Review Opening Round = GWS 114-82 Collingwood

Fly's presser

You were in the game up until about half time and then the Giants blew you away in the 3rd quarter. What did you see was happening there?
"I thought there was a couple of critical goals late in the 2nd quarter wasn't there. Centre bounce goals that put a little bit of a margin on them. The game was pretty tight. It was a balance on the scoreboard in particular. Jeez, they played well. It looks like they've improved certain parts of their game. Contest was strong and they moved the ball really effectively. Big threats down forward, so yeah they played extremely well".
I'm sure you expected other teams to improve over the summer, but does it feel like it could be a bit of a reality check?
"It's early to sort of think that. One thing for certain is that coming into the game we thought we'd improve physically. Then you get here and you get reality that everyone else is improving. System wise I thought we were off of what we have been and what we want to be, defensively in particular. We've got to get better don't we".
On the defence, how frustrating was it to see at times Callum Brown being left unmarked and kicking a bag of goals?
"That's sort of the way we want to play a little bit. We want to be aggressive in defence and funnily enough when we weren't that's when we got hurt. We'll learn some lessons around that but the aerial threats was a real feature. I thought the Giants talls influenced the game aerially and we just didn't impact that part of the game. I thought that was really influential".
You were also having trouble up front as well. You had 60 inside 50s to 53. What do you think was going on there?
"I think we didn't connect. The stats would say we had opportunities to score well but we just didn't connect going inside 50. There's a lot of parts to that. There's chemistry, there's roles, there's opposition defending that part well and there's more rushing to get the ball inside 50 and then not be set for us and then you turn the ball over. We tried to touch on that at half time around our connection and how we could fix that. We started the 3rd quarter quite well but didn't quite capitalise and then they scored quite easy when they went inside 50 which was a bit of a trend".
It was Lachie Schultz's first game with the club. How do you think he went and did you get what you wanted out of him?
"Yeah we're going to be rapt to have Lachie in our team. He just offers a ground level support. It's probably the first time where we won ground ball inside 50 for a long time. It didn't correlate to goals, but we put pressure on. It's Bobby [Hill], Beau [McCreery], Lachie [Schultz] and Jamie [Elliott] who are quite lively for the opposition. We thought when we got the ball to ground we looked really dangerous but again we didn't capitalise on those opportunities. We didn't use the right options around at times. We'd like to get better around that".
Darcy Cameron led the ruck contest and was incredible in there and he had a really strong game from him but you didn't quite lead the clearance battle. What did you make of that?
"They're a very good clearance team. There were certain parts of the game where we didn't quite get going tonight. A lot of credit has to go to the opposition. They take things away from you. This is the reality of this competition. It's a very even one and back to the first point, is it a reality check? I'm not sure. The reality is it's a tight competition and teams are looking at what you do really well and they want to take it away from you and then the strengths and weaknesses of teams or strengths and opportunities are the Giants played a bit more to their strengths than we did tonight which is ultimately the scoreboard".
A lot was made of the Opening Round concept. It was the 5th highest game crowd the Giants have ever had. What did you make of the weekend and being involved in this?
"Well, my humbleness says I really want to say I really enjoyed it, but I'm not sure the footy world allows you to enjoy the entertainment of it. I really like the banter of footy. I like the buildup. If it means a sell out, how good. I didn't get caught up in the circus stuff around the edges of it and nor should I. I'm here to coach the team and we didn't get the job done. The circus stuff around the edges doesn't influence us and if it treads over the line then we'll deal with that. We're here to entertain by winning stoppages, and connecting inside 50 and playing our style of fun to watch and we didn't do that. I'm quite happy with the way game is bringing it up here to grow and all the stuff that's required to do that. Let the circus be the circus, and we get to work. I'm okay with a bit of banter if you like".
Are you getting a sense that the Giants-Collingwood is developing a little bit into a really nice rivalry after lots of history in the last couple of years with Prelims in 2019 and last year. There was a lot of excitement before the game and lots of fans attended?
"Yeah, that's the reality of two top 4 teams. Two prelim final teams. Who wouldn't want to go and watch that particularly at the start of the season. Great concept to come up to Sydney and grow the game. Put footy on the map up here and hopefully we all benefit from that".
Brayden Maynard went straight to Toby Greene. He seemed to have the better of that battle. Is that one he really sets himself for?
"I think Bruzzy's one of our leaders and he sets himself for every game. I don't think he sort of waivers in the way he approaches the game. Toby's such a great player. He's so influential; he kicks a goal from the boundary line that not many can do. We like to think that Bruzzy's being himself".
Charlie Dean seemed to battle hard on his debut, but at the same time does it feel like the defence was a bit undersized and undermanned? As you were saying, the Giants were able to dominate the air quite a bit.
"Yes, yes. Undersized? Maybe, I'm not sure. If you watch every one of those marking contests which I have there's not enough physicality by what I'm seeing. That's on us, but again there's players expressing themselves. Hogan's a very good mark in the air if you give him a chance to run and jump at it. We've got to get to work. Charlie showed some signs. I think it was promising. We'll look at the tape and look for opportunities for him to grow. He showed some signs, but collectively our backs didn't connect the way we would've liked".
Players have come out saying they're "going back to work" rather than "going back to back". Is that the mentality again this week?
"Look that's reality. I just said to the players just then that one of the great things about this game is we learnt some really good lessons early. We want to have deep wins and nourish those wins and we want to have shallow losses but learn the lessons really quickly. The great thing for our fans is that we come back in six days time and we play the Swans at the MCG and we'll get all our fans to celebrate [with the] unveiling of the flag, [but] we're getting back to work. We've got six days to do that".

Expected us to go down by roughly this margin but despite a few easy shots missed the scoreboard actually flattered us given Giants clearly put the que in the rack.

Our KP defensive stocks are a real worry.

Howe doesn't have many years left, iMoore s average more often than not when he is forced to defend one on one and the doubts surrounding Murphy's future.

Lipinski is the softest player to wear our colours since Julian Rowe.

Anyway, onwards and upwards from here.

Insipid and pathetic, GWS really stuck it to us in the lead up to the game.

I disagreed on bringing AJ and Dean in, the former is can’t mark and is not AFL standard, the latter has played 1 VFL game in two years. How it was a good idea to bring him in I’ll never know. Moore was lost trying to partner him. The GWS forwards had a field day today, we lost the game at selection.

We can’t expect the older brigade to carry the load anymore. They will peak during finals, we should rotate them out of the side regularly, and in favour of playing the next generation…Finn should have played today, Reef…just play them. Cox was crazy bad.

Degoey needs to start putting together full games.

Schultz was close to worst on ground, didn’t seem to handle the big league all that well.

Out: Dean, Cox, AJ,
In: Frampton, Reef, Finn

Cameron rucks the game on his own, with a chop out from Frampton. Mitchell gets another game only because it’s against his former side.

Well, that sucks. Not what I was expecting at all. The only way is up from here. I’m cautiously optimistic at this stage that the club can find their mojo again soonish and start the ascent to the promised land again. It’s a marathon, not a sprint after all.

Haven’t seen the game….but 18.6 from 50 entries isn’t losing too many games….if any!

Without looking, reckon there are under 5 scores last season with that accuracy or efficiency.

Looks to me like a night out.
It happens.

Scoring shots aside, they were clearly the cleaner and better team. Off hand I'd say they had alot of shots from the corridor as well.

It was a poor effort all round.
Lax defence, lack of pressure, sloppy disposal, fumbly ball handling, poor shot conversion.
WHE, Billy & Shooter all missed gimmes.
One of GWS's goals bounced through because there was nobody on the goal line.

As for the debutants, Schultz had an almost game - his kicks into forward 50 often fell just short of the target.
Charlie Dean was OK, but the way the ball was coming in didn't help him - I'm sure he was nervous.
His tackle on Hogan to stop a shot on goal was good.

There were few highlights, but Beau's tackle then goal was one of them.

The boys were supposedly "back to work", but there will be a heap to do before next week.

GWS are a very good side, and will be thereabouts at the pointy end of the season.
We were just completely outplayed.

Haven’t seen the game….but 18.6 from 50 entries isn’t losing too many games….if any!

Without looking, reckon there are under 5 scores last season with that accuracy or efficiency.

Looks to me like a night out.
It happens.
Actually 18:4 and 2 rushed.

The Herald Suns expected scores was Pies 92 to Giants 76.

Just shows they couldn't miss whilst we missed some real sitters.

Outside of the 2 Daicos boys, Cameron, Checkers and Bruz we were pretty ordinary.

Write that off and move on I think.

At least we know what fixes are required, Howe will be back, bring Framp in, turf AJ, bring Reef
We need to learn from last night.

The problem with Ash Johnson is that his floor (poor game) is very low. For the McStay role we need someone with a higher floor.

Mason Cox also had a shocker.

Elliott was pretty poor as well.

Markov might also revert back to a sub role.

Based on last night, I reckon a spot will open up for Harvey Harrison by seasons end.

There is definitely a spot for Finlay and possibly later in the season Ed Allan.

I have full faith that Flys ruthlessness we see the necessary changes to keep the squad hungry.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Nick - 34 disposals, 10 clearances (16 contested!) and 8 inside 50s

Had a good game overall, with couple sloppy kicks at times and sublime kicks at others, still round 1 rust in the team by the looks.

Thought we were well beaten in the guts, we need an inside bull to feed Nick and Degoey outside.

Also opposition staying very close to ND everywhere he goes.

Those Josh Daicos had a great game.

Cameron was also good.

Mihocek was solid.

IQ good.

Maynard good.

Moore non descript and seems to left off where 2023 ended. Been off the boil imo since start of last year.

Degoey had a oor game overall.
Pendles new role had him at 2 disp for a half.

Sideass was good all be it limited opportunity to get his hands on it as a pure fwd. Again new role.

Mitchell got subbed says it all.

WHE had some good moments but looked to of been on Callum Brown who was left to do as he pleased all game.

Markov quiet.

Noble showed hunger when on.

Elliott looks off the boil like Moore.

Cox was back to his old ways. Getting pushed out the contest and being largely useless.

Hill quiet but f50 entries were largely crap.

AJ is like Katy Perry from week to week Hot and Cold.
He is very much a 3rd tall HFF type they are trying to get to play KPP. Had a bit of brain fart going for a mark on the line when McCreery would of goaled ah well.

Schultz had me double missing Ginnivan. Given up a bloke who is clutch and can swing games with momentum building moments for a work horse small fwd.
Ginni also made the opposition worry about him even when he was running cold they focused on him and distracted them often.

McCreery was good for role.

We looked rusty, players in new roles looked out at sea at stages, game plan looks different, lots of long bombs into f50 rather then last years lowering of eyes.

GWS flooding numbers back and then just running in waves hard forward on transition. We couldn't keep up nor had an answer for it in that 3rd quarter.

I got slammed for saying Johnson is a spud and lazy two years ago and here we are still putting up with it! He is the reason we lost Henry in my opinion.
Not 100%, but definitely a factor.

The "knock" on Henry was always his second efforts and defensive pressure. Sound familiar?

The selectors gave AJ a lot more leash than Henry received in 22.

Henry was always a better option to invest time in because he consistently takes marks and kicks goals. He's 5 years younger too.

Karma for not picking your top preseason performers in Reef and Fin because they're inexperienced.

I'm kind of glad they didn't as they wouldn't of changed the outcome given how many of the senior team shat the bed.

This has happened to both previously where they come in to the team and it loses only for both to then get cut back to vfl.

Strange. How often do you win i50 and scoring shots and get pumped?
Looked short of a gallop maybe age catching a few.
Looked good early but when they got their running game going and pumped it long our backs couldn't cope.
Bit like the GF where we held up their mids and forced turnovers but when they quickly got it in they were lethal. It's a weakness. We need a bit more speed round the ball.

Criticism of how we played is justified, but some of the abuse in the game day is not and never will be. What sort of fan turns so easily on a team that gave us so much happiness over the last two years?

It was a bad loss, it could have been worse. And Dean will stay in - he had to debut eventually. We can’t hold him back waiting for - what? A poor opponent?

And this may be the last year we have Murphy and Howe. And we still don’t appear to have a fit tall forward to help our workhorse Checkers.

Holes at either end - yikes!

PS. The Giants ground is a shizen hole.

Why do you think that?

For me …

It’s got a wonderful suburban ground feel.
Sight lines are great.
Every seat is close to the action.
We’re always well represented.
Decent food.
We’ve got a great record there.
Heaps better than the SCG
I live 15km from the ground and yet going home I can get from my seat to walking through my front door within 30 mins (driving). I can’t imagine too many other grounds make going to the AFL that easy.

Review Opening Round = GWS 114-82 Collingwood