Review Dees v Maggies: the Good, Bad & Fugly

This game ended very similar to the Carlton game in the sense we had plenty of time to pinch the win but we just couldn't score. The Carlton game we had 10 minutes to score a goal and it took a long bomb from petracca with 30 seconds to go. Much like tonight felt like ages to get that 13 points and we just couldn't score all around incompetence. If Collingwood were in that position they would run right over a team because they play with dare.

Man I'm usually a pessimistic supporter but I'm still optimistic at the moment on our list. Gawn has like 5 years left in him. We have 2 first rounders to add to the group and if we can add some serious talent to the group than this will breath some life into the group.

We played a team that got kissed with 3 All-Australian father/sons and an NGA player in Quaynor. We got within 7 points after kicking 347 behinds. We're fine. Bowey and McVee stood up in a big game and Clarry/Petracca have years left. Could we have played any worse? Probably not. We had Brayshaw out for the entire game and had to play Laurie who was invisible.

Our defensive pressure was good but not great.Needs to be better but our best is much better than the pies. Tonight proved it. Horrendous first quarter, poor start of the 2nd quarter, good 2nd half of the 2nd quarter, poor 3rd quarter, poor start of the 4th quarter, good 20mins of the last quarter.
Collingwood are shit

We have shit the bed in the last 3 finals. We are not a finals team.
Mentally weak or goodwin can't coach
Carlton will beat us next week

On top of all the other things I can’t stand about last night or how this team plays….

Why on earth do our players constantly refuse to compete in the air?

So often the Melbourne player who is underneath the ball steps out of the way expecting one of our talls to spoil or mark. Most of the time what actually happens is the opposition comes through and takes it uncontested.

Kosi and Riv are major offenders, and they’re not scared so they’ve clearly being coached to do it.

My feelings post game last night:
comic book guy GIF

At the very very least, we didn't fade out in the game like last year and last year's finals, we actually had the momentum.

Of course it counts for shit when we come out against Carlton and it's fumble city.

Hope the boys ****ing fire up next week, sick of it.

you know it's not your day when Bobby Hill and Daniel McStay kick the majority of the goals.

My feelings post game last night:
comic book guy GIF

At the very very least, we didn't fade out in the game like last year and last year's finals, we actually had the momentum.

Of course it counts for s**t when we come out against Carlton and it's fumble city.

Hope the boys ******* fire up next week, sick of it.
It's not a matter of firing up, it's our dysfunctional forward mid connection and our slow game plan. Can be fired up all we like but if we continue to try play slow, teams will just flood our forward line until they win it back. Just watch Carlton flood our backline then hit up curnow with 1 entry.

Someone said Jefferson had literally one touch in Casey’s first final last weekend. Not looking too promising there.

Starting to think we should draft Nate Caddy as well. And the little ‘Wizard’ Nick Watson if we can get the extra early pick off the Suns. Our forward set up is on life support - needs urgent surgery.
yep. we've been saying this for 18 months. At the end of the day, we knew the problem was there but did nothing about it at last years trade period. this is on Goodwin amd the recruitment team.

Maynard seems like a nice person off field, but he’s got the worst case of white line fever I’ve ever seen. Say all the platitudes you like about Gus being a good bloke and how “shattered” you are mate, but you will go to bed tonight knowing full well that you wanted to leave a bit on him because it’s a final and you’re Brayden Maynard, and you’ll know that you’re responsible for whatever happens next with Gus’ career.
😅

So ****ing dramatic smh. Find something else to get worked up over from the game please.

Just reading the first page on the Collingwood boards thread for this game and it is full of posters thanking the Demons for being so crap at shooting at goal and forward entries.

With JVR most likely out now does that mean Melbourne will end up with Grundy/McDonald in the forward line ?

It just seems that a series of unfortunate events has opened the door for Grundy to come back in

Just reading the first page on the Collingwood boards thread for this game and it is full of posters thanking the Demons for being so crap at shooting at goal and forward entries.

With JVR most likely out now does that mean Melbourne will end up with Grundy/McDonald in the forward line ?

It just seems that a series of unfortunate events has opened the door for Grundy to come back in
can't we just go small? who says we need to bring in a spud tall? how did that go with Tom Mcdonald.

I'd like to personally thank Tom Sparrow for missing a standard 15m pass against North which directly resulted in Petty's injury and ruining our season. I haven't forgotten Tommy and never will!

The whole issue with Grundy is he is so appallingly slow he can't get to his opponents which means they will just walk it out of our forwardline with him in there. For whatever its worth all we care about is contest and defence and locking it inside our forward 50 and Grundy can't provide that for us. Tmac isn't great at it either but playing both in the same side just goes so far against what our gameplan is about that I'd be astounded if he came in.

It's not a matter of firing up, it's our dysfunctional forward mid connection and our slow game plan. Can be fired up all we like but if we continue to try play slow, teams will just flood our forward line until they win it back. Just watch Carlton flood our backline then hit up curnow with 1 entry.
Our first ten minutes were horrific though, couldn’t get a clean possession, win a clearance, fumbling, we just looked scared. Was pissweak tbh, can’t start games like that especially finals.

Wouldn’t have minded Grubdy last night tbh, Gawn was getting monstered in the first quarter.
Gawn getting beaten for ten minutes before dominating the rest of the game is a much better outcome than Grundy coming in and doing nothing outside of stoppage.

Spewing fritsch didn't lay the knee into quaynors back in the last 5, send a message and play with some physicality!

We will not beat either Carlton or Sydney with tmac/Grundy forward line. In fact I don't think there is a single forward line mix that will win us a game next week.

Also:
Maynard is a dog
Cox is a dog
Mitchell's flop was pathetic, deserves a fine
Pendles little flop was pathetic
Ginnivan was embarrassing with his flopping in the last 5, deserves a fine

Gawn getting beaten for ten minutes before dominating the rest of the game is a much better outcome than Grundy coming in and doing nothing outside of stoppage.
Fair call, was a pretty costly ten minutes though.
Doubt he would have been much worse than Sausage MacDonald in the forward 50 anyway.

Gawn got hammered the entire 1st quarter. 16 hitouts to 4 at quarter time. As well as Gawn played he had some horrendous turnovers. 1 was the dumb free kick by rag dolling Cox. Stupid. 1 was the costly turnover with a minute to go costing us the game. And the other one was having a shot from 60m when he was never going to make the distance. needs to be smarter. He played a great game after quarter time but his mistakes were Lever-ish

The very first bounce of the game set the tone for the first quarter. Cox went in really hard and physical and won the tap, Gawn just sooked to the umps. That's finals footy big boy, needed to lead better from the outset.

You reckon Grundy should have played then?

The very first bounce of the game set the tone for the first quarter. Cox went in really hard and physical and won the tap, Gawn just sooked to the umps. That's finals footy big boy, needed to lead better from the outset.
100% agree. And whilst Mason Cox generally has to result to taking his eyes off the ball and kneeing blokes in the guts because he's a spud, he played a very dominant opening quarter and Max needs to be better. Gawn played a massive roll in the quarter time deficit.

Review Dees v Maggies: the Good, Bad & Fugly