Opinion Pick 6* – who do you want?

Who are your TWO favourite options for Pick 6*?

Ok, who's told 'Land that Sanders is quick and 'silky'? Reckon he'll be a good player, but he's the complete opposite to those descriptors, lol.

Sad Please Please Please GIF by myHQ

Would mean Curtin falls to us if that happened.

Sanders and Watson for me. Curtin’s a bore fest. Slow as a wet week.
Not sure being "slow" matters

195 cms 93 kegs and never gets caught holding the ball. Eludes tackles with ease.

Not sure being "slow" matters

195 cms 93 kegs and never gets caught holding the ball. Eludes tackles with ease.
Who would you rather Jayden Hunt or Scott Pendlebury.

Leg speed is so overrated because you almost never see it combined with actual talent.

Chris Judds probably the only one and even then he was a completely different player by 25

These days the only thing leg speed is good for is guys like Charlie Cameron or Jeff Garlett where their game relies on getting the ball goalside of their opponent and running into easy goals.

Leg speed is so overrated because you almost never see it combined with actual talent.

Chris Judds probably the only one and even then he was a completely different player by 25

Nah mate, give me Hunt's EXCITING 🥳 career over Pendlebury's BORING 🥱 career.

WBD taking Sanders makes sense actually. They need to rebuild their midfield a bit for life after Libba and Smith potentially on the move. That would do nicely for us, especially if Hawks take Watson - would leave a juicy player for us pick off at 6.

Sad Please Please Please GIF by myHQ

Would mean Curtin falls to us if that happened.

Unless North take him, which would mean one of Duursma or Mckercher falls to us.

Yep. Sounds very likely they'll take both though.

How many great players are genuinely slow? Pendlebury isn’t slow.

For AFL standards Pendles is slow as *.

You're making curtin sound like he runs like a ruck. He doesn't
Pendlebury is no way slow as **** and is the ultimate 360 degree player. I think Curtin is a straight line player, with a nice sidestep for sure. And a nice kick too it has to be said. Maybe projects as a Christian Salem type in a Tomlinson body.

Pendlebury is no way slow as * and is the ultimate 360 degree player. I think Curtin is a straight line player, with a nice sidestep for sure. And a nice kick too it has to be said. Maybe projects as a Christian Salem type in a Tomlinson body.
You're getting way too lost in your point here. I never compared curtin and Pendles. Pendles has never been in the top 50% of players for speed in the league.
At that height he's more like a Brendan Goddard type than a Salem

You're getting way too lost in your point here. I never compared curtin and Pendles. Pendles has never been in the top 50% of players for speed in the league.
At that height he's more like a Brendan Goddard type than a Salem
You introduced Pendlebury into the conversation, maybe I misunderstood your reason for doing so. I personally see Curtin as a player lacking impact and most importantly, lacking a clear best position at AFL level. I hope do hope he makes it to our pick though, we might be able to tempt west coast into a silly trade.

As a point that branding a footballer no good just because they are slow is a silly way to go about it. Been shit loads of gun players with no real speed and Pendles is one.

I reckon trading pick 6 now would be pointless. We'd have to give up 6 and 11 for next year's first and probably more. Puts us another year behind on developing kids.

As a point that branding a footballer no good just because they are slow is a silly way to go about it. Been s**t loads of gun players with no real speed and Pendles is one.

I reckon trading pick 6 now would be pointless. We'd have to give up 6 and 11 for next year's first and probably more. Puts us another year behind on developing kids.
That’s a fair point, and I don’t necessarily disagree with it. Being a fast runner and being quick on the footy field are two different things, and for sure one is more important than the other. When I say Curtin is slow, I do mean in terms of how he moves playing footy. I might be wrong and it wouldn’t be the first time.

I think WC could be tempted into paying overs for our pick on draft night if Curtin is still there. Let’s say they’ve taken Reid at 1 and Curtin is on the board at 7. It would be mighty tempting for them to give up a F1 with something going back.

That’s a fair point, and I don’t necessarily disagree with it. Being a fast runner and being quick on the footy field are two different things, and for sure one is more important than the other. When I say Curtin is slow, I do mean in terms of how he moves playing footy. I might be wrong and it wouldn’t be the first time.

I think WC could be tempted into paying overs for our pick on draft night if Curtin is still there. Let’s say they’ve taken Reid at 1 and Curtin is on the board at 7. It would be mighty tempting for them to give up a F1 with something going back.

Pendles is obvious comparison with the way he moves I think, Curtin might not have Pendles long speed but there are similarities. The way Curtin is able to elude tacklers in a phone booth is pretty special. Never gets caught never looks rushed. I think he processes things at an extremely high level.

Simon Black another good example of a "slow player" where it doesnt matter coz he processes things so quickly.

Pendlebury is no way slow as * and is the ultimate 360 degree player. I think Curtin is a straight line player, with a nice sidestep for sure. And a nice kick too it has to be said. Maybe projects as a Christian Salem type in a Tomlinson body.

:sick:

I get your point here though, hes hard to compare to anyone. I think hes a far more penetrating kick than Salem however.