News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread

Quote - hard nut Hunter Clark. LOL.

Late to the party on this but why do people think calling Clark a hard nut is funny. He always has his head over the ball, never flinches.
Early on Ziebell ran through him and laid him out. He came out and had a stellar second half. Did not pull out when he got his jaw broken, compound fracture of the nose and he is in their singing the song.

Might have a baby face, there has been questions over his fitness, but when it is his time to go, he goes.

We should not start the myth that Clark is soft.

He is a certified hard nut. Let's not forget when he got absolutely poleaxed in that game against North a few years back, he miraculously came back on the field and just about won the game for us. That knock turned him from a boy into a man and he played like it. He has a lack of effort (my opinion), not a lack of courage.

Like I said late the the party so a deserved Sandra

Sandra-Sully-AMW-Media-3.jpg

Late to the party on this but why do people think calling Clark a hard nut is funny. He always has his head over the ball, never flinches.
Early on Ziebell ran through him and laid him out. He came out and had a stellar second half. Did not pull out when he got his jaw broken, compound fracture of the nose and he is in their singing the song.

Might have a baby face, there has been questions over his fitness, but when it is his time to go, he goes.

He's tough because he takes hits and doesn't protect himself but hard nut sounds like someone who seeks out contact. He seems more unlucky than reckless. Doubt anyone is suggesting he's soft. More just that he's not really a guy who goes in to contests with reckless abandon.

Understand but in the context of modern football 'hard nut' doesn't mean a Baker or some thug. I reckon he is the quintessential Lyon type player, when it is time to go he will always put his head over the ball.

But yeah hard nut in the context of a Merritt or even a Lyon he is not, but in 2020's football nobody is.

Understand but in the context of modern football 'hard nut' doesn't mean a Baker or some thug. I reckon he is the quintessential Lyon type player, when it is time to go he will always put his head over the ball.

But yeah hard nut in the context of a Merritt or even a Lyon he is not, but in 2020's football nobody is.
Ben Long is a hard nut in the 2020's.

Former Carlton defender Liam Stocker is set to train with St Kilda in a bid to resurrect his AFL career.
The former Blue, who was cut from Carlton after 28 games in four years, is keen to trial with the club when preseason training starts for the first-to-fourth year players next week.

Stocker, 22, wants to show he is worth a second chance at the top level after struggling to cement a regular position in navy blue last year.

Delisted Essendon key position player Josh Eyre is also considering a potential opportunity to train at a new club after he was dumped by the Bombers.

Ex-Essendon speedster Conor McKenna is also on St Kilda’s radar along with Brisbane, Port Adelaide and Geelong after deciding to return to Australia from Ireland.

Liam Stocker could be taken by the Saints in the supplemental selection period.

Stocker, from Sandringham, could add to the Saints’ defensive stocks with best and fairest Jack Sinclair expected to push for more time in the midfield in 2023 after an excellent season.

Stocker showed considerable promise as a tough ballwinner in his draft year, but there were concerns over his fitness and ability to break into the midfield at Carlton.

Stocker has recently questioned those doubts about his fitness base and said he was eager to maximise his potential after battling with life in the hubs throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.

Stocker also had to deal with the spotlight which followed him after Carlton traded its future first-round draft pick with Adelaide to snare him at pick 19 in the 2018 draft.

If he impresses, Stocker could be taken by the Saints in the supplemental selection period which allows clubs to select players without using a draft pick.

Liam Stocker could be a handy addition to the Saints’ defensive stocks.

It will be a new chapter for St Kilda under second-time coach Ross Lyon who was headhunted by the club to take over from Brett Ratten.

It will be a homecoming for Lyon after coaching the club to three grand finals and four finals campaigns from his five seasons in charge between 2007-11.

St Kilda greats Robert Harvey and Lenny Hayes have also returned to the club along with respected football boss Geoff Walsh in a bid to help lift the Saints under Lyon in their 150th year.

But the list lacks top-end talent after loading up on mature-age and role players in recent years.

The Saints have pick nine in this year’s draft after deciding to keep hard nut Hunter Clark.

This guy looks and sounds exactly like Nathan Freeman tbh

Absolutely ringing endorsement of Ross Lyon from Paul Roos:

Highlights:

• Carlton and Essendon missed a trick not choosing Ross.
  • The idea of a 'process' is overrated. Anyone can do a powerpoint, but Ross's coaching record is exceptional.
  • If Leo Barry drops that mark and the ball bounces up for Milne then Ross is a premiership coach and Roos isn't.

Highlights:

• The idea of a 'process' is overrated. Anyone can do a powerpoint, but Ross's coaching record is exceptional.
  • If Leo Barry drops that mark and the ball bounces up for Milne then Ross is a premiership coach and Roos isn't.

The Carlton job had nothing to do with process - In my opinion that was the agreed story that both sides would release to save face.

The reality is that Ross was never going to be coach while Patty Kinnersly (CEO of Our Watch) and the Equal Opportunity Commissioner were on our board calling shots.

The Carlton job had nothing to do with process - In my opinion that was the agreed story that both sides would release to save face.

The reality is that Ross was never going to be coach while Patty Kinnersly (CEO of Our Watch) and the Equal Opportunity Commissioner were on our board calling shots.
Are you equating commenting on a pregnant womans breasts with domestic violence

No.

But at the same time .... you don't have to be a Rhodes Scholar to see where there might be an issue between a powerful female board member who heads up an organisation that aims to publicly prevent violence against women and the upholding of human rights for females vs. a coach who had recently paid $100k to a female staffer after allegedly sexually harassing her.

He’s got the courage of a champion. If we can get his body and tank up to those standards he could be an absolute weapon.

No.

But at the same time .... you don't have to be a Rhodes Scholar to see where there might be an issue between a powerful female board member who heads up an organisation that aims to publicly prevent violence against women and the upholding of human rights for females vs. a coach who had recently paid $100k to a female staffer after allegedly sexually harassing her.
If push comes to shove I'd rather keep the coach than the board member who has done bugger all in improving the club.

Highlights:

Whereabouts in the video does he discuss this?

Mowman do the lords work

Jack Steele reveals he was on holiday when he learnt Brett Ratten was out​

Jack Steele knew something was wrong when he saw Brett Ratten’s name appear on the caller ID on his phone. Ten seconds later, his football life was turned upside down.

Scott GullanScott Gullan
Follow

@gullanHeraldSun

6 min read
November 18, 2022 - 12:00PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

5 comments

02:47
Ross ready to rebuild the Saints

AFL: Ross Lyon on his return has said he plans to take the struggling Saints side back to where they belong competing at the back end of the season.

AFL

Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
Jack Steele was in San Diego when his coach’s name popped up on his phone.
He was in the States with good mate Rowan Marshall and former teammate Luke Dunstan for a couple of weeks of R&R when Brett Ratten called.
While the captain and coach regularly spoke, he was puzzled by the timing of the call. That sense of strangeness increased ten-fold about 10 seconds into the conversation.
Ratten informed Steele that he was about to be sacked.
“It was crazy,” Steele says. “It was something I didn’t see coming and a lot of people wouldn’t have seen it coming.
“It definitely stressed me out and definitely stressed a lot of players out at the time. I was a bit off-side with what happened, then a couple of weeks later Ross (Lyon) got appointed and I was still overseas.”
After the shock sacking St Kilda CEO Simon Lethlean and president Andrew Bassat reached out to Steele who was still hurting by a turn of events which he couldn’t shake a sense of blame about.
“To some degree the playing group would definitely feel (they let Ratten down). I suppose the back half of the year we really didn’t help him out at all which is disappointing because I still believe he was a great coach and the players loved him as much as they possibly could,” Steele said.
Ratten lead the Saints to an 11-11 record in 2022 after starting the season 8-3. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

“Obviously Simon, Andrew and the rest of the board saw something different and thought that Ross might be a better fit for our group.

“It was hard not being at the club and seeing it all happen.”
Steele had already done plenty of thinking about what went wrong in the second half of the season, which saw the Saints plummet from fourth to 10th on the ladder, winning just three of their last 11 games.
“We were probably a little bit too reactive,” he said. “Our reviews would be pretty heavy if we lost a game and I feel like that would just carry onto the next game at times.
“It is a bad position to be in, especially when we were 8-3 at the bye and we knew we only needed to win a handful more games to solidify our spot in the finals.
“We couldn’t really do that, the players were down on confidence, players were down on form, we had a few injuries, it was almost like the perfect storm.
“Carlton were in the same position, they were probably in a better position and then did the same as us. It is a lot harder than you think when you’re in that spot.
“At the start of the year we weren’t expected to make finals so I don’t think we exceeded expectations all year but we should have really capitalised on where we were.”
Steele, who took over as the club’s sole captain in 2022, has spoken to Lyon a number of times with the pair catching up last week for a one-on-one bonding session.
“We just talked about footy, the game plan and how we want to move the ball this year plus the changes he’ll make around the club,” he said.
“A lot of it was just about life and where I am from, where he is from, just getting to know each other a bit and building that connection.
“He certainly thinks differently and I think he will get the most out of some players on our list that maybe haven’t done much in the last couple of years.
“He just wants people to work hard, he’s big on that as everyone would know. Our group can do that but it is going to be interesting with a new game plan, we’re going to have to do a lot of education and try to gel together as a group and with the coaches during the pre-season.
“I have already spoken to a few players who might have been on the outer last year but they are feeling really refreshed about the changes and it is a fresh start for them so I think Ross is coming in with a mindset that no-one is bigger than anyone else, everyone is on a level playing field.
Lyon was appointed as the Saints coach in October, 11 years after leaving to coach Fremantle. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

“It is going to be a bit of a test in pre-season to see how everyone goes.”
He said the players will get a shock when they arrive at Moorabbin to begin pre-season training with the first to fourth year players starting back on Monday.
“The whole downstairs strength and conditioning has also been changed as well,” Steele said.
“You walk into the club and there are 10 new faces that you need to remember the names of.
“It is going to feel like a new club but it’s going to be a good change for us. You need to embrace the change and have a positive mindset about it otherwise it won’t be good for you.”
Lyon is bringing the old St Kilda back with the return of former stars Robert Harvey, Lenny Hayes and Brendon Goddard onto a new coaching panel.
“It probably puts us in a better position because the people that are coming back are even hungrier, especially Ross who went to Freo and played in a grand final over there,” Steele said.
“He has tasted it, he‘s pretty hungry just to get it done and it puts us in a good position. We need to jump on the back of him and get to work.”
For Steele the appointment of Hayes is special given the pair worked together at the GWS Giants where he played 17 games in two seasons before being traded to the Saints in 2017.
“It’s massively exciting as I worked with Lenny once before at the Giants for a year,” he said.
“I think he was the defensive coach but he was my duty of care coach I suppose, a mentor of mine.
“I was speaking to him when I was getting the trade to the Saints, he knew I was leaving and was consulting him about it and trying to get him to give me an answer.
“Maybe that was all part of the plan, you go ahead and I‘ll be there in a couple of years.”
Steele, 26, isn’t required back until next month but will be on the track on Monday for Lyon’s first official training session.
Club legend Lenny Hayes will return to the Saints as an assistant under Ross Lyon having coached at GWS since 2015, where he was a mentor to Steele. Photo Sarah Reed.

He will also be on the promotion trail for McDonald’s where he is a Kick-2-Kick ambassador. With McHappy Day happening on Saturday, Steele is helping to raise funds for Ronald McDonald House through the sale of Silly Socks which are available for $5 in all outlets with the money going towards helping sick children and their families.
When the entire playing group does return to pre-season training on December 5, the captain knows there is an excellent precedent for the Saints to follow.
What Collingwood under new coach Craig McRae did is the road map for every other middle-of-the-road team who have some talent – Steele points to Max King, Marcus Windhager and Mitch Owens as special kids – but have found ways to stuff it up regularly.
“It just shows what can happen,” Steele says.
“We played them in Round 1 last season and on paper I thought we had a way better 22 than them but they were just such a good team and played as one.
“They played as a collective unit, that was so good to see and it gave us a bit of belief that we can get there as well, we can make that leap, make that jump but it takes complete buy-in from everyone on your list as well.

More Coverage​

McKenna’s choice: Ex-Don makes call on AFL returnWhich second-chance stars could train at your club?
“It shows clubs like us who are hovering outside the eight that can‘t quite break into it that it is possible to do if you get a few things right. All it takes is a couple of good games in a row, you can build on a run with a new system, build on that belief and connection between your teammates like Collingwood did and even Fremantle, they were great as well.
“It is really possible.”

Every coach has their favourites. Steele says there were players on the outer with Ratten. I wonder if Steele noticed it during the season but said nothing or maybe its on reflection that he noticed itself?
You would hope its the latter.

Every coach has their favourites. Steele says there were players on the outer with Ratten. I wonder if Steele noticed it during the season but said nothing or maybe its on reflection that he noticed itself?
You would hope its the latter.
Steele is part of the problem. He's got to go as well ........

Good I am glad Carlton are that stupid. Cost them a finals place by having another brain dead coach pissing their 500 top 5 picks up the wall instead of having a real coach in Lyon.
Rabble of a club, been useless since 1995, coincidently since they haven't been able to cheat.

News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread