Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

freddy mercury

Mar 20, 2009
Tasmania
Jacksonville
When I threw my popcorn at his head because all 2.05m of him blocked the screen? Yeah, he did!

Didn’t stick around for the post cutscene credits though, which given it was a Marvel movie I thought was quite strange.
Should've told him that you remember your first Marvel movie.

Jun 14, 2015
In a house with a sausage dog Trevor
Port Adelaide Power
At a local park subtly hunting for magic mushrooms. Eddie Betts kids accusing him of cheating at hide and seek in the playspace area. I never heard anyone accuse Eddie of cheating before so I’m a little shocked. No luck with the shrooms here but hopefully my usual spots will be jumping with the rain we had last couple of days. Eddie’s a fn legend by the way his kids love him and they’re very lucky to have him.

RichLeMonde

Sep 26, 2019
Celtics
At a local park subtly hunting for magic mushrooms. Eddie Betts kids accusing him of cheating at hide and seek in the playspace area. I never heard anyone accuse Eddie of cheating before so I’m a little shocked. No luck with the shrooms here but hopefully my usual spots will be jumping with the rain we had last couple of days. Eddie’s a fn legend by the way his kids love him and they’re very lucky to have him.
To be fair, how do we know that you didn't find the shrooms, eat them, and then hallucinate the whole Eddy hide and seek fiasco? In either case, you are in danger of breaking the boring requirement of this thread.

Dipper

Oct 28, 2000
London,England
Allies FCC
At a local park subtly hunting for magic mushrooms. Eddie Betts kids accusing him of cheating at hide and seek in the playspace area. I never heard anyone accuse Eddie of cheating before so I’m a little shocked .

Was it just a simple miscommunication whereby they misinterpreted his looking for shrooms as cheating at hide and seek?

Seems like great multi tasking to me, play a game with the kids to keep them happy whilst taking care of the important business, and probably a great cover story too.

Sent from my SM-A326B using BigFooty.com mobile app

portaz

Jul 6, 2011
Probably violates this thread as too wild plus not AFL personality, instead cricket, but here goes.

Driving down peninsula link for a round of golf one Sunday morning. Getting closer to a large 4wd (Prado type) and there is a trailer with a cage full of birds. I get closer and they are pigeons. I get close and I see a large nose and no hat.

I rolled down the window and screamed "yeesss got him duck off".. he smiled.

Oct 22, 2008
Probably violates this thread as too wild plus not AFL personality, instead cricket, but here goes.

Driving down peninsula link for a round of golf one Sunday morning. Getting closer to a large 4wd (Prado type) and there is a trailer with a cage full of birds. I get closer and they are pigeons. I get close and I see a large nose and no hat.

I rolled down the window and screamed "yeesss got him duck off".. he smiled.
You saved it at the end with that boring reference to The 12th Man.

freddy mercury

Mar 20, 2009
Tasmania
Jacksonville
Walked past Callum Wilkie yesterday on Errol St in North Melbourne, was a ******* boring sighting.

Feb 15, 2015
South Yarra
Mt Buller Demons
With all the talk about Hird of late, this one came back to me.

I was nearly mowed down by a cyclist while I was hanging around Southbank. Well not that nearly but the guy did sort of swerve a bit to go around me. It was James Hird. Pretty sure too that he was sacked a bit later that day, but probably not for nearly mowing me down on his bike at Southbank

Feb 15, 2015
South Yarra
Mt Buller Demons
You never know.
I Guess Season 3 GIF by Bachelor in Paradise

Currently working as a courier and delivered to former Bomber Jay Neagle last week.
Me: "Hello. Parcel for Jay".
Him "Yep, that's me".
Me: "Here you go".
Him: "Thanks"
Me: "No worries, have a good day".
Him: "You too".

Reckon that takes the cake for boring encounters with former AFL players.

Currently working as a courier and delivered to former Bomber Jay Neagle last week.
Me: "Hello. Parcel for Jay".
Him "Yep, that's me".
Me: "Here you go".
Him: "Thanks"
Me: "No worries, have a good day".
Him: "You too".

Reckon that takes the cake for boring encounters with former AFL players.
Was he wearing a hat?

Aug 14, 2001
Probably a bit dull even for this thread but I was once in a group chat with some blokes including a footy journo and he posted a voice message celebrating his colleague getting a licence to sell booze.

Forwarded it on to some mates because I thought there might be some in-joke I missed but don’t think there was. He never posted in the thread again. Nice dude I guess.

troybe

Assistant to the Travelling Secretary
Apr 19, 2008
Bunnings Institute for the Galactically Stupid
Melb Stars, Man U, USC, NY Mets
went to visit Rippon Lea Estate to do horticulture stuff..Sat morning 11am at corner Glen Eira Rd and Hotham st Elsternwick, crossing the road was Brendan Pretzels Smasher Goddard, cream pants, white/light blue hoops top, prolly going to get a coffee, didn't look angry...just bored.
Was he off to mime school?
73111063-C227-4352-A59A-9662ADD2A6D4.jpeg

Aug 4, 2003
WA
It’s not footy but I was sat alone with Adam Gilchrist in my GP waiting room last week for about 20 minutes.

I didn’t say anything to him because it’s a doctor’s waiting room and I’m not a psychopath.

Doctor’s waiting room would be what…number 2?…on the ‘for gods sake, just leave them alone’ celebrity sighting etiquette list?

1. Public Toilet (obviously)
2. Doctor’s Waiting Room (if it’s an awkward specialist that’s probably pushing #1)
3. With their kids (unless it’s a kid related venue and you have your own kids with you, even then…bit of stretch)

4. ?

Pistol Night

Sep 3, 2019
It’s not footy but I was sat alone with Adam Gilchrist in my GP waiting room last week for about 20 minutes.

I didn’t say anything to him because it’s a doctor’s waiting room and I’m not a psychopath.

Doctor’s waiting room would be what…number 2?…on the ‘for gods sake, just leave them alone’ celebrity sighting etiquette list?

1. Public Toilet (obviously)
2. Doctor’s Waiting Room (if it’s an awkward specialist that’s probably pushing #1)
3. With their kids (unless it’s a kid related venue and you have your own kids with you, even then…bit of stretch)

4. ?
Urinals are the perfect opportunity to strike up a meaningless conversation to kill 30 seconds. Unless you meant peeking over the cubicle to start a chat which is probably frowned upon.