Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham - Statement from Barham addressing Merrett etc - 12/9

Does anyone actually know what's happening?

The only theory I can come up with is they are all clearing out because it's about to be revealed how shit they are by the external review.

That and they will probably try and pin their resignation on disagreeing with the boards decision to appoint Hird.

I do realise I'm most likely nowhere near it.

The only theory I can come up with is they are all clearing out because it's about to be revealed how s**t they are by the external review.

That and they will probably try and pin their resignation on disagreement boards decision to appoint Hird.

So when do you announce your spot on the coach search panel. :)

I don’t think setting that bar is fair. Hird was in a dark - very, very dark - place at the start of 2017 and I reckon the healthiest thing for him as a person to do was rebuild his life and pace any steps back into football at a slow walk. So I’m not going to hold it against Hird that he wasn’t an assistant from 2018-21.

The fact remains though, six months of being a part-time assistant after being out of the game for six and a half years is bugger all preparation for any step up in responsibility.

I, perhaps selfishly, don’t want this for him.

The last time he was in footy the industry ostensibly drove him to the point where he attempted to take his own life.

Going from essentially helping out a mate for half a season to what would be the hottest seat in footy, again, this time by choice when he couldn’t have stayed out of it is just flat out not a good idea for anyone at this point.

I think he would be well suited to the vacant Wellman role if any.

Is the CFO non-binary or does Browne just not know if they are a man or a woman?
I don’t know why this keeps coming up. Even Shakespeare used “they” for the third person pronoun, it’s not like it’s new. And you know what else? Shakespeare used “thou” for second person singular, and “you” was more than one person! So I guess you’re plural now.

If you want to argue about that crap there’s an entire society religion and politics board where such people argue about such things.

I don’t know why this keeps coming up. Even Shakespeare used “they” for the third person pronoun, it’s not like it’s new. And you know what else? Shakespeare used “thou” for second person singular, and “you” was more than one person! So I guess you’re plural now.

If you want to argue about that crap there’s an entire society religion and politics board where such people argue about such things.
I have no problems whatsoever with non-binary pronouns. Was just making a joke about Tom Browne being stupid. Usually gets an easy laugh.

Thou will not be visiting the society religion and politics board

The only theory I can come up with is they are all clearing out because it's about to be revealed how s**t they are by the external review.

That and they will probably try and pin their resignation on disagreeing with the boards decision to appoint Hird.

The people that have left were against an external review. Pretty sure Campbell didnt even want the internal review. So they are either worried about what an external review would uncover, or possibly dont trust the review process is being held in good faith (if Dodoro and Sheedy survive i think we'll know the answer to this)

Also as you mentioned, the optics of standing down now can be seen as a disagreement over last weeks treatment of Rutten, or Hird being appointed coach, if he does end up as coach. So you protect your self interests on the way out.

If Hird is appointed coach though (madness), it is absolutely fair enough to want no part of that and walk now before the review is done.

Apologies if this has already been discussed.

Could Barham be using Sheedy knowing he needed his vote but also has the support of the other board members on the back of being anti internal review and pro external review rather than the team Hird vs team Rutten agenda.

Barham's silence on Hird keeps Sheedy in check while implementing transformational change, who cares if Sheedy and his jolly men keeping pushing the Hird propoganda in the media

Pro External Review
Barham
Hisgrove
Green
O'Sullivan
Muir

Pro Hird Anti Rutten
Sheedy

In this scenario Sheedy wouldn't hold the type of power that can actually get Hird appointed.

Could Barham be using Sheedy knowing he needed his vote but also has the support of the other board members on the back of being anti internal review and pro external review rather than the team Hird vs team Rutten agenda.

Barham's silence on Hird keeps Sheedy in check while implementing transformational change, who cares if Sheedy and his jolly men keeping pushing the Hird propoganda in the media

Pro External Review
Barham
Hisgrove
Green
O'Sullivan
Muir

Pro Hird Anti Rutten
Sheedy

In this scenario Sheedy wouldn't hold the type of power that can actually get Hird appointed.
This is what I suspect/am hoping for.

Pro External Review
Barham
Hisgrove
Green
O'Sullivan
Muir

Pro Hird Anti Rutten
Sheedy

Absolutely has crossed my mind and if the external review claims the dodo scalp and we go through a proper coach procss then i think we'll know the answer

Just wondering, are we In Turmoil? In Tumult? In Shambles? Under fire? Or just Beleaguered?

I think it's wise to define our precise state before moving forward.

I thought we were ‘embattled’