Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

They also need 9 list spots to take 9 picks in, correct? Or do they have another concession there?
I’d imagine there will be some trading to be done.
They can also hold future picks as a live trade in on the night, but that just means another club has to hold list spots open to carry their points for them.

Could get complicated

They also need 9 list spots to take 9 picks in, correct? Or do they have another concession there?
I’d imagine there will be some trading to be done.
Hence the reason I only counted the points for the first 5 picks.

They have about 3800+ points total.

I expect GC will be trying to trade some of those late picks in to the future, to other teams that might need points in this draft.

There are ways around the list spot rule. For example, there’s no restrictions on such type of trades on draft night, with live trades.

They can also hold future picks as a live trade in on the night, but that just means another club has to hold list spots open to carry their points for them.

Could get complicated
We’ve seen multiple examples of this with the Bulldogs, Pies and Lions over the last two drafts.

Teams take maximum picks/list spots in to the National Draft, but then don’t use one or two of their last picks, but instead push those picks in to the rookie draft, or save them for the SSP, or then use them to upgrade rookies.

We’ve seen multiple examples of this with the Bulldogs, Pies and Lions over the last two drafts.

Teams take maximum picks/list spots in to the National Draft, but then don’t use one or two of their last picks, but instead push those picks in to the rookie draft, or save them for the SSP, or then use them to upgrade rookies.
Yeah, possible but complex

Elite kicking half back flankers mate, any names to keep an eye out for?
None I'd be calling 'elite' to be honest, but Riley Hardeman is probably my favourite of the lot currently, I have a real affinity towards left footers in general though

any X factor, creative type forwards in the middle part of the first round? Nick Watson obviously called the magician for a reason but any around the Bombers pick?

I still like Jack Delean around that part of the draft as an aerially capable small, he's got a really high level footy IQ so just makes things happen in the forward half, and ticks a couple of boxes I think are crucial for small forwards with his two way running/ work in offensive transition, and how he gets up the ground as a link up option when the ball is out of F50.

Lance Collard, Tom Anasastopoulos and Jake Rogers (if Gold Coast are unable to match) all fit the bill too, but the former two would need a pretty good Champs to get into mid first round frame imo. A potential bolter to watch for in that mould is Brayden LaPlanche from Eastern Ranges, not KPP height but can act as a marking target as well as collect at ground level. I know it's a cliche but he's one that could potentially play a Stringer type role at the top level if all goes well

Do you reckon Demattia ends up a top 10 pick at the end of the year? Looks to me like he has all the tools and will have a Humphrey-esque rise up draft boards.

Maybe not quite top 10, but I wouldn't be shocked to see him as a consensus first round option

A very worthy 2nd place

We had Aliir Aliir and you just can't beat that

EDIT - imagine if Aliir's old man was also an Aliir.... and then he called his son Aliir.... we could end up with an Aliir Aliir III. Yep, slow day at work today
Chances are that Aliir was Aliir's paternal grandfather's first name and Aliir's middle name is his father's first name, meaning that if Aliir's father was also named Aliir his full name could be Aliir Aliir Aliir!

edit Aliir's middle name is 'Mayom', so I am guessing that was his father's name..

Salesian play Div 2 though. Luke Lloyd kicked 19 a couple of weeks back for De La Salle in Div 2.
Yep. Still looks a class above the level.
Nah that level is genuinely no good though, anyone playing at state rep level (Moraes at U16s) should be looking like Gary Ablett there

He does. Though both Salesian and De La are proper Div 1 teams this year tbf