Draft Review 2017 - Revisit the 2017 AFL draft

Id have Zac Bailey right up there (definitely top 5). I think he is amazing. Can't believe how low he is on some lists.

I might have Balta a touch high right now but it’s based on future exploits too.
I like Bailey too GWS Goose but the old adage that a good big man is better than a good small man enters my thought in this list.
Decent draft overall, some very good players still being listed after 20 picks.
I’d always give it to the KPP in a tie when looking at lists like this in hindsight

I might have Balta a touch high right now but it’s based on future exploits too.
I like Bailey too GWS Goose but the old adage that a good big man is better than a good small man enters my thought in this list.
Decent draft overall, some very good players still being listed after 20 picks.
I’d always give it to the KPP in a tie when looking at lists like this in hindsight
Maybe it's being a Freo supporter in me but is there anyone else you'd like to add to our team other than Naughton if given the chance?

Those close to 20 touch 2 goal players are worth their weight in gold, I'd kill to have him in our team

Maybe it's being a Freo supporter in me but is there anyone else you'd like to add to our team other than Naughton if given the chance?

Those close to 20 touch 2 goal players are worth their weight in gold, I'd kill to have him in our team
With both Balta and Naughton at least a degree of their reputation is based on potential as opposed to what they have actually produced.

I think i would probably take Allen almost as quickly as Naughton. Even though I have Naughton ahead of Allen in my rankings…
As good and all as Naughton is, he’s a bit of a sprayer of set shots.
I think we have some recency bias when it comes to Allen, and maybe some anti WC bias lol!
He has looked bloody good at times over the last few years.
In saying that, Naughton probably pairs up better with Jye Amiss than Allen does …
It’s a good debate.
It’s a bit like asking do you prefer prime Tom Lynch (aka crash and bash style of Naughton, pack marks etc) or the more clever leading patterns and footy smarts and accurate set shots of prime Jack Riewoldt (closer to Oscar Allen in style).
No clear right answer

1. Brayshaw
2. Naughton
3. Taylor
4. Allen
5. LDU
6. Balta
7. Fritsch
8. DeKoning
9. Kelly
10. Mihocek
11. Cerra
12. Bailey
13. Raynor
14. Mccartin
15. Fogerty
16. Baker
17. Ryan
18. Switkowski
19. Ballard
20. Starcevich
21. Higgins
22. Petty
23. Dylan Moore
24. Ed Richards
25. Worpel

Moore has to be around that 13/14 mark on this particular list. His last 2 seasons have been rated elite and he's the only player alongside Bontempelli to average 20 touches and a goal a game in 2022.

Your boy Switkowski is a good one, but he's not going 5 picks higher than Dylan Moore in a redraft.

With both Balta and Naughton at least a degree of their reputation is based on potential as opposed to what they have actually produced.
Naughton has shown a fair bit

Balta is 100% perceived potential

Naughton has shown a fair bit

Balta is 100% perceived potential
Absolutely Naughton has shown plenty.
But to date others have produced more (Brayshaw, Kelly, Taylor and I'd argue Bailey but I seem to rate him more than others), the number 1 ranking IMO is factoring in further improvement.

Yeah I agree with that

One of the greatest things about bf is reading back at old posts for the laughs.

The amount of North supporters mocking Freo for taking Brayshaw is genuinely humorous.
Most were excited we ended up with LDU - we didn’t think he would get to 4. He is still a chance to be the best from this draft. His 2nd half of this year was outstanding.

He's just kicked 47 goals as a 21 year old and 51 as a 22 year old he has the runs on the board and the potential what has Bailey done to be in the same convo?

Team 1:
B: Brandon Starcevich (Pick 18) - Sam Taylor (Pick 28) - Charlie Ballard (Pick 42)
HB: Liam Baker (RD Pick 18) - Tom McCartin (Pick 33) - Wil Powell (Pick 19)
C: Adam Cerra (Pick 5) - Luke Davies-Unaicke (Pick 4) - Hunter Clark (Pick 7)
HF: Dylan Moore (Pick 67) - Aaron Naughton (Pick 9) - Zac Bailey (Pick 15)
F: Bayley Fritsch (Pick 31) - Brody Mihocek (RD Pick 22) - Liam Ryan (Pick 26)
R: Tom De Koning (Pick 30) - Tim Kelly (Pick 24) - Andrew Brayshaw (Pick 2)
I: Jack Higgins (Pick 17) - Sam Switkowski (Pick 73) - Oscar Allen (Pick 21) - Changkuoth Jiath (Cat B selection)

Team 2:
B: Ben Paton (Pick 46) - Harrison Petty (Pick 37) - Brandon Zerk-Thatcher (Pick 66)
HB: Ed Richards (Pick 16) - Noah Balta (Pick 25) - Nick Coffield (Pick 8)
C: Jaidyn Stephenson (Pick 6) - James Worpel (Pick 45) - Lochie O'Brien (Pick 10)
HF: Matt Guelfi (Pick 76) - Darcy Fogarty (Pick 12) - Charlie Spargo (Pick 29)
F: Brent Daniels (Pick 27) - Callum Coleman-Jones (Pick 20) - Bailey Banfield (RD Pick 5)
R: Lloyd Meek (Pick 69) - Cameron Rayner (Pick 1) - Paddy Dow (Pick 3)
I: Lachlan Murphy (RD Pick 38) - Gryan Miers (Pick 57) - Tristan Xerri (Pick 72) - Nathan Murphy (Pick 39)

Midfield depth is really shallow in this draft, but at least we have Brayshaw, LDU, Kelly and Cerra at the top end. Lots of small forwards. Lots. Plenty of defensive talent too.
Put a little bit more respect on left foot cannon leg Lochie O’Briens name pal

Bailey at 12 is criminally underrating him. In terms of impact he'd be right near the top.
He's a bit like Bolton in the 2016 thread. The top level play is right up there as good as anyone. But his consistency isnt quite there yet. And that probably holds him back a little. I'd have him top 10 but exactly where is a little harder to assess

He's just kicked 47 goals as a 21 year old and 51 as a 22 year old he has the runs on the board and the potential what has Bailey done to be in the same convo?
Im a bit bias toward Bailey, for whatever reason, I rate him super high. So most would definitely agree with you that he is behind the others.

I just think he is electric and has a knack of coming up with big plays at the right moment. Heaps of games he has really influenced, including the Semi against Richmond.
He has become one of my faves and fully concede there is some bias there, but I reckon he is a ripper.

He's a bit like Bolton in the 2016 thread. The top level play is right up there as good as anyone. But his consistency isnt quite there yet. And that probably holds him back a little. I'd have him top 10 but exactly where is a little harder to assess
Bolton is a good comparison.

Bolton averaged 17.5 touches and 1.9 goals a game this year and earned All Australian selection.

Bailey was just behind him with 17.1 disposals and 1.6 goals a game. Statistically not much different and both are that quick x factor mid/forward type that can break a game open.

Consistency is definitely a flaw, but he's still only 22. When he starts consistently impacting games, look out.

BUMP!

This draft gave us 10 Eastern Ranges players.

Cerra.
Stephenson.
Hayes.
Garner.
North.
Moore.
Ross.
Stoddart.
Mynott.
Brown.

Right now, the order goes:

Moore.
Cerra.
Stephenson.

Brown.

Hayes.
Garner and Stoddart level.

Mynott, North and Ross didn't play a senior game.

Hayes has the potential to overtake Brown while Stephenson's fallen off the pace big time.

Overall, it's a make or break season for Dow, Lachie Fogarty, Petruccelle and, to a lesser extent, Xerri.

Entering season 6, let's go.

Would be 3rd for me

If he maintains his opening 2 rounds form for the rest of the season, he would be number 1 in this draft class (in my opinion]

Well see. Brayshaw is so good though