Fixture 2023 Fixture

I reckon the “compensation” for this will be something the AFL would have told the club directly.

Such as you’re getting an extra Friday night home game, against an opponent like Collingwood. That would give us a strong gate as it would draw a big crowd.
How about we skip Geelong at the cattery in 2023. That would be a nice change.

I'm not so worried about who we play, we need to be good enough to beat anyone anywhere.

So far all our rumored games are night games which is good commercial exposure.
Not getting good Friday is not ideal but that was always kind of viewed as a rotating opponent and is doomed to fail as long as Norf is involved.
That does seem like the logical take and is definitely what clubs would say but there does seem to be a correlation between clubs getting easy draws and going on to win premeirships. Geelong ended up with a really easy draw last year, Melbourne the year before, Richmond in 2017.
Whether it is confidence and belief that is generated, less fatigue/injury buildup from tough matches, an ability to manage players better, there seems to be a strong benefit there.

How about we skip Geelong at the cattery in 2023. That would be a nice change.

Geelong once and at Marvel would be acceptable.

Twice would still be shit and once at Geelong would be complete BS

Why would they not play the Showdown in that round, so that every other clubs Adelaide based fans actually get an additional game to attend?

Pretty poor, really. One of only 2 clubs with an additional away game which could be the difference at the end of the season

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Simple logic. It means two games are basically full attendance rather than one showdown and one with a small attendance. The showdown will be a marquee game of another round.

Here is our complete fixture for 2023, leaked early off a certain API...

R1 vs. Melbourne - MCG (18/3/23 - 7:25 pm)
R2 vs. St Kilda - Docklands (25/3/23 - 7:25 pm)
R3 vs. Brisbane - Docklands (30/3/23 - 7:20 pm)
R4 vs. Richmond - MCG (8/4/23 - 4:35 pm)
R5 vs. Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval (15/4/23 - 3:10 pm)
R6 vs. Fremantle - Perth Stadium (21/4/23 - 4:10 pm)
R7 vs. Hawthorn - Docklands (29/4/23 - 4:35 pm)
R8 vs. GWS - Manuka Oval (6/5/23 - 7:25 pm)
R9 vs. Carlton - Docklands (13/5/23 - 7:30 pm)
R10 vs. Adelaide - Eureka Stadium (20/5/23 - 2:10 pm)
R11 vs. Gold Coast - Marrara Stadium (27/5/23 - 6:25 pm)
R12 vs. Geelong - Docklands (3/6/23 - 7:25 pm)
R13 vs. Port Adelaide - Docklands (9/6/23 - 7:50 pm)
R14 vs. North Melbourne - Docklands (18/6/23 - 1:10 pm)
R15 vs. BYE
R16 vs. Fremantle - Docklands (TBC)
R17 vs. Collingwood - Docklands (TBC)
R18 vs. Sydney - SCG (TBC)
R19 vs. Essendon - Docklands (TBC)
R20 vs. GWS - Eureka Stadium (TBC)
R21 vs. Richmond - Docklands
R22 vs. Hawhtorn - York Park (TBC)
R23 vs. West Coast - Docklands (TBC)
R24 vs. Geelong - Kardinia Park (TBC)

R1 vs. Melbourne - MCG (18/3/23 - 7:25 pm)
R2 vs. St Kilda - Docklands (25/3/23 - 7:25 pm)
R3 vs. Brisbane - Docklands (30/3/23 - 7:20 pm)
R4 vs. Richmond - MCG (8/4/23 - 4:35 pm)
R5 vs. Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval (15/4/23 - 3:10 pm)
R6 vs. Fremantle - Perth Stadium (21/4/23 - 4:10 pm)
R7 vs. Hawthorn - Docklands (29/4/23 - 4:35 pm)
R8 vs. GWS - Manuka Oval (6/5/23 - 7:25 pm)
R9 vs. Carlton - Docklands (13/5/23 - 7:30 pm)
R10 vs. Adelaide - Eureka Stadium (20/5/23 - 2:10 pm)
R11 vs. Gold Coast - Marrara Stadium (27/5/23 - 6:25 pm)
R12 vs. Geelong - Docklands (3/6/23 - 7:25 pm)
R13 vs. Port Adelaide - Docklands (9/6/23 - 7:50 pm)
R14 vs. North Melbourne - Docklands (18/6/23 - 1:10 pm)
R15 vs. BYE
R16 vs. Fremantle - Docklands (TBC)
R20 vs. GWS - Eureka Stadium (TBC)
R21 vs. Richmond - Docklands
R22 vs. Hawhtorn - York Park (TBC)
R24 vs. Geelong - Kardinia Park (TBC)
Ok double up games IMO.

Not ideal having to go to Darwin and Tassie.

Pretty challenging first 6 weeks.

So literally no compo for Gather Round, we (and Carlton) have to cop one more away game and Port get one extra home game? I can’t get over it.

R1 vs. Melbourne - MCG (18/3/23 - 7:25 pm) SAT
R2 vs. St Kilda - Docklands (25/3/23 - 7:25 pm) SAT
R3 vs. Brisbane - Docklands (30/3/23 - 7:20 pm) THURS
R4 vs. Richmond - MCG (8/4/23 - 4:35 pm) SAT
R5 vs. Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval (15/4/23 - 3:10 pm) SAT
R6 vs. Fremantle - Perth Stadium (21/4/23 - 4:10 pm) FRI

R7 vs. Hawthorn - Docklands (29/4/23 - 4:35 pm) SAT
R8 vs. GWS - Manuka Oval (6/5/23 - 7:25 pm) SAT
R9 vs. Carlton - Docklands (13/5/23 - 7:30 pm) SAT
R10 vs. Adelaide - Eureka Stadium (20/5/23 - 2:10 pm) SAT
R11 vs. Gold Coast - Marrara Stadium (27/5/23 - 6:25 pm) SAT
R12 vs. Geelong - Docklands (3/6/23 - 7:25 pm) SAT
*R13 vs. Port Adelaide - Docklands (9/6/23 - 7:50 pm) FRI
R14 vs. North Melbourne - Docklands (18/6/23 - 1:10 pm) SUN
R15 vs. BYE
*R16 vs. Fremantle - Docklands (TBC)
*R20 vs. GWS - Eureka Stadium (TBC)
*R21 vs. Richmond - Docklands
*R22 vs. Hawhtorn - York Park (TBC)
*R24 vs. Geelong - Kardinia Park (TBC)
Colour coding to make it a bit easier to group venues:

Black = Docklands (12)
Orange = Eureka (2)
Purple = interstate (6) icluding the new "Gather Round" which is an away game for 16 sides
Green = MCG (2) - in the first 4 rounds
Kardinia Park - the obligatory game is in red

Also added the day of the week (where known, up to Rd 14) and an asterisk to show double-ups.

I've seen worse although some will spew over the Geelong match at KP but we all knew it would happen.

There's one 5-day break (between Rds 2 and 3) but apart from that it seems Saturday football is back. A home Friday night v Port at Marvel will be a change.

I feel like we've got the rough end of the pineapple with double-ups though: Geelong, Fremantle, Richmond, Port, GWS and Hawthorn isn't great. However it's always hard to pick those because some teams are surprise sliders and some are surprise bolters.

Ok double up games IMO.

Not ideal having to go to Darwin and Tassie.

Pretty challenging first 6 weeks.

So literally no compo for Gather Round, we (and Carlton) have to cop one more away game and Port get one extra home game? I can’t get over it.
Not that keen on Darwin because of the travel impact on players but Tassie's no big deal IMO.

I wonder if they'll ever have a Gather Round in Victoria? I expect it will go to every other AFL state first. If it goes to NSW I hope they include Manuka.

If we don’t start the year dialled in and ready to go it could be gone very quickly.

If the dogs re-sign bev and then we come out and start 1 and 5 it’d be interesting times….

Glass half full though.

Re-sign him, get the mojo back and start 6 and 0. **** em.

Not that keen on Darwin because of the travel impact on players but Tassie's no big deal IMO.

I wonder if they'll ever have a Gather Round in Victoria? I expect it will go to every other AFL state first. If it goes to NSW I hope they include Manuka.
Yeah including Manuka would be. Good idea.

They’ll justify it by saying other teams will cop it in coming years but who’s to say the conceit even continues. When you consider we are likely competing with Port for a top 8 spot it makes no logical sense of fairness

Happy we double up vs Tigers, been a long time. And also Port, feels like they are the team we have played least in Melbourne for some reason. Hawthorn I know people pencil it in as an easy win, but they made us work hard for it, no matter how low they sit.

The only downside is having them, GWS and Geelong as double ups in back to back seasons, YAWN! I like fresh match ups.

Very balanced fixture in terms of the groups. Two bottom six, two middle six and two top 6 teams as double ups. But it could easy turn into a hard fixture. GWS, Port and Tigers are all within the debate of teams that can improve heaps next season.

Difficult start to the season, so starting strong will be important. Very friendly run home with many games at Marvel

Canberra, Tassie, Perth, Adelaide, Darwin, Sydney. Just about covered every state and territory minus QLD.

Bummed to only have two games at the G, especially both being so early in the season.

Obviously prime time slots is down, but we can still land a few if we play strong attractive footy.

We are actually the HOME team for two of our three main prime time slots (Thurs/Fri). I swear we are normally the away team.

The club did request a few more family friendly games, but only a marginal improvement on that one. Only 3 games in Melbourne during the afternoon though. Was personally hoping for extra day games this season, even players like them. Felt like it was near night games each round this season, even though I like night games most as a fan, esp with an open roof.

Over all, a pretty decent fixture that throws up some challenges. Does feel a bit like a carbon copy of last years fixture, as we have been screwed over by an additional interstate game.

Fixture 2023 Fixture