SNFL Div 2 discussion 2022

Mick Rossbourgh got the gig at East Malvern, was their seconds coach last year.

Interesting selection of head coach imo, hopefully the choice of coach was to solely aimed at player retention. Large numbers of new players to the club last year played in the 2's.

I certainly expect the boys from East Malvern to struggle in Div 2 next season.

Looks like Nick Jewell has hit the ground running at East Brighton, who have already landed some decent recruits. This includes Ryan Semmel. Has had more clubs than Tiger Woods but will tear it up in Div. 2. Heard he can be a bit divisive and despite his on-field abilities, his short stint at Mordy was not all smooth sailing. They have also lured some handy types from the MPNFL. Expect them to go well in 2023.
Anyone seen the list of recruits they have compiled 😱😱. At least 6-7 walk up ones players (some out and out guns). Stronger depth with 2’s winning the flag I’d have them at around $2 for the flag.

Who are some of these new recruits old mate , names possibly credentials??

On CPH2271 using BigFooty.com mobile app
I’m only going off word of mouth from a mate who supports the club. He said they have picked up a few from Edi Asp, and others from Sorrento, Rosebud, StKilda City, Echuca, Stanhope. Obviously Semmel but there is one in that lot that I reckon is better!

Salary Cap ?

Is Semmels best footy behind him? Been playing for a long time and having seen him at his peak he was certainly a great player. Is it merely the fact that he will be playing Div 2 that elevates him to a week in week out match winner?

James Pattinson down at Doveton, interesting considering he's had back troubles on the cricket field.

Every 'wannabe' will be lining up to take him out.
Ahh, you'd be incredibly stupid to try & bite off more than you can chew with Patto.

I actually don't think he'll play many games, but a good PR exercise by the Doves

East Malvern early favourites for the double drop - low on cash and no real recruits to speak of. Looks like the new coaching panel have a huge task in front of them.

I might start looking for the Div 3 thread.
Don’t think they’ll be last nor are they that low on cash
New CHF was shopping him self around and wouldn’t have come cheap
Will be a very good player

What is the salary cap in Div 2 ? surely East Brighton will be over it , you don't get those players for nothing , or does the coach get extra and pays ?
Yes and they might have a fair bit of trouble fitting them all in the seniors with the points system will make the 2s coach happy and he won’t have to undermined the seniors coach this year not that jewell would put up with that anyway

Played on limited points last season…was mid to high 20s so don’t think it would be a problem, however based on what some of their recruits command at previous clubs they will be well over the salary cap based on an 18 game season and each of them playing every single game. Then again they might’ve got a bargain on a few of them or brown paper bag deals?
Will have at least 10 genuine recruits that will play in their senior side.
They were about 5-6 goals off the pace last year, so I think they are well and truly in front as we speak.

Played on limited points last season…was mid to high 20s so don’t think it would be a problem, however based on what some of their recruits command at previous clubs they will be well over the salary cap based on an 18 game season and each of them playing every single game. Then again they might’ve got a bargain on a few of them or brown paper bag deals?
Will have at least 10 genuine recruits that will play in their senior side.
They were about 5-6 goals off the pace last year, so I think they are well and truly in front as we speak.
You are correct, points no problem
Not sure why some don’t think we are aware of this and the salary cap
Helps that one ex afl player is a one pointer and I know most won’t believe it but is playing for zero

SNFL Div 2 discussion 2022