No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

He was pretty good as the first key defender when Howard went down and i think the 3rd key defender thing is a bit of a myth personally. Every defence plays as a system now, usually only one specific one out man on man key defender and ours is Howard.

Anyway, i already said if Ross moves him thats Ross' call, he is (or will likely be in charge) and he knows more about the caper than we do.
Caper......is that you Andy Maher?

Fair, was more saying i think Ross might have managed to get someone a bit more inspiring.

FWIW If Cordy is playing then i dont think Battle is and i wouldnt rate that at all.

I know it'll piss a few off on here but I wouldn't be surprised if Rossco puts Battle forward. We all know that Max needs some physical support & while Hayesy is also an option, Battle has the size & aggression to be a perfect partner for Winx. I'm hopeful that Max is released to play more CHF where he can get on his bike & use his athleticism (dare I say it, a Roo like role.)

With Cordy in & Coff back, the backline is gonna be pretty chockers. Cordy & Howard with Wilks & Coff is a nice group of talls/interceptors. Plenty for Ross & Boris to work with.

He's been tried as a forward multiple times, kept going where the ball ain't, isn't that why they tried him in other positions and the
backline was where he showed the most promise.

Very hard to judge his ability as a fwd when playing under a ratts style system... which is basically no system, particularly up forward.

Could really shine as a forward if coached to play a particular role, rather than ratts/rath 'instructions' of tapping blokes on the bum and telling them to go out and 'play'.

Battle has all the attributes of our old tom lynch at adelaide.
Could really be a gun linkup half forward I believe

Weve had the discussion about playing the 2015 footy, lets not do it again.

Ross is gonna do what Ross is gonna do, hes forgotten more about footy than you or i will ever know. Personally id like to give Battle some stability following his best ever year, Ross might not, hes the coach its his call.
His structures haven’t varied greatly across 3 different grand final sides.

That’s the point.

I highly doubt he will vary greatly now.

You might believe the game is super different. I don’t believe it is.

I think we will see something very similar to those structures.

Players who had zero or minimal games 2008.

Khan Haratuku , Luke Miles , Jayden Attard ( ACL ), Glen Chivers, Luke Van Rheenan , Eljay Connors, Jack Steven, Brad Howard, Michael Rix (1), Ben McEvoy (1). Matthew Ferguson(2), Baker ( Suspension, Knee Injury, Shoulder surgery ) (2). Jarryd Allen ( Career ending injury 4), Matt Maguire ( Stress fractures 4) , Gehrig (Hand Injuries , 5) X Clarke ( injury 8) Birss ( irrational hatred of coach 8 ). All others played more than that.

2009:
zero games to: Sam McGarry, Ross Tungatalum, Gaertner, McGrath, Simpkin, Haratuku , Miles, Paul Cahill, Alistair Smith, Connors, Allen, Maguire, Howard, Lynch, Stanley, Heyne, L Fisher, X Clarke.
1 game to Jack Steven, C Begley.
3 games to David Armitage.

2009 was a weird year though, we basically had no injuries all year which was why Goose never played his 100th, and why round 19 in Tassie was such a fun game because 10 or so senior players were rested.

Didn’t we lose X to an ACL after he was BOG in the magoos a few weeks running and everyone was clamouring for him to be brought in?

That always bugged me.

Goose was named for game 100 but I think he failed the pre game warm up. Left him on 99 games.

If his kids turn out to be top 5 draftee superstars...

We're more early Butthole surfers, with a bit of early 90's Ministry meets Jesus Lizard than anything.

I was trying to think of bands that people might know that were full of drugs and chaos. Your are much better.

Mack of that what you will.

Are you saying we will be getting a homesick Mac Andrew from the Suns to be our version of Mark Blicavs from 2024 onwards?

We all agree we have an average list

I thinks that's an overly simplistic view. Which is the problem with most of what comes out of Cooney's mouth.

Our list is better than it gets credit for, we have enough players who have sporadically shown they can be A-grade, the problem is showing that quality often enough, which is the one thing RTB2 can bring immediately - more consistent effort.

I thinks that's an overly simplistic view. Which is the problem with most of what comes out of Cooney's mouth.

Our list is better than it gets credit for, we have enough players who have sporadically shown they can be A-grade, the problem is showing that quality often enough, which is the one thing RTB2 can bring immediately - more consistent effort.

If we could get '19 Roma tapping the ball to '20/'21 Steele, '19 Ross and '22 Crouch, feeding the ball out to '19 Hill, '22 DMac and May 13th 2017 Jack Billings...

His structures haven’t varied greatly across 3 different grand final sides.

That’s the point.

I highly doubt he will vary greatly now.

You might believe the game is super different. I don’t believe it is.

I think we will see something very similar to those structures.
His last Grand Final side was 8 years ago.

Ive not really argued its super different, you have argued its almost the same.

Can we meet in the middle and agree its at least mildly different and him rolling out 2015s gameplan verbatim with no updates might not be the best move?

He was pretty good as the first key defender when Howard went down and i think the 3rd key defender thing is a bit of a myth personally. Every defence plays as a system now, usually only one specific one out man on man key defender and ours is Howard.

Anyway, i already said if Ross moves him thats Ross' call, he is (or will likely be in charge) and he knows more about the caper than we do.
Not sure about that.

Very rarely did we see him line up on one of the opposition best key forwards. Against Geelong it was Howard on Hawkins and Wilkie on Cameron.

I don't think he was ever the first key defender

One of the few times I remember it happening was round one on Miochek and he was well beaten. IMO He has a lot of improvement to go on his defensive game if he's ever going to be a genuine key defender.

Blokes are going to need to have a solid tank if they expect to get a game under Lyon.

The likes of McKenzie and Wood are likely to be favourites of Ross. They both work their ass off.

I can see Clark and Higgins types regularly left out of the side.

Clark has already got the message and is working furiously on building his tank :thumbsu:

BdO6b0J.gif

Not sure about that.

Very rarely did we see him line up on one of the opposition best key forwards. Against Geelong it was Howard on Hawkins and Wilkie on Cameron.

I don't think he was ever the first key defender

One of the few times I remember it happening was round one on Miochek and he was well beaten. IMO He has a lot of improvement to go on his defensive game if he's ever going to be a genuine key defender.
This really isnt an argument i care to be involved in TBH.

He had a good year as a backman, id prefer he stays there for his own sake and i dont think Cordy improves on him.

If Ross sees a better option or structure or whatever im more than happy to let Ross do his thing.

Sam was a terrific wingman/rebounding defender, was part of our school footy team that won the state title in 2008 and he played a similar position when we were together at the Dragons. It's funny how it works out, he wasn't even the best player in our school side, and the guy that was played Dragons too but was never drafted.

I think a lot of it comes down to luck, in terms of being drafted but also getting drafted to the "right" team. Sam would've played senior footy for a side down the bottom I'm sure of it. But a late pick and behind guys like Fisher Gwilt Gilbert it was near on impossible to see how he made it.

There would be players like him that come and go every year and sometimes are just unlucky. For pick 80 or whatever he was it was tough to see him break through to a side pushing for a GF. Ross didn't give him or any of the young kids much of a chance to be honest. Fair enough we were playing for a GF and I wouldn't take it back, but just wish there was some future planning. Hope that's the case this time around.
Too many Sam's in front of him.

His last Grand Final side was 8 years ago.

Ive not really argued its super different, you have argued its almost the same.

Can we meet in the middle and agree its at least mildly different and him rolling out 2015s gameplan verbatim with no updates might not be the best move?
I’m not arguing game plan.

He could decide to chip the ball down the boundary for all I know.

I’ve pointed out to you that he has traditionally gone with the structure/ balance of roles across both his grand final sides

The variances are down to personnel. We had Kosi - they went mobile talls that had midfield endurance in Mayne and Fyfe - who was a mid that could dominate in the air.

Each side has 3 key defensive talls. 1 was almost always used as an intercept player to launch attacks.

He always used a tagger.

I think it’s fair to say, he won’t be tossing all of that in the bin.

His 2 sides also had a rule change enforced with the 3 bench/sub v 4 man bench in his first stint v what sounds like a 5 man bench next year.

He chose a 2 man ruck in both teams. Easily accommodated now.

I’m not arguing game plan.

He could decide to chip the ball down the boundary for all I know.

I’ve pointed out to you that he has traditionally gone with the structure/ balance of roles across both his grand final sides

The variances are down to personnel. We had Kosi - they went mobile talls that had midfield endurance in Mayne and Fyfe - who was a mid that could dominate in the air.

Each side has 3 key defensive talls. 1 was almost always used as an intercept player to launch attacks.

He always used a tagger.

I think it’s fair to say, he won’t be tossing all of that in the bin.

His 2 sides also had a rule change enforced with the 3 bench/sub v 4 man bench in his first stint v what sounds like a 5 man bench next year.

He chose a 2 man ruck in both teams. Easily accommodated now.
We dont have a 2015 Fyfe to start with so id hope hes planning around our personel.

For clarity you keep saying the game is NO different (or perhaps ive misunderstood you again) ive never argued its a completely different game just that i dont want him to bring 2015 Freos plan cause the game isnt the same and our list isnt the same.

Im pretty sure he knows that.

One minor issue would be who is our second ruck? You want Hunter or Heath playing 22 games this year?