Training Training Reports and Updates

No it doesn’t.

They are absolutely not “like for like”.

Why is everyone comparing them?!?!

I’m really at a loss as to why everyone thinks gini is more important to us than Beau?
….please don’t quote stats and goals…
I was about to respond till I read 'please don’t quote stats and goals' and realised I would be expending minutes of my life replying that I would most likely never get back.

Because KPF production is the hardest gig in footy. If you have a pretty good resume of being a good but not great KPF over a good number of seasons its a very big ask to suddenly raise that. If he does great but to expect it , without even a kick in anger yet, gives undue expectation to the supporter base and cranks up the pressure on McStay
That’s a fair point I don’t disagree on the basis of history McStay’s production isn’t likely to increase. I’m willing to give the benefit of the doubt to Fly though given his track record in setting up players to succeed and the fact he’s in control of the game plan supplying McStay.

My next question what do you think the purposes of McRae’s comments are?

Agree with the 3rd wheel , its not my creation and I don't like it much. I dont see the hotspot player though either. I thought the Hawks practice match was the 1st time we saw Brodie and Dan together and it was like what I think it will be. Both spent time deep, shared duties, similar players with Brody a little more productive. Thats what i expect to see this season, maybe a 40/30 split goalwise between them as an A grade expectation. McStay in seasons ahead will probably go ahead as Brody likely to drop off 1st. They can be a good 2-3 season combo hopefully which will give time to groom the next
Truth is most of McStays time as a forward at Brissie was very similar in set up to what he will encounter at the Pies.
I don’t think what you’ve described in the practice match is at all similar to the way McStay played at Brisbane. McStay played higher up the field leaving either Daniher, Hipwood or both deep.

And a low pressure practice match isn’t going to see a lot of hot spot kicks. Think we’ll see that more in the middle of the once the game slows down.

WHE is a very different player to both of them though.

WHE won’t get enough of it to adequately replace Lippa. I reckon Josh Daicos is the closest like-for-like.

We’ll need Josh to suffer acute leather-poisoning this season to make up for Lippa’s lengthy absence.

I see WHE playing a spare parts role for us this year - his experience will be invaluable and he helps prevent us needing to throw inexperienced players like Allen into roles that they are not familiar with. He'll play in any 1/3 of the ground as a result of injury/suspension/poor form (of other players). I wouldn't get Jaics to play the Lippa role as that just means we then need to cover for Jaics (which doesn't make sense as he's the perfect player for the Jaics role) - I hope that as the year progresses, the younger players will learn more about themselves and our game style, and some of these younger players go past WHE and make a role for themselves in the side.

Pendles might be even more perfect for the Jaics role - or the Lippa role. I think Pendles will be one who slots into different roles the way you're decribing with WHE.

Or just play Mccreery instead of ginivan and keep:
  • your best fwd (Elliot)
  • a versatile inside mid/fwd (adams)
  • a promising lead up agile third talk (reef).

Also…let’s ignore the fact that gini brings nothing the above mentioned players do….

So what does gini bring that “demands” a spot?
I’m seriously asking.

I think Gini has elite footy IQ and decision making (can’t teach that).
But with the way we play, I’m just asking why he’s a lock!!?

Edit: I don’t want everyone to think I hate gini. I don’t. He has some serious skills. But his offensive output dropped significantly after the rule change and his defensive aspect cost us goals everywhere!
I just prefer beau due to the fact he turned defense into goals without a stat….and did it all year.
He's our smartest forward imo, and you could argue our best kicking forward too... if not, easily best 2/3. Whilst someone like Reef struggles here. Can take a mark too, so the 40 goals didnt come by accident. And when hes not kicking them, he's getting free and setting up one of the other forwards. Hill's pace and snaps are great, and Beau's intense pressure and kicking is also v good, but Ginni has runs on the board, and did it all as a 19 year old. So also has the upside factor (vs WHE). And FTR, Brodie has never kicked 5 goals in a game, whilst Ginni did it on Anzac day, and again... as a 19 year old. So with Jamie Elliott, you could argue is one of only two elite forwards that we have on our list.

Pendles might be even more perfect for the Jaics role - or the Lippa role. I think Pendles will be one who slots into different roles the way you're decribing with WHE.
Agree, I'd consider Pendles for the Sub in some games, perfect player to support the coaching team on the bench, can fill a number of holes on field, is essential when the heat is on, might extend the number of games he plays and help prevent injury.

From Side by Side FB page Anabelle here is a report from training today

The AIS Centre just prior to training was shrouded in misty cloud there was an oxymoronic feeling of balmy chill. Towards the end of the session the sun penetrated the grey blanket, though the sky remained bruised by cloud.

Most of the players entered the arena at 9.23 and as per usual the first phase of training was some independent work with some raising bars above their shoulders as they practised some vertical jumping and general limbering up. Others preferred to work on their goalkicking, while a few joined a drill run by the official trainers targeting the retrieval of ground balls.

When the elongated whistle signalled the beginning of the main menu, the players donning white or black guernseys broke into two groups – one raced to the cones and mini-hurdles, while the white clad indulged in some kicking to position and handball routines.

For the record below is the breakdown of who was wearing white and black as they remained in these tops for the match simulation which was the last part of the main fare.

Blacks:

Maynard

Sidey

Moore

JDG

Elliott

Adams

IQ

Noble

Jaicos

Naicos

Cox

Crisp

McStay

WHE

McCreery

Howe

Checkers

Hill

Mitchell

The whites comprised:

Frampton

Murphy

Carmichael

Kelly

Ginni

Ryan

Macrae

Harrison

Sterne

Markov

Richards

Ruscoe

Bianco

Cameron

Begg

Reef

Ash

Allan

Draper

For the hurdles/cones activity, the coaches were demonstrative and instructive again in terms of focussing the players on the required methodology.

They began with the forward scissors movement, followed by high knee lifts to the accompaniment of a mini lesson on how these actions trained and strengthened their hammies to withstand the rigours of the game. The combined these with some hopping. The trainer was instructing them to strike and switch but emphasised that ‘It’s all about the strike lads.” The two groups changed after a period of time to expose all players to both activities.

Thereafter both groups merged and they sprinted repeatedly between the cones for a period of time. At this juncture Draper broke from the rest of the players and began some rehab with a few of the physios. He undertook stretching, work on his lateral movements, followed by an intense running session. Kreuger was one of the first out and he completed a solid session and later joined the centre-square players as he performed some rucking duties. He spent some time jumping high hurdles. He appears to be fit and strong but sterner tests await him.

There was then a cleaving of the players as they focussed on ball movement combined with tackling at different parts of the arena. These groups were mixed in respect of the colour of their tops. This drill embedded strong contested work into the routine. One could hear cries of “Don’t be flat-footed!”. At the end of this, many players performed push-ups.

After a race to the hydration station where the liquid refreshment was quickly quaffed, there was one more drill involving players wearing both colours which strongly emphasised contesting work. Each team would be nominated as the attacking or defending group and the onus was on the former to keep possession and burst through the tackles of the marauding defenders. Ash and Reef tore through their opponents on occasions, while there was slick ball work from a number of the swifter players. Bianco cleverly forced a turnover at one point and interestingly the whites were very vocal in screaming encouragement to each other. Others managed to avoid the clutches of the impavid Beau on occasions.

Following this the match simulation proper commenced and all players wore the tops they ran out attired in. The only change was that very late in proceedings. Cox changed to white, while Cameron donned the black. It was a short, sharp session and at times the black tops who were the dominant team moved the ball with power and celerity.

Some of the match-ups which occasionally changed were:

Howe/Reef

Moore/Steene

Frampton/McStay

Kelly/Sidey on a wing – the former rotated with Wilson with each spending a period on the sidelines because of the outnumber

Bianco/Josh

Ash/Maynard

There were some excellent passages of play serving as highlights for the spectators. At the first bounce, which was performed by a ‘proper’ umpire, Pendles cleverly fed Naicos who kicked the pill precisely to Elliott in as smooth a movement as one could witness.

Adams looks super fit, sharp and keen and his power was a feature throughout the match play. WHE was doing some gut running was rewarded once as he traversed the length of the ground to find himself with a goal scoring opportunity. Mitchell focussed on transferring the ball by hand, while Hill and McStay combined beautifully to set up Checkers for a goal. Dan’s field kicking is a delight to behold and Hill’s inboard boot was also accurate. Bianco was in the thick of things and it was great to see Macrae confidently hold sway in a couple of close-in tussles. Once he cleared the ball from the centre-square and then followed up his work to penetrate his team’s forward zone.

It was interesting to watch Ryan playing on Checkers. The latter was able to spoil Brody on occasions and he looked lively. Frampton also managed some timely fists which is mainly what we ask of him in contested situations.

Elliott marked and kicked around the corner with a wicked spin which pierced the middle sticks. Markov played in defence.

After the simulation, players broke into disparate groups with some focussing on set drills, others honing their goalkicking skills and the centre-square group working on their formation. Kreuger joined the ruckmen – Steene, Begg, Cameron and Cox for some work with Mitchell, JDG and Maynard here.

There was a positive vibe around training and it was pleasing to see Harrison return to the fold and Ash back too after missing two sessions. Pleasingly there was no absquatulating from main training to cause mystery, angst and suspense among the track watchers.

Training report: Wed March 15

Overcast morning, but I didn't mind it that way. But there was a bit of smoke in the air, which wasn't ideal. The boys started to advance the track around 9:30am, and the session lasted til around 11am or so.

Nobody of note was absent. Apart form the injured Dean & Lippa.

Rehab group:
Kreuger
Draper.
They both did tons of running, Draper wanted to keep going and do extra but he was told by the staff to cool it. There is a program with these things, even though players want to do everything they can to get back out there

Johnson was back today after being absent for a couple of sessions, so whatever was his reason, seems its been resolved.

There was some warm up, and drills. Bit of a pressure day, where they team formed about 4 groups around the oval, all standing in different parts of a circle, and one picked up the ball and had to try make your way to the other side without being tackled. The aim for the others was to stop said player.
It very rarely works out for the one player, so if you are about to get caught you had to dish off the ball to another to try transition through.
Reef was the only one who made it clear through the pack without being picked off. Though I didn't catch this on footage.

Macrae looking good in the middle. He was up against De Goey most of the time, and he had some really good passaged of play. One containing second and third efforts, then kicked the ball out for a clearance.

Then comes the match sim. This was where it became clear WHE would be favourite in taking Lippa's role. Probably was heading that way when he went back to half forward after Lippa was injured.
I'd then assume Reef will be the sub, to reward him for his hard work this summer. Although you could easily have it the other way around, given how versatile WHE is -- He would naturally be the perfect sub. Have thought this for a while. But no doubt they would like his run, and two way running that Lippa provides.

Teams for match sim:

Black (Team A)

• JDG
  • IQ
  • Maynard
  • Elliott
  • Mitchell
  • Josh D
  • Noble
  • Pendles
  • McStay
  • Adams
  • Sidebottom
  • Hill
  • Crisp
  • Moore
  • McCreery
  • WHE
    Nick D
  • Howe
  • Mihocek
  • Cox

White (Team B)

• Bianco
  • Wilson
  • Cameron (Swapped after QT)
  • Allan
  • Frampton
  • Macrae
  • Kelly
  • Ruscoe
  • Ryan
  • Reef
  • Murley
  • Murphy
  • Richards
  • Ginnivan
  • Harrison
  • Begg
  • Johnson
  • Steene
  • Carmichael
  • Markov

Post session, there was some goal kicking and light stuff before they packed it up.

There was no clue as to what will happen with the defensive role. Frampton v Murphy. We will see tomorrow. Monday, would have said Frampton, but now, who knows. Its undecided it seems.

WHE is a very different player to both of them though.

WHE won’t get enough of it to adequately replace Lippa. I reckon Josh Daicos is the closest like-for-like.

We’ll need Josh to suffer acute leather-poisoning this season to make up for Lippa’s lengthy absence.

Lipinski only averaged one more possession a game than Josh Daicos last season.

From Side by Side FB page Anabelle here is a report from training today

The AIS Centre just prior to training was shrouded in misty cloud there was an oxymoronic feeling of balmy chill. Towards the end of the session the sun penetrated the grey blanket, though the sky remained bruised by cloud.

Most of the players entered the arena at 9.23 and as per usual the first phase of training was some independent work with some raising bars above their shoulders as they practised some vertical jumping and general limbering up. Others preferred to work on their goalkicking, while a few joined a drill run by the official trainers targeting the retrieval of ground balls.

When the elongated whistle signalled the beginning of the main menu, the players donning white or black guernseys broke into two groups – one raced to the cones and mini-hurdles, while the white clad indulged in some kicking to position and handball routines.

For the record below is the breakdown of who was wearing white and black as they remained in these tops for the match simulation which was the last part of the main fare.

Blacks:

Maynard

Sidey

Moore

JDG

Elliott

Adams

IQ

Noble

Jaicos

Naicos

Cox

Crisp

McStay

WHE

McCreery

Howe

Checkers

Hill

Mitchell

The whites comprised:

Frampton

Murphy

Carmichael

Kelly

Ginni

Ryan

Macrae

Harrison

Sterne

Markov

Richards

Ruscoe

Bianco

Cameron

Begg

Reef

Ash

Allan

Draper

For the hurdles/cones activity, the coaches were demonstrative and instructive again in terms of focussing the players on the required methodology.

They began with the forward scissors movement, followed by high knee lifts to the accompaniment of a mini lesson on how these actions trained and strengthened their hammies to withstand the rigours of the game. The combined these with some hopping. The trainer was instructing them to strike and switch but emphasised that ‘It’s all about the strike lads.” The two groups changed after a period of time to expose all players to both activities.

Thereafter both groups merged and they sprinted repeatedly between the cones for a period of time. At this juncture Draper broke from the rest of the players and began some rehab with a few of the physios. He undertook stretching, work on his lateral movements, followed by an intense running session. Kreuger was one of the first out and he completed a solid session and later joined the centre-square players as he performed some rucking duties. He spent some time jumping high hurdles. He appears to be fit and strong but sterner tests await him.

There was then a cleaving of the players as they focussed on ball movement combined with tackling at different parts of the arena. These groups were mixed in respect of the colour of their tops. This drill embedded strong contested work into the routine. One could hear cries of “Don’t be flat-footed!”. At the end of this, many players performed push-ups.

After a race to the hydration station where the liquid refreshment was quickly quaffed, there was one more drill involving players wearing both colours which strongly emphasised contesting work. Each team would be nominated as the attacking or defending group and the onus was on the former to keep possession and burst through the tackles of the marauding defenders. Ash and Reef tore through their opponents on occasions, while there was slick ball work from a number of the swifter players. Bianco cleverly forced a turnover at one point and interestingly the whites were very vocal in screaming encouragement to each other. Others managed to avoid the clutches of the impavid Beau on occasions.

Following this the match simulation proper commenced and all players wore the tops they ran out attired in. The only change was that very late in proceedings. Cox changed to white, while Cameron donned the black. It was a short, sharp session and at times the black tops who were the dominant team moved the ball with power and celerity.

Some of the match-ups which occasionally changed were:

Howe/Reef

Moore/Steene

Frampton/McStay

Kelly/Sidey on a wing – the former rotated with Wilson with each spending a period on the sidelines because of the outnumber

Bianco/Josh

Ash/Maynard

There were some excellent passages of play serving as highlights for the spectators. At the first bounce, which was performed by a ‘proper’ umpire, Pendles cleverly fed Naicos who kicked the pill precisely to Elliott in as smooth a movement as one could witness.

Adams looks super fit, sharp and keen and his power was a feature throughout the match play. WHE was doing some gut running was rewarded once as he traversed the length of the ground to find himself with a goal scoring opportunity. Mitchell focussed on transferring the ball by hand, while Hill and McStay combined beautifully to set up Checkers for a goal. Dan’s field kicking is a delight to behold and Hill’s inboard boot was also accurate. Bianco was in the thick of things and it was great to see Macrae confidently hold sway in a couple of close-in tussles. Once he cleared the ball from the centre-square and then followed up his work to penetrate his team’s forward zone.

It was interesting to watch Ryan playing on Checkers. The latter was able to spoil Brody on occasions and he looked lively. Frampton also managed some timely fists which is mainly what we ask of him in contested situations.

Elliott marked and kicked around the corner with a wicked spin which pierced the middle sticks. Markov played in defence.

After the simulation, players broke into disparate groups with some focussing on set drills, others honing their goalkicking skills and the centre-square group working on their formation. Kreuger joined the ruckmen – Steene, Begg, Cameron and Cox for some work with Mitchell, JDG and Maynard here.

There was a positive vibe around training and it was pleasing to see Harrison return to the fold and Ash back too after missing two sessions. Pleasingly there was no absquatulating from main training to cause mystery, angst and suspense among the track watchers.
From my visits, I would second that Adams looks as fired up as ten men to have a big season. Looks primed to prove his relevance to the team amidst Mitch arriving, and Darcy grabbing the captaincy. If he stays fit, will be very handy with his pressure, whilst Mitch extricates, and Nick and Jordy burst from packs.

Would still like to see Carmy featuring, but it seems they will give first dibs to WHE and his experience. & if he plays, I'd still prefer to see Will replacing Nick at HBF, rather than nicking a forward spot from Beau, Reef or Hill

Lipinski only averaged one more possession a game than Josh Daicos last season.

I think the inference was Daicos not only needs to match Lipinski, but cover the shortfall between Lipinski and whoever replaces him. If WHE for instance, he only averages about 14 disposals, 8 short of Lipinski. On 2022 stats anyway.

If we comparing to 2022 then Mitchell more than covers Lipinski with WHE playing the same role.

Don’t dispute that they are, problem I have with this narrative is that it implies that Buckley was not good quality?

Bucks had the toughest time of any coach in living memory…most of which was out of his control. Hird with the Bumpers maybe the only exception although I’d argue that his pain as a coach was short and sharp.

In any case Buckley always conducted himself with dignity and integrity…that to me is a super human good quality person!
It's not so much a reflection on Bucks - it's more that footy in general always moves on & it's better to be at the forefront.
I don't think Bucks would have any issue with what's happened since he left the club.

Technically he borrowed the 'If it bleeds...' line from Arnie in Predator.

I want to see Bruzzie grab a boom box playing 'Going to have some fun tonight' on the boundary line
Lethal used that during his time as Brisbane coach too, which is probably more apposite for Fly.

If we comparing to 2022 then Mitchell more than covers Lipinski with WHE playing the same role.

It’s not about replacing Lipinski’s possession numbers per se, it’s the run-and-carry, lowering of eyes and hitting up of targets inside F50 that Lipinski provided. He was near top of league in score involvements last year and would have been very high in metres gained too.

Mitchell is nothing like that. Nor is WHE. We have no like-for-like to cover the loss of Lipinski. Josh Daicos is the most similar but he’s already fully occupied in his role as Josh Daicos!

I’m quietly hoping Ed Allan bursts onto the scene and provides the missing piece of the puzzle.

It's not so much a reflection on Bucks - it's more that footy in general always moves on & it's better to be at the forefront.
I don't think Bucks would have any issue with what's happened since he left the club.
Of course not, unlike some ex coaches he’s not once spoken out negatively, and is supportive! Every coach/leader will have their approach and perspective. Doesn’t make one right or wrong in this case. I think sometimes a lot of emphasis is placed in the coach, in this case I feel like change is much broader and from the board down.

Buckley was set up to fail, it’s remarkable what he managed to achieve with all the negativity and injuries etc. astounding.

It’s not about replacing Lipinski’s possession numbers per se, it’s the run-and-carry, lowering of eyes and hitting up of targets inside F50 that Lipinski provided. He was near top of league in score involvements last year and would have been very high in metres gained too.

Mitchell is nothing like that. Nor is WHE. We have no like-for-like to cover the loss of Lipinski. Josh Daicos is the most similar but he’s already fully occupied in his role as Josh Daicos!

I’m quietly hoping Ed Allan bursts onto the scene and provides the missing piece of the puzzle.

WHE is exactly like that just at a lower possession rate. Mitchell spends more time on the inside which frees up De Goey, Crisp and Pendlebury on the outside to deliver to our forwards.

Don’t dispute that they are, problem I have with this narrative is that it implies that Buckley was not good quality?
I don’t have a problem with that part of the narrative.

Bucks had the toughest time of any coach in living memory…most of which was out of his control. Hird with the Bumpers maybe the only exception although I’d argue that his pain as a coach was short and sharp.
Bucks could have went the route fly went and gained experience at multiple clubs as a development coach and an assistant to round out his skill instead chose the hardest job with the lowest amount of experience possible.

Of course not, unlike some ex coaches he’s not once spoken out negatively, and is supportive! Every coach/leader will have their approach and perspective. Doesn’t make one right or wrong in this case. I think sometimes a lot of emphasis is placed in the coach, in this case I feel like change is much broader and from the board down.

Buckley was set up to fail, it’s remarkable what he managed to achieve with all the negativity and injuries etc. astounding.
Malthouse was critical of the club after he left of his own accord.
He still thought he had something to prove at Carlton & we know how that turned out.
That said, the succession plan was never going to work - Eddie just couldn't stand to see Bucks going to another club, so he cooked it up.
Succession planning didn't work for Hawthorn either.

Agree, I'd consider Pendles for the Sub in some games, perfect player to support the coaching team on the bench, can fill a number of holes on field, is essential when the heat is on, might extend the number of games he plays and help prevent injury.
I thought when they announced the new sub rule that an experienced, calm head might be a good idea in some games.
Yes, Pendles as sub - we can nurse him to 400 games! ;)

Training Training Reports and Updates