Player Watch Brayden Maynard

I also agree it was the right thing for all involved to refer this to the tribunal. Could be in the future that all incidents resulting in concussion are directly referred, though preferrably without any verdict. I don't like outcome based decision making, but with concussion being of such importance it's better that the process is considered and transparent.

If that were the reason for sending it to the tribunal, it should have been sent unclassified.

So far they've both got to the same stage. I agree that a clumsy marking attempt shouldn't be judged any more serious than what, to me, was a more reasonable and successful attempt to smother. I believe the tribunal will agree, but we'll see.
I don't even see a clumsy attempt at a mark 😆

Question for Garry Lyon, who now desperately wants smothering rules rewritten

What about speccies? Let’s not wait for someone wearing a helmet with a prior history of concussions to be knocked out. Let’s just change that now too. We had Jakob Ryan miss most of his debut game from a knee to the head in a marking contest just weeks ago. Poor bloke didn’t get to play again this year.

Let’s not stop there. Better not allow a spoil in a marking contest too. Let’s stop that. What if a fist hits a head instead of the ball? Or a defenders jumps and knees someone in the head? Yep that needs to stop now too.

Gary Lyon's trying his best to get Maynard rubbed out...

The whole Melbourne team obviously doesn't want him playing if we meet again in the GF. No doubt it'd be the worst concussion in the history of the league, but they'd probably be happy with 2 weeks.

It's been mentioned before but i just saw the footage again on the 7 news report, and I swear if Brayshaw doesn't veer to his right at the last second Maynard smashes into his shoulder and half misses him. The rest of the report takes a pretty slanted stance that is an example of the pressure that is stating to mount over this case. Honestly I fully expect us to get screwed here and Im already mentally preparing for it.

I don't even see a clumsy attempt at a mark 😆
His just looked like a bump to me. I don’t really get it getting off.
But I’ll take the outcome of that to apply to Bruzzy who genuinely did a football act then braced for impact.
It’s such a shame Brayshaw didn’t brace or try to protect himself too.

If that were the reason for sending it to the tribunal, it should have been sent unclassified.
Agree. I'm not saying it is the reason here, but the AFL protecting themselves is very likely a part of it. Reported that most of the big decision makers were involved. There is real risk in not being seen to take concussion seriously.

What happens if a player goes for a mark and the knee makes contact with the back of the head knocking the player out?

Player takes a screamer and gets nominated for MOTY.

It's bound to happen.

If the AFL is truly serious about concussion, it will end marking contests. It is more common for players to suffer head injury from an errant knee flying for a mark than a human cannonball attempting to spoil as Maynard did.

Similarly, all attempts at defensive spoils from behind will need to be outlawed.

The prospect of concussion when players bend down to pick up a loose ball is too significant, and so such contests will no longer be part of the game.

Tackling will be altogether banned.

-----------------------------------------------

If the AFL and the bitches whining about 'justice for Gus' don't see the predicament the game is now facing, then the game itself might already be over.

Concussion and the long-term impacts of blows to the head needs to be reckoned with. However, I don't think that dismembering the game and punishing a pure accident will do anything other than create an identity crisis for footy that it won't be able to resolve.

For myself, I can't see that my love for the game will survive for too much longer if the AFL can't be honest about the nature of the game it is the custodian of.

What happens if a player goes for a mark and the knee makes contact with the back of the head knocking the player out?

It's bound to happen.
Nothing. See Ryan being concussed for us or Murphy getting smashed in the face against Adelaide, both in marking contests.

A lawyer scrap…sexy AF[emoji91][emoji91][emoji91]

Does this come down to whether Bruz could have reasonably seen that his action would result in the….result?
Exactly for all he knew old mate Bradshaw could have sold some candy and danced around him...

from my Delorean

The more l watch the incident, the more l think he will get off. So many ex players saying nothing to see here. Just hope that the whole process is done and dusted this week so as not to impact his PF preparation.
I think most of the ex-players love Bruzzy too and keen to see him playing

from my Delorean

Nothing. See Ryan being concussed for us or Murphy getting smashed in the face against Adelaide, both in marking contests.
Yep. Murphy was called a flop. And no one even talked about Ryan. Poor kid. Probably can't remember his debut. And missed playing in 2 VFL finals.

If it were Maynard who was concussed as a result of trying to smother the kick from Brayshaw, would Brayshaw would have a case to answer? No.

We would be told that Brayshaw was in the act of kicking, a football action.

Why then is Maynard being questioned given he was in the act of smothering the footbaso a football action.
Good question, up to the tribunal to answer. With due respect, nothing to do with the opinion I expressed.

Haven't seen On the Couch yet but if Maynard wanted to hurt Brayshaw he turns absolutely side on and knocks him into retirement. But even if that's what he wanted, he didn't have the time to do that.

Can't believe people are suggesting he had time to consider putting his arms out etc.

It's been mentioned before but i just saw the footage again on the 7 news report, and I swear if Brayshaw doesn't veer to his right at the last second Maynard smashes into his shoulder and half misses him. The rest of the report takes a pretty slanted stance that is an example of the pressure that is stating to mount over this case. Honestly I fully expect us to get screwed here and Im already mentally preparing for it.
I’ve posted here on this very point a few times now - and I strongly believe it should be raised in the hearing, as it may be crucial.

I’ve not heard one person in the media mention it, and even in this thread, it’s mostly been overlooked, but, after looking at the behind the goal views from both ends, I firmly believe it was Bradshaw veering to the right that caused the contact, not Maynard. It’s frustrating to me this critical point is being ignored.

It's bound to happen.

AFL will eventually transition to e-sports, and injuries will be turned off. We will stream it and the “Collingwoooooooood” chant will only be unlocked for those with platinum status. Papley will still be a flog but umpiring will be more consistent.

I'm a little worried that the emotion of Brayshaw's circumstances may sway the decision in the end. Of course, I'm not suggesting it's not right or fair to feel for Brayshaw after what he's gone through. It's terrible.
I'll probably get cancelled for saying it, but he would be aware that there is always a possibility of getting concussed in a footy game- by means accidental or not. He chose to play. I don't mean to sound insensitive or victim blamey. I just think it is the reality.
Maybe they need to introduce a 3 concussions and you're out rule.