Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Urinals are the perfect opportunity to strike up a meaningless conversation to kill 30 seconds. Unless you meant peeking over the cubicle to start a chat which is probably frowned upon.
I've had plenty of conversations with players inside of cubicles, usually interrupted by us clearing our throats, screaming "woo!" and telling the bouncer that we're just taking a communal s**t

"Players in cubicles", "clearing our throats, screaming woo!".

not that there's anything wrong with that seinfeld GIF by myLAB Box

It’s not footy but I was sat alone with Adam Gilchrist in my GP waiting room last week for about 20 minutes.

I didn’t say anything to him because it’s a doctor’s waiting room and I’m not a psychopath.

Doctor’s waiting room would be what…number 2?…on the ‘for gods sake, just leave them alone’ celebrity sighting etiquette list?

1. Public Toilet (obviously)
2. Doctor’s Waiting Room (if it’s an awkward specialist that’s probably pushing #1)
3. With their kids (unless it’s a kid related venue and you have your own kids with you, even then…bit of stretch)

4. ?

I bumped into Gilly at Myer years ago. Was going to say hello but he was Christmas shopping with his kids, so I let him be.

I went to the Launceston Village Cinema to watch a horror movie I thought was going to be really good called A Ghost Story... the movie was so boring I was almost in tears I just wanted it to stop. It was just Ben Affleck's brother standing around in a bed sheet for like three hours!!!! Then on the way out I saw Sam Lonergan just standing there in the street doing nothing, and it reminded me of the movie I just watched. I went home and cried and sat on my kitchen floor and tried to eat a whole apple pie just so I could feel something again!

I was in Queenstown two weeks ago and I saw Nankervis, McIntosh and Mansell ordering ice cream.

A few days later I saw BT wandering around by himself. As I walked past I said "BT" and gave him a nod. He said, "how's it going mate."

But I think this is the wrong thread, because right after that exchange I excitedly messaged the boys to tell them.

It’s not footy but I was sat alone with Adam Gilchrist in my GP waiting room last week for about 20 minutes.

I didn’t say anything to him because it’s a doctor’s waiting room and I’m not a psychopath.

Doctor’s waiting room would be what…number 2?…on the ‘for gods sake, just leave them alone’ celebrity sighting etiquette list?

1. Public Toilet (obviously)
2. Doctor’s Waiting Room (if it’s an awkward specialist that’s probably pushing #1)
3. With their kids (unless it’s a kid related venue and you have your own kids with you, even then…bit of stretch)

4. ?

I would have gone the other way and really tried to focus In on the venue as a means of a light hearted conversation.

‘Still got crabs from the time you mistakenly used Warnie’s box have you Gilly?’

I saw James Hird in Richmond a couple of weeks ago, on almost the exact same piece of footpath I saw him on about 3 years ago. (Seriously, almost to the metre.)

It was crazy - but also quite pleasing - how much better he looked a few weeks ago than he did when I first saw him there.

I once saw Heath Shaw and another GWS player paying for gas at the Eastern Creek servo on Sydney’s M4 motorway.

The encounter was so boring I can’t even remember who the other player was, even though he was as famous as Shaw.

I had to call Peter Caven for work today. Yes I asked the obvious two questions about Tony Lockett and his still hilarious effort on the Andrew Denton show - then copped a good natured and foul mouthed rant about ‘how the f*** the crows let Brad Close slip through the net.’

Sat a row In front of Shaun Higgins and his wife/kids on a flight back from Brisbane on Friday afternoon. One of the toddlers kept kicking my seat.. pity I didn't have a pencil to do the Schwarzenegger kindergarten cop scene.

I thought it was kind of weird a retired AFL player still goes around with his Geelong duffel bag with a 4 on it.

That's hardly boring.

Fair point it was quite a funny conversation - the issue for which I was ringing him was really pissing him off but had nothing directly to do with me: he unloaded about the “clusterf**k” situation he was in after I told him what I was calling about and did my obligatory ‘just to confirm, I am talking to ex-Lion/Swan/Crow Peter Caven right?’

So yeah he gets through his absolute tirade about his issue then gets into the ‘so who do you follow?’

I was relieved to hear him laugh when I brought up the Denton thing.

Urinals are the perfect opportunity to strike up a meaningless conversation to kill 30 seconds. Unless you meant peeking over the cubicle to start a chat which is probably frowned upon.

maybe you need to check your prostate, I mean get a doctor to check it.

I played Mortal Kombat against David King at my junior footy club during his playing days.

Was his shout - I picked Scorpion and did the harpoon move over and over again until he was dead.

He was pretty filthy with me, other players watching ripped into him too.
At least it would have proved to him that the harpoon was a sustainable brand of playing Mortal Combat though 🙂

I played Mortal Kombat against David King at my junior footy club during his playing days.

Was his shout - I picked Scorpion and did the harpoon move over and over again until he was dead.

He was pretty filthy with me, other players watching ripped into him too.
This is in the wrong thread, this needs to go into "Best VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings"

I once worked with the brother of ex-Bulldog and ex-Tiger Michael McKenna. We discussed him once. Not really a sighting, more a vibe.
In years past, I met Steve McGhie, brother of Robbie, current politician, but at the time secretary of the Vic Ambo's union, a number of times. Discussed Robbie once, but I was too drunk to remember what either of us said. The next few times I spoke to Steve, I never mentioned Robbie.
Met Bill Serong (ex-premiership Pie and ex-Roo) in the early 2000s when he worked at a legal firm on Brunswick St. I didn't mention footy, but his boss did when introducing us. I told him I knew who he was - he smiled but had never heard of me.
I've got money with a betting agency that one day Mick McKenna, Robbie McGhie and Bill Serong will walk into a bar together where I'm having a drink. Good odds, but Serong is now 86.

I matched with Mick McGuanes daughter on tinder in my single days, had a good bit of back and forth but never met up - thanked her for her fathers contribution at Carlton which she thought was pretty funny

Also was at a club with the club photographer and for some reason a Hawks player was there, I can’t remember who and I should as he was a Premiership player (13-15 era) - anyway, the photographer who was a Hawks supporter just kept talking s**t to this player, just relentlessly saying how bad he was until he eventually walked off. He handled it really, really well, wish I could remember who it was now