripps.
Yeah I find it bizarre as well.

For the record I want him to somehow get off, my Super coach team desperately needs him and I m out of trades!

View attachment 1471835

View attachment 1471836

Put the shovel down, watch this, then leave your apology below.

Cotchin hit from 1.25
Astbury hit from 2.20

That was a good bump Jack!

Certified Legendary Thread Patrick Cripps and Ah Chee