Draft Expert Davo-27's 2023 Draft Thread

I'd rather a tall defender 6'-6" tall type, at our early pick. Go for a mid later 1st Rnd. Unless we get Harley Reid.?

Tall one on one defender, strong mark with foot skills.
Tall forward with mobility.

Connor O'Sullivan or Daniel Curtin might be one for you.

Sanders lives in Melbourne. The Tassie team will need to trade for players. It will be like us last year - they will be given a lot of high picks they must use to get mature payers.
Sanders boards in Melbourne.

There’s a difference. And that difference is why he played for the Allies.

Same goes for Sam Marshall at Sandringham, and Caleb Nancarrow at Oakleigh.

I'd rather a tall defender 6'-6" tall type, at our early pick. Go for a mid later 1st Rnd. Unless we get Harley Reid.?

Tall one on one defender, strong mark with foot skills.
Tall forward with mobility.
Dan Curtain seems to be the prominent key defender and looks like he has reasonable foot skills.

I think people are being tempted by his ability to be a 195cm midfielder as well - but I just don’t see it with him as high as pick 4/5.

We brought in a few key backs last year with later picks so I’m not sure they’ll specifically seek another this year.

We won’t get Harley Reid unless WCE are interested in trading pick 1 with us - and even then I don’t see the value in another inside bull whildt we have Oliver, Viney and Petracca on the list.

Sanders boards in Melbourne.

There’s a difference. And that difference is why he played for the Allies.

Same goes for Sam Marshall at Sandringham, and Caleb Nancarrow at Oakleigh.
He could board in Tassie and still get drafted. It goes to show that he is a big boy and can cut the apron strings.

Did you read the Harley Reid headlines today?
you needlessly attacked me and seems my intel has a large degree of accuracy
vindication
have ave a nice night
Which headlines are you talking about?

The one from earlier, where Sam McClure was quoted as saying Reid "Essentially doesn't want to go to WCE", or the one later (Footy Classified) where McClure backtracked hard saying he hasn't heard this directly, Reid was upset, Reid would be more than happy to go to WCE, etc?

Somehow Harley Reid saying he is "Family Oriented" created this media storm, with a bunch of low iq journos reading between the lines to lie about Harley Reid's intentions and upsetting the poor bloke, normal low iq journo things.....
The journo's know what they are doing, they just want headlines. Probably a valuable lesson for young Harley about speaking too freely to journalists.

The thing is, it's possible for him to both prefer to stay in Victoria AND be happy to go to West Coast.

Whilst I am happy to take Reid I think it's fair to say that McKercher could not have done anything more and elevated his stocks during the Championships. Whether physical attributes or playing style affect his chances of going no. 1, I'm not sure, but he has been the best player in the last 5-6 weeks.
I agree, I reckon there is very little between them.
Id happily take either if we decide to trade up to 2 (or 1) which has been talked about, but probably becoming less likely with Giants and Richmond climbing a few spots on the ladder (although could turn back around quickly if one or both lose a couple)

Whilst I am happy to take Reid I think it's fair to say that McKercher could not have done anything more and elevated his stocks during the Championships. Whether physical attributes or playing style affect his chances of going no. 1, I'm not sure, but he has been the best player in the last 5-6 weeks.

Surely if you or a club think like that ...then map is set. Trade #1 and make out like bandits. Imagine of North trade for it. Get #2 and draft McK and also get Curtin and whoever as well.

Regarding Ryley Sanders, is he quick enough. He looks a little sluggish to me.
He was a very quick 15/16 year old in Tassie, bulked up when he got to the Sandy Dragons, developed his contested side, still has some pace, but nowhere near as quick as he was, I think he is more contested so endurance becomes more important, but combine will show if he still has it.(speed)

Has Will Brown and Harvey Johnston from Sandy slid much do you think since having them early second round in your July Rankings or have they shown enough so far to hold their rankings?

Will Brown last year was big in the finals series for Sandringham, he has been ok this year, but it seems he lacks motivation or something, he reminds me of the Daniel Hardford story, a guy with talent, but doesn't work hard enough (or only works hard when necessary)and ultimately becomes an average player, so I think 2nd or 3rd round is about right imo, Harvey Johnston has a good athletic frame, good movement, he has been put in positions other than midfield at both Sandringham and Vic Metro and done well, when given midfield time he has done well and I think could be a more important player to a team, I think there could be scope for big improvement if played in his natural position(mid) more often, again in that 2nd or 3rd round grouping imo. (apparently Johnston had a good game for the Zebras at vfl level)

Isn't Brown a leader at Sandringham or am I thinking of someone else?