List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Yeah it’s absolutely ****ed. We had to get absolute scraps in compromised drafts when we were at the bottom and then to add salt to the wound we lost our number 1 pick effectively due to concussion after 4 years on the list.

Not only that, but when the AFL finally give access to Academy players, it’s taken away from us with regard to McKenzie after teams that recently played in GF’s in Bulldogs and Collingwood got to benefit with JUH & Quaynor respectively.

How bout giving us a little bit of ******* assistance for once?

North ended up doing better out of losing JHF, cos now they have Sheezel and Wardlaw who will both be guns on top of LDU and Will Phillips.

They received assistance last year. If they get access to Sanders or any other form of assistance then the AFL is an absolute s**t show!

We couldn't have timed it worse. Ageing list coming off 2 GF losses which was too talented to bottom out in 11 and 12. So we bottomed out at the worst time in 2013-15 and got cooked by draft concessions, with zero priority picks or handouts like Melbourne got. Flash forward to a few years later and just as the Ugle-Hagan pisstake was complete they changed the NGA rules. We managed to get Owens and Windhager out of it thank god.

The fact the AFL literally handed the Gold Coast the 1st pick in the draft is the single biggest joke in the history of organised professional sport. Just because pick 1 and 2 were best mates.

It speaks to a bigger point that I have always had, that the AFL is the most rigged professional sporting competition in the world. The same "big clubs" get the marquee matchups meaning players are more inclined to join them, there is a "fixture" in which poor performing teams are handed favourable matchups rather then everyone versing eachother once like it should be, there is a "secret formula" compensation package which has is completely made up and circumstantial (i.e Ben Mckay/James Frawley for a top 5 pick), and the league itself has a vested interested in the success of two teams it forced upon everyone else by stacking compromised drafts and giving them inflated salary caps.

I just hope and pray that NAS, Pou, Owens, Windhager, and King are going to drive the next wave of talent coming through, with support from Hig, Clark, Coff etc. This is easily the most talented crop we've had since the early 2000's and I am high on all of them. I'm trying to stay positive!

Forget about Flanders if Dimma signs at the Suns, he'd be silly to leave with a proven winning coach taking control of a list bursting with guns for the great retro experiment that we are currently undertaking.

Our only hope is that we sold him the vision earlier and he's already mentally out the door.

I don’t like any of the convoluted rules that compromise the draft but we got Owens and Windhager cheaply, so as far as academies go we’re not the unluckiest club. But I do worry that Riewoldt’s boys will end up elsewhere due to a rule change the night before the draft in which James goes at pick 1.

Well that's not exactly true. They were available to anyone in the first 30 picks and no-one wanted them. Windhager went at 45 probably because he was missing a lot of footy with back injury in his draft year. Owens at 33. We got a slightly cheaper deal on a couple of kids that we actually trained at our facility with our coaches. Gold Coast get three first round picks this year from their academy in an already star studded list. Bulldogs got pick 1 after playing in a GF. That's like saying that a rigged Tattslotto is okay because we won a meat tray at the pub.

Top 20 I think.

A change of coach has no bearing on his decision, he would of made his mind up months ago and managers do back room deals through the season, going back on deals by either the club or player puts a black mark on either 1 and managers are very reluctant to do any deals with either party in the future.

If we can land Liam Henry and Flanders while keeping this years first that would be a massive win for us. Fingers crossed.

How times have changed 3 months ago no one wanted Liam Henry,most posters canned him.
I rated him in his draft year and early days but I think him a Longmire havnt had a good relationships. Reckon Ross will get the best out of him.

Right now I'm willing to bet StKilda will come out on top in a few years.
Chito will be a star, Windy will be a gun and capitan, and Gus (IMO) will become a good player. Still hope for Peris too.

We couldn't have timed it worse. Ageing list coming off 2 GF losses which was too talented to bottom out in 11 and 12. So we bottomed out at the worst time in 2013-15 and got cooked by draft concessions, with zero priority picks or handouts like Melbourne got. Flash forward to a few years later and just as the Ugle-Hagan pisstake was complete they changed the NGA rules. We managed to get Owens and Windhager out of it thank god.

The fact the AFL literally handed the Gold Coast the 1st pick in the draft is the single biggest joke in the history of organised professional sport. Just because pick 1 and 2 were best mates.

It speaks to a bigger point that I have always had, that the AFL is the most rigged professional sporting competition in the world. The same "big clubs" get the marquee matchups meaning players are more inclined to join them, there is a "fixture" in which poor performing teams are handed favourable matchups rather then everyone versing eachother once like it should be, there is a "secret formula" compensation package which has is completely made up and circumstantial (i.e Ben Mckay/James Frawley for a top 5 pick), and the league itself has a vested interested in the success of two teams it forced upon everyone else by stacking compromised drafts and giving them inflated salary caps.

I just hope and pray that NAS, Pou, Owens, Windhager, and King are going to drive the next wave of talent coming through, with support from Hig, Clark, Coff etc. This is easily the most talented crop we've had since the early 2000's and I am high on all of them. I'm trying to stay positive!

You had me until you said ‘versing’

Blocked, unfollowed, excommunicated & dobbed into border force for a internal cavity search.

Sort yourself out champ.

*also champed

Right now I'm willing to bet StKilda will come out on top in a few years.
Chito will be a star, Windy will be a gun and capitan, and Gus (IMO) will become a good player. Still hope for Peris too.

Saints loaded up on the draft in the early 2000's then were hit or miss for 20 years.
You really can't do it that way.
You need to pick up a couple of decent players ( ie 250 game players ) every year, and some of them need to be guns.

If some of the players we have aren't good enough, we aren't going to just be able to snap our fingers and fix it.

How times have changed 3 months ago no one wanted Liam Henry,most posters canned him.

Flanders and Henry have both ****ed us up. Neither would have cost more than a second round pick in the first half of the year. Now both are looking like they'll cost a Brad Hill trade. Bell will be getting his lubricant and whip out again.

Saints loaded up on the draft in the early 2000's then were hit or miss for 20 years.
You need to pick up a couple of decent players ( ie 250 game players ) every year, and some of them need to be guns.

If some of the players we have aren't good enough, we aren't going to just be able to snap our fingers and fix it.

You should be averaging one or two upgrade players every draft and a one or two soldiers on top of that. If you get one star quality player every couple of drafts you rise quickly like the Dogs. If you stuff up picks and write off multiple drafts you stall like us.

That Pelican period where we traded out generational talent for picks when there were multiple drafts with nearly all of the front end then by GC and GWS was one of the most idiotic moves in history. The Hawks couldn't be caught up to because other challengers couldn't get enough top up talent in to bridge the gap. We culled in that period instead.

Good clubs can work out which players are deserving of having development pumped into them and cut what isn't worth the effort.... where we have put years into players for them to go nowhere. Acres, Dunstan, McCartin, Hickey, Longer all took up time, resources etc. We cut others taken later with more promise then got nothing back on-field or in trades for them at the end of it. That footy department was one of the worst ever assembled anywhere. If you wanted to sabotage a club you'd do exactly what they did to us.

Flanders and Henry have both ****ed us up. Neither would have cost more than a second round pick in the first half of the year. Now both are looking like they'll cost a Brad Hill trade. Bell will be getting his lubricant and whip out again.
No they won't.

Both would still be in the range 2nd round pick.

You should be averaging one or two upgrade players every draft and a one or two soldiers on top of that. If you get one star quality player every couple of drafts you rise quickly like the Dogs. If you stuff up picks and write off multiple drafts you stall like us.

That Pelican period where we traded out generational talent for picks when there were multiple drafts with nearly all of the front end then by GC and GWS was one of the most idiotic moves in history. The Hawks couldn't be caught up to because other challengers couldn't get enough top up talent in to bridge the gap. We culled in that period instead.

Good clubs can work out which players are deserving of having development pumped into them and cut what isn't worth the effort.... where we have put years into players for them to go nowhere. Acres, Dunstan, McCartin, Hickey, Longer all took up time, resources etc. We cut others taken later with more promise then got nothing back on-field or in trades for them at the end of it. That footy department was one of the worst ever assembled anywhere. If you wanted to sabotage a club you'd do exactly what they did to us.
Good thing is we look to have drafted well the last couple of years.

At this stage I'm confident Owens, Nas, Pou will be guns. Windy maybe too, but at least he'll be solid.

Then we have Caminiti, Keeler, Heath, Hotton who could be anything.

I don’t like any of the convoluted rules that compromise the draft but we got Owens and Windhager cheaply, so as far as academies go we’re not the unluckiest club. But I do worry that Riewoldt’s boys will end up elsewhere due to a rule change the night before the draft in which James goes at pick 1.

Clubs could have picked them in the top 20 and we would have had no chance to match, we got them thanks to COVID making form and development ambiguous for list managers.

Dogs got the #1 pick player (JUH) for stuff all under the old rules. We’ve received no advantage really so far from from the academy biznez

Of course. I was responding to the moaning over fairness of the NGA system.
However our issues boil down to shear incompetence over a 10 year period. Fairness is irrelevant if you're not in the race to start with.

The NGA system has now been rectified to what it should be and we got our fair share before the door closed.

We have 4 on our list now and we got Snags because we could trade out a 2ndRDP for that year. We also chose not to take Biggie.