List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

But what if it’s Mitchell without De Goey, or vice versa?
Yeah, it’s an interesting one mate.

Personally I’d do one of them without the other. I’m like Gringo regarding Mitchell: I can see why others are against it but extractors are back in vogue and he’s right at the top when it comes to extractors across the league.

Same with De Goey. He’s a different type of mid of course but he’ll improve the depth of our midfield in general and that’s what we need at this point in time.

If we have good depth in midfield, it provides the best possible conditions for our young guns in Windy and Owens to thrive as they won’t be copping tags.

We just have to keep on adding to our midfield at this point in time (as we’ve needed to for years) through trading and the draft. We can’t waste the opportunity Windy and Owens have given us.

He came 7th in the Brownlow last year. Not sure he's that far off it.
yeah but Dunstan got lots of votes end of '21 and anyone who watched him saw him miss 50% of his targets, umps seem to stop watching players when they dispose of it, you won't find many Hawks fans fighting to keep Tom

You could say the same about Shai Bolton in 16

Ffs

Mitchell
Seriously??

View attachment 1496133

Yeah, if we give up picks for Mitchell I may just lose my positive outlook and join Gringo Manson and his Family as they head for the Moorabbin Hills [emoji51]

sdPxiyK.jpg

Yeah, it’s an interesting one mate.

Personally I’d do one of them without the other. I’m like Gringo regarding Mitchell: I can see why others are against it but extractors are back in vogue and he’s right at the top when it comes to extractors across the league.

Same with De Goey. He’s a different type of mid of course but he’ll improve the depth of our midfield in general and that’s what we need at this point in time.

If we have good depth in midfield, it provides the best possible conditions for our young guns in Windy and Owens to thrive as they won’t be copping tags.

We just have to keep on adding to our midfield at this point in time (as we’ve needed to for years) through trading and the draft. We can’t waste the opportunity Windy and Owens have given us.
By the time Windhager and Owens are even close to good enough to be copping tags, Mitchell will be at least 33 and close to cooked.

All he will do in the meantime is roll around in an aging midfield consisting of 3 players 29-30 taking minutes away from those two.

If you've got 3 players of that age as 3 of your main mids you would want to be contending I reckon. Not sure he improves us that much

By the time Windhager and Owens are even close to good enough to be copping tags, Mitchell will be at least 33 and close to cooked.

All he will do in the meantime is roll around in an aging midfield consisting of 3 players 29-30 taking minutes away from those two.

If you've got 3 players of that age as 3 of your main mids you would want to be contending I reckon. Not sure he improves us that much
How the hell would we sell recruiting Degoey or Mitchell unless the powers that be have already accepted the we‘ll be contending line. Must have been a great review, anyway I’m more concerned with who we draft to be honest and will be pretty annoyed if we trade any decent picks.

Cocaine & Hookers

Let's not forget de Goey is only 26.
The age and Free Agent factors of De Goey are about the only thing I find tempting.
Otherwise he is just a player with potential that rarely lives up to it, gets himself in trouble off field and doesnt have a great record with injury.
He hasnt done much off his own back just has the body shape to do it. Not worth the cash imo. Potential to be another Jake Stringer who occasionally does something amazing but is otherwise well over paid.

Long gone, NWM gone ( likely), Hill gone ( not bad but still a mess).
And people wonder I am down grading my membership.
The club, with its false dawns, it's weak mentality, it's haphazard game style, its lack of ball skills etc etc, now losing ,( possibly), the one of a few hard nuts in Long, and a talent ( maybe) in NWM, shows the club never learns.
What’s the bet none of that happens?! 🤣

Should we hold the horses before lambasting our trade period?

We haven't lost Long.
We haven't signed Mitchell.
We haven't lost Bytel.
(Although the idea that a Brownlow medallist isn't an upgrade on Bytel is laughable.)

Let's just wait and see.

I'm certain the idea will be to try to get better while also having a strong draft hand. Thus the appeal of players like Mitchell and De Goey.

But nothing has happened yet.

yeah but Dunstan got lots of votes end of '21 and anyone who watched him saw him miss 50% of his targets, umps seem to stop watching players when they dispose of it, you won't find many Hawks fans fighting to keep Tom

Dunny had a pretty good year with his kicking after a career of terrible disposal. He had a terrible game in round one but after that he seemed to have improved heaps. Was better than Ollie Wines last year.

The age and Free Agent factors of De Goey are about the only thing I find tempting.
Otherwise he is just a player with potential that rarely lives up to it, gets himself in trouble off field and doesnt have a great record with injury.
He hasnt done much off his own back just has the body shape to do it. Not worth the cash imo. Potential to be another Jake Stringer who occasionally does something amazing but is otherwise well over paid.

I reckon people don't quite realise that JDG is probably nearly perfect as a comparison for Stringer. Really both look like absolute stars on their day but just as likely to go missing. At 26 he's probably always going to be that guy. Stringer is playing more forward time still but very similar types.

He'll suit us more than Hill but if they expect him to make us a finalist by swapping him with Hill alone, I think we'll be in this same position in 3 years time.

I reckon people don't quite realise that JDG is probably nearly perfect as a comparison for Stringer. Really both look like absolute stars on their day but just as likely to go missing. At 26 he's probably always going to be that guy. Stringer is playing more forward time still but very similar types.

He'll suit us more than Hill but if they expect him to make us a finalist by swapping him with Hill alone, I think we'll be in this same position in 3 years time.
I think that's a great comparison for him, but Stringer was unlucky not to be AA last year. Been disappointing this year though.

Does declaring they would be 'done' if we got rid of Bytel but brought in Mitchell count?
No, because they are completely different statements.

Wanting to back youth and start developing your own young midfielders rather than continually bringing in GOP's or players in the twighlight of their career as stop gaps is not the same as suggesting they are better than a brownlow medalist.

No, because they are completely different statements.

Wanting to back youth and start developing your own young midfielders rather than continually bringing in GOP's or players in the twighlight of their career as stop gaps is not the same as suggesting they are better than a brownlow medalist.
Each to their own interpretation then.